Be My Guest! ~ Author Interview with Patricia Green

 

banner-memeHello, and welcome to my new feature for 2017.

I’ve begun a Wednesday weekly post to present interviews with authors across all romance genres. Although I’m primarily an historical romance writer, I do read outside my genre and suspect a lot of you do as well. And what’s more fascinating than finding out more about either your favorite authors or new ones? I plan to change up my questions (most of them at least) every three months or so, just to keep the interviews lively.

So now gather round the tea table, grab a scone or cookies, and a cup of tea or coffee and discover a new friend in the writing world.

This week on Be My Guest, I am ecstatic to be interviewing a phenomenal  author and long-time friend, Patricia Green. I met Trish originally during the very brief time she belonged to an online writing group I was in. It’s almost as if she joined just long enough to meet me. 🙂 We have been fast friends and CPs ever since.

Author Bio:

Patricia Green is a fiction writer specializing in erotic romance. She writes love stories that emphasize fun characters with quirky personalities. Patricia currently has more than twenty-five books for you to choose from.

She’s married and is the mother of twins. When she’s not being the angel of domestic harmony and a semi-crazed creator of fictional friends, she loves to embroider, read, and watch hockey.

Find out more about Patricia Green and her books at http://www.patriciagreenbooks.com.

 

So without further ado, please meet Patricia Green!

I’ll start out, as always with my favorite question because this week I already know the answer: Who was the first romance author and book you read?

I’m not sure if she was the first, but Kathleen E. Woodiwiss was an early influence upon me, and remains one of my favorite authors of all time. I read The Wolf and the Dove only about 100 times.

The Wolf and the Dove was my first historical romance. I don’t think I read it more than about 30 times. 🙂

Who or what inspires your writing?

I am inspired by everyday things. I’ll hear a song and think, “Whose love song would that be?” Or I’ll see people in the mall, persons with obvious occupations, and think, “What kind of person would she/he be attracted to? And what is her/his backstory?”

Which of your own books is your favorite and why?

Each has been a favorite for at least a few months. I guess my all-time favorites are Ace-High Flush (book 2 of the Journey family series), and Striker my murder mystery romance.

I agree Ace-High Flush is tied for my favorite of your books. It’s tied with the historical romance you originally called Glee. I just love those books! Ace is a kick-butt hero!

What is your favorite holiday and why?

I like Passover best because there is so much ceremony involved. I love the rituals.

I agree, rituals are so comforting–as they are intended to be.

If you could have one wish granted just for you (not world peace, LOL), what would you wish for?

Good health for the ones I love. With your health, you can do anything.

Exactly.

What is the most exciting/daredevil thing you’ve ever done?

I won first prize in the Renaissance Pleasure Faire’s after-hours “Exotic Erotic Underwear Contest.” Don’t ask what I wore.

LOL!

Do you have any hobbies/passions outside of writing?

I love fiber arts. I embroider, knit, and crochet. It’s a creative outlet that doesn’t involve words.

Who is your favorite non-romance genre author? What is your favorite book of theirs?

Raymond Chandler is my favorite non-romance author. The Big Sleep is awesome. So much useful information about writing can be gleaned from it, and the story is compelling, dark, and lends itself to a study of the period of history in which it was written.

And I have not read it. It will have to go on my list.

Now, tell us a little bit about one of your books.

The Doctor’s Daughter is one of my more recent books. It tells the story of Verity Bucknell, wanna be doctor, in 1890, in the town of Virtue, Arizona Territory. She helps her father, the town doctor, and she began medical school, only to be summoned back to Virtue to help with her dying mother and raising her younger siblings. Despite her name, she’s a teller of tall tales, and it gets her in lots of mischief.

When a stranger shows up in town—a stranger needing immediate medical attention—she finds out the hard way that telling tales is not an indulgence she ought to be enjoying.

I haven’t read this one yet, but I’m starting it this week (while I’m on break). A man showing up in only a gray sock is too intriguing to not read!

What was your inspiration for this story?

I wanted to write an historical romance set in the late nineteenth century, which dealt with how society was changing. But I didn’t want it to be a book full of controversy and polarizing topics, instead I wanted it light-hearted, with a bit of a mystery story as well as the romance. When I thought of the opening scene—the mysterious man showing up in the Virtue medical clinic, wearing one gray sock and nothing else—it made me laugh out loud. I hoped it would start the book out light, despite the fact that it would later deal with some somewhat more difficult topics.

I am a fanatic about my character names. Are the character names special in any way?

The town of Virtue, Arizona, is home to a family of five sisters, the Bucknell girls. Their mother Modesty Bucknell was the daughter of Patience Sutton. Can you see the pattern forming? Modesty’s daughters are Verity, Charity, Faith, Hope, and Mercy. Although, strictly speaking, they are not all technically “The Virtues”, each is a virtue in deed.

And that makes perfect sense for this series!

Do you have plans for a sequel to this book?

There was a sequel: Charity and the Preacher which came out in December 2016. I had planned on writing a few more books in the series, but that idea has been shelved.

Now, the Infamous Lightning Round: 

What is your favorite amusement park ride?

The Haunted Mansion at Disneyland in Southern California.

Tea or coffee?

Coffee!

French manicure or color (and if color, what color)?

Color. My favorite color lately is brick red.

I tried to get your answers as close to brick red as I could.

Beach or mountains?

Beach. Growing up in Los Angeles, if you’re not a beach lover, you must be an alien from Mars.

Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate.

Boxers, briefs or commando? (preferred for your heroes)

  Boxers.

Blond, brunette or redhead? (preferred men’s hair color)

Brunette.

Would you rather skydive or scuba dive?

  Scuba dive, though snorkeling is as close to it as I’ve ever gotten.

Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London?

Vegas, hands down.

What’s the one thing you would never do?

Attack someone for their politics. I may not agree with a person, but I would fight to defend their right to say what’s on their mind. I wish more people had that attitude.

 

This interview has been way too short for all the questions I’d love to ask! But thank you so much, Trish, for being here with me today. Now, let’s give the audience a taste of your novel: The Doctor’s Daughter.

 

The Doctor’s Daughter is available at Amazon and Blushing Books.

metamorphoses_ovid_1567_-_book_1_footer

 

 

BLURB:

Verity tends to tell tall tales, despite her name. Everyone knows she’s prone to exaggeration, and no one seems to mind. No one except the mysterious man who winds up wounded and in need of a doctor’s care.

Verity doesn’t know much about the mysterious patient. The newly dubbed “Mr. Smith” has lost his memory, and is of no help in filling in the blanks about his real name or his past that yawn like a bottomless canyon. While he waits for anything that sounds familiar or sparks a memory, he finds Verity’s family to be gracious and supportive. He also finds that he’s more than willing to administer a spanking when Verity tells one of her outrageous stories or makes mischief.

The hot sex between them heats up their time together, but can Verity accept that she’s in love with a possibly married man, a possible outlaw, a possible reprobate? The truth will emerge, but the doctor’s daughter might be the last one to find out.

 

metamorphoses_ovid_1567_-_book_1_footer

 

Next Wednesday my special guest will be another  long time friend Lindsay Downs who is an incredibly prolific writer of Regency romantic suspense. Please come back next week to meet Lindsay!

This entry was posted in Author/Character Interviews, Be My Guest, Interviews, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Be My Guest! ~ Author Interview with Patricia Green

  1. Melissa Keir says:

    Wonderful to get to know more about you and your books.

    Like

  2. A great interview, Trish and Jenna. I loved The Doctor’s Daughter. I’ve only read a couple of Trish’s books, but intend to read more when time permits. She is a wonderful writer.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Reblogged this on Romance Writer Ramblings and commented:
    Looks like a great read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lizaoconnor says:

    Patrica, I just found out this will be your last book. I’m so sorry to hear that. I wish you the best of happiness in your next endeavor.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. lizaoconnor says:

    Patricia, for a moment I thought I must have woken up in your life, for I also have over 30 books, but then I read you write erotica and I don’t think any I’ve published yet are erotica (I have written them, just not published them. But I do historical, contemporary, suspense, sci fi, and fantasy thus far. If the social networking thing wouldn’t be such a nightmare, I’d probably use different names, but instead, I just leave it to my readers to sort through them. I sure do wish Amazon would allow sorting the author page by genre. Bet you do as well.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Almost couldn’t find your “comment” field! I’ve only been here a zillion times, too. LOL Thank you, Jenna, for having me over today. It’s always a pleasure to work together.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

