A New House in Town: Welcome Rising Phoenix Publications

Rising Phoenix Publications

Rising Phoenix Publications

Yes, there is a new publishing house in town–sort of.  Rising Phoenix Publications is my personal publishing company, launched on April 19, 2013 to provide my self-published works with a named company and logo that would be distinctive. 

The logo, created for me by my lovely editor, the talented Danielle Fine, also has a personal meaning.  The name came to me after a run of rejections from agents of some of my works.  Instead of being depressed, I kept seeing this image of the phoenix that rises from the ashes of death, whole and new again.  Thus was born my idea of a personal publishing company that would overcome the adversity of rejection.

Betrothal_1600x2400_96dpi SMASHWORDS

The first book to be published under this logo was Betrothal, Book I of my Time Enough to Love medieval romance.  (You can see the logo in the upper left hand corner of the cover.)  Betrothal is now available at Amazon, Smashwords, and     B & N

Why did I choose to self-publish Betrothal/Time Enough to Love rather than go the route of queries and traditional publication?  For the answer to that question, and to be entered to win a copy of Betrothal and my full length historical romance Only Scandal Will Do, check out my interview with Nancy Goodman on Rakes, Rogues and Romance  here.  Comment on either this blog or hers and be entered to win!

I am very happy so far with my self-publishing experience.  The control over covers, pricing, availability of sales data, editorial decisions and other factors make self-publishing an exciting and satisfying venture that I will hopefully be utilizing for many years to come.

What has been your experience with self-publication, either as an author or as a reader of indie books? 

Betrothal Banner

This entry was posted in Author/Character Interviews, Betrothal, Book Spotlights, Contests, Giveaways, Interviews, On Publishing, On Time Enough to Love, On Writing Historical Romance and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to A New House in Town: Welcome Rising Phoenix Publications

  1. Love the name! I haven’t self pubbed yet. But eventually I will. I just have to have the right frame of mind.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Sharon! You do have to be in the right frame of mind. Like sticking your toe in the water lets you know when it’s okay to dive in. 🙂 Hope you make a big splash when you finally do!

      Like

  2. Brenda D says:

    Congratulations, Jenna. It’s not an easy decision to make to self pub. I know I agonized over it, but I’m so glad I did. I like the control.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I always figured you for a secret Dominatrix, Brenda! LOL And yes, I like cracking that whip myself. teehee It can be very satisfying and rewarding…self-publishing, don’t you know! 🙂 Thamks so much for coming by!

      Like

  3. karen lopp says:

    Congratulations. I like your name for the publishing side. And the inspiration behind it:)

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Karen. It makes me smile every time I look at that logo. And the words of Maya Angelou seem to whisper in my ear, “You may trod me in the very dirt/But still, like dust, I’ll rise.” So inspirational I get chills.

      Like

  4. So happy you have decided to bend the rules and go your own way, Jenna!! Wishing you all the success with your sp and can’t wait to read the book!!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Jennifer! I’ll give you a heads up–the rule breaking comes in books two and three. Betrothal is a traditional historical romance, almost sweet in fact. I hope you enjoy it when you get the chance!

      Like

  5. Carrie-Anne says:

    Congratulations on starting your own company! Maybe I can use some of the lessons I’ve learnt in the management course I took in my Information Science class this semester to start my own company too. It really seems as though self-publication, either print or electronic, is becoming the wave of the future. A lot of agents these days seem rather out of touch with what people actually want to read. I know I’ve heard from a lot of people who say they want to read more superlong books like mine, and are really surprised when I tell them that the vast majority of agents don’t want to touch anything that’s much above 400 pages anymore.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      That is one of the reasons I’ve divided my probably 450 page novel into three 160 page novellas. But when I bring it out in paperback in the fall, it will be all 450 or so pages. I think people do like a longer read sometimes–look at Stephen King and his 1000+ page novels. And I hate for them to come to an end! Then I have to choose something else to read. LOL The Outlander series is longer than usual also and I adore them. Perhaps the next few years will see the return of the super-novel. And we’ll be ready for it, won’t we, Carrie-Anne? Thanks so much for coming by!

      Like

  6. In this day and age, it’s smart to have your own publishing company, even if you don’t use it for every book. I have one (Marina Dreams LLC), but it’s an umbrella company that includes consulting work. I’ve published a short story using that company and it went over well, plus it gives the author a chance to give away the work for prizes without having to get clearance from the publisher. I think you did the right thing. (BTW, no prizes for me. I have all your books!)

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Patricia. Actually, you told me about your company and that’s what got me to thinking about it. It is very nice to have the final say in some cases, so I’m hoping RPP will indeed keep rising. 🙂 Thanks for coming by and all your support!

      Like

  7. Sue says:

    Seems to be the trend these days and if it works, go for it!

    Like

  8. NancyS.Goodman says:

    That’s such a bold and brave move Jenna! Good for you! Tweeted

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxonj says:

      Thank you, Nancy! It just seemed right for what I’m doing with this book especially. And if I like the self-publishing route, the company is there at my disposal. 🙂 Thanks for the tweet!

      Like

  9. Congratulations on being a publisher! I tweeted.

    Like

  10. karyrader says:

    That’s so awesome, Jenna! Way big congratulations!

    Like

Leave a Reply

