Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 05/07/17 Heart of Delight ~ Tempting Fate

weekend_writing_warriors_header3

I’m staying with my Handful of Hearts novella Heart of Delight, again this week for WWW, but this will be my last post until June. I’ve got two deadlines for two different editors–one for the next House of Pleasure Book and one for book two in my Widow’s Club series–both on June 1. So I’m writing frantically for the rest of this month. When I come back in June I hope to show you a few snippets from Book 1 of The Widow’s Club series, To Woo A Wicked Widow.

So for now I hope you enjoy this final snippet of Heart of Delight, and have a wonderful month of May!

 

Before we leave Heart of Delight, one more meeting between Hal and Gabriella. 🙂  They are outside in a garden (the cover depicts the exact point of this scene)  and he has just told her he has arranged for her to meet the Duke of Rother, the man she seeks. (Very creative punctuation utilized to conform to WWW rules.)

 

 “Shhh,” he murmured, turning her in his arms, “you are a very beautiful woman, Gabriella, more beautiful than any woman I have ever seen.” He smoothed a strand of hair back behind her ear, and she shivered with desire.

Merci, mon ami,” she said as she cupped his face, so handsome and strong. Why would fate tempt her with him at this moment? “Vous êtes très beau, et très cher.” She swept her lips across his, a fleeting kiss that thrilled even as it tortured. “I must go, mon cher for I dare not stay here longer,” she said as she broke through his grip, his touch still lingering.

“You but trifle with me—” the bitterness in his voice smote her heart “—though if I were instead my master, the marquess, you would not run from me.”

Oui, non, oh sacrebleu, you cannot understand,” she wailed then dropped her voice.

            They must not be discovered.

BLURB:

He’ll do anything to be her heart’s delight—except tell the truth.

Gabriella d’Adventure is on a mission. She has come to England as a lady’s maid in pursuit of the Duke of Rother. When she meets Horace Carpenter, valet to a marquess, she is delighted to enlist his aid in gaining her heart’s desire: a meeting with the duke. But will her growing feelings for the handsome valet interfere with her plans for the duke?

The eccentric Marquess of Halford, Hal to his friends, is tired of the demands of Society, especially his father’s decree that he marry this Season. When a breathtaking young woman intrudes on his solitude, he is captivated and introduces himself as his valet in hopes of learning more about her. Despite his fear about the true motive behind Gabriella’s quest to meet the Duke of Rother, Hal agrees to help her gain an audience with him, all the while praying his deception won’t ruin his chances of winning her love.

 

Heart of Delight is available in the Her Perfect Gentleman boxed set for just .99!

Amazon and B & N.

 

Books in the Handful of Hearts series:

And don’t forget to check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

 

 

This entry was posted in A Handful of Hearts, Heart of Delight, Historical Romance, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Regency Romance, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 05/07/17 Heart of Delight ~ Tempting Fate

  1. Hywela Lyn says:

    Loved this excerpt and it really made me want to read the book – I love the emotion and tension simmering under the surface.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I sense a reveal coming up. Great snippet.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Well, yes, sort of. In Heart of Delight, certainly, on my other books/WIPs, I may get some cover news shortly, but thinks take time in the publishing world., Still thank you, Kimberly!

      Like

  3. nancygideon says:

    Wonderful scene, Jenna, filled with angsty emotion. We’ll miss you. Happy Writing!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love their dialogue, and the emotions simmering between them. Good luck with making your deadlines!

    One of the reasons I can read French fairly well is because I’ve read so many older books that were published when most educated people spoke French as a second language, and therefore didn’t provide any translations in the footnotes or glossary. After awhile of looking up words and verb conjugations in the 1910 French-English dictionary I’m at least the fourth owner of, it began to stick. Those old books were possibly a better education than the formal French class I took.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Carrie-Anne. Sometimes if you translate enough, you do get the hang of it. I’ve always wished I could speak or read foreign languages, but I was always terrible at them.

      Like

  5. Tough situation but made for a great excerpt! Good luck with the writing and the deadlines, looking forward to having you back on the hop as soon as we can, always enjoy your excerpts.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Veronica! I’m so going to miss the excerpts from everyone. But I’m sure the month will fly by–I just hope the writing will fly from my fingers as well! 🙂

      Like

  6. You really capture her dilemma here. Good luck with all the writing!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Good luck with your deadlines. I did kind of wonder whether Gabriella’s mixed messages were intentional — kissing him, yet addressing him with the formal ‘vous’ rather than the friendlier ‘tu’.

    BTW, I recently finished Only Marriage Will Do and left a review. I enjoyed the background about Regency marriage law.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Ed. That’s probably a slip, although I think it adds to the mystery of just what her intentions are. LOL I keep needing all this French I never thought I’d use! As you could see in Marriage, I love creating French characters.

      I saw that review! Thank you so much for it! I wondered who on earth would be interested in marriage law, but am glad you did enjoy that piece of research–it took forever to make it all work out right, including looking up actual cases. That and the travel times to the North gave me fits. LOL But I’m so glad you enjoyed the book. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. daryldevore says:

    Great snippet.
    Have fun writing. See you in June.
    Tweeted.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. jakerose says:

    I think I need a translator haha! Great snippet though, you’ve got a great style of writing that really makes dialogue between characters feel incredibly “real”.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh my, your French is exquisite as is your writing.

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Oh, what a state for her to be in. I don’t know if I could leave him for another, not when they already have that connection. Great snippet, and all the best with your deadlines! See you in June!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Cara Bristol says:

    Love the set up of this story.

    I just finished reading Only a Mistress Will Do. Wow! Loved it. You kept me guessing about what would happen next. Who’s the heroine in the next House of Pleasure book? Tell me it’s Dora, please?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Wow, thank you so much, Cara! That truly makes my day! And no, I’m sorry to say the next heroine isn’t Dora, but don’t worry. I do have plans to give her her own book in a spin-off series called Captivating Countesses. 🙂 I thought she should have her own book too!

      Like

  13. Great dialogue, filled with distraught feelings. Will be looking forward to your return in June!

    Liked by 1 person

  14. This is going to be so good. I can hardly wait to read all this scene!

    Good luck with your deadlines! Have a great May. See you in June 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Kim Magennis says:

    Good luck with you deadlines, Jenna. I shall miss your snippets.

    I love the dialogue and intimacy, excellent piece- as always

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

