Be My Guest! ~ Author Interview with Jessica E. Subject

 

banner-memeHello, and welcome to my new feature for 2017.

I’ve begun a Wednesday weekly post to present interviews with authors across all romance genres. Although I’m primarily an historical romance writer, I do read outside my genre and suspect a lot of you do as well. And what’s more fascinating than finding out more about either your favorite authors or new ones? I plan to change up my questions (most of them at least) every three months or so, just to keep the interviews lively.

So now gather round the tea table, grab a scone or cookies, and a cup of tea or coffee and discover a new friend in the writing world.

This week on Be My Guest, I am interviewing a fantastic Sci-Fi Romance author and friend, Jessica E. Subject. I met Jessica originally while blogging with Six Sentence Sunday and now with Weekend Writing Warriors. She writes delightful romances, most with a science fiction setting. Her stories always make me wish I had more time to read!

jessica-e-subject-200x300-2017Author Bio:

Jessica E. Subject is the author of science fiction romance, mostly alien romances, ranging from sweet to super hot. Sometimes she dabbles in paranormal and contemporary as well, bringing to life a wide variety of characters. In her stories, you could not only meet a sexy alien or two, but also clones and androids. You may be transported to a dystopian world where rebels are fighting to live and love, or to another planet for a romantic rendezvous.

When Jessica is not reading, writing, or doing dreaded housework, she likes to go to fitness class and walk her Great Pyrenees/Retriever her family adopted from the local animal shelter.

Jessica lives in Ontario, Canada with her husband and two energetic children. And she loves to hear from her readers. You can find her at jessicasubject.com.

Website – http://jessicasubject.com

Newsletter – http://eepurl.com/eX1Zw

Twitter – http://twitter.com/jsubject

Facebook Page – http://www.facebook.com/pages/Jessica-E-Subject-author/205759796126370

So without further ado, please meet Jessica E. Subject!

 

I’ll start out with my favorite question: Who is your favorite romance hero or heroine and why? What qualities do they possess that make them memorable?

My favorite romance heroine would be Wanderer “Wanda” from The Host by Stephenie Meyer. She holds that position because she’s an unexpected heroine. When I first met her in the story, I didn’t think I would even like her. After all, she took over a human body with the intention of getting rid of the soul of the host. But as she came to like being in the company of humans rather than fearing them, she became a character I loved. She was willing to learn from them, and then helped them before she fell in love with them.

Who was the first romance author and book you read?

I don’t think I remember that far back. But, the first one I do remember reading is Dance Upon the Air by Nora Roberts. I’ve read many of her books since then, including those she wrote as J.D. Robb.

Who has been the greatest influence on your writing?

There is no one influence with my writing. Every author I’ve read (whether good or bad) has influenced my writing. So has every critique partner I’ve had as well as every editor I have worked with. Also, reviews that I’ve read with constructive criticism have had some influence.

Who or what inspires your writing?

The world around me as well as the one in my mind inspires my writing. Sometimes a story is formed after a dream. Other times it’s an overheard conversation. I find inspiration in pictures, news stories, music, and so much more. The problem is finding enough time to write them all.

Which of your own books is your favorite and why?

That’s like asking me to pick my favorite child. I like them all because I wrote them, but there are different aspects of each story I love. Sometimes it’s the characters, other times the setting, or even the circumstances. I’m always most excited about the stories I’m currently working on or plotting, but Made For Her will always hold a special place in my heart, as does my Galactic Defenders series. They are stories I put a lot of planning and research into. And because I spent that much more time planning these stories, the characters became like friends.

What is your favorite holiday and why?

I like Family Day. It’s a holiday in February where we simply get to spend time with family. We don’t have to prepare large dinners or travel anywhere. It’s just a day off during the coldest month of the year here in Canada.

If you could have one wish granted just for you (not world peace, LOL), what would you wish for?

I’d love for someone to clean my house and make dinner so I have more time.

What is the most exciting/daredevil thing you’ve ever done?

I’ve gone on a zipline and the Xtreme Skyflyer.

Do you have any hobbies/passions outside of writing?

I enjoy going to fitness classes at a small fitness center in town. I go to boot camp, spin, weight, circuit, and Zumba classes. It’s an outlet I need, and it helps me sleep better rather than having ideas spinning through my mind all night.

Who is your favorite non-romance genre author? What is your favorite book of theirs?

I like the writing duo Douglas Preston and Lincoln Child, not only the books they write together, but also the ones they write on their own. I can’t really pick a favorite, as I’ve enjoyed so many, but if you haven’t read them before, I would recommend starting with The Relic.

Now, the Infamous Lightning Round: (Choose 5-6 of the questions below)

What is your favorite amusement park ride?

Roller coasters as long as they don’t go backward.

Beach or mountains?

Mountains

Chocolate or vanilla?

Vanilla

Boxers, briefs or commando? (preferred for your heroes)

Boxer briefs

Would you rather skydive or scuba dive?

Scuba Dive

Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London?

Hawaii

Awww, we were having so much fun and now it’s over! But thank you so much, Jessica, for being here with me today. Now, let’s give the audience a taste of your latest novel: It Took A Zombie Apocalypse.

 

metamorphoses_ovid_1567_-_book_1_footer

jes-ittookazombieapocalypse-432x648

 

BLURB:

It started with a kiss.

Then the zombies came. Now, Missy must work with the neighbor her parents hate if she wants to survive. But zombies aren’t the only threat to her life, or her heart.

BUY LINKS:

Amazon US – https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N7R0JKQ

Amazon UK – https://www.amazon.co.uk/dp/B01N7R0JKQ

Amazon Canada – https://www.amazon.ca/dp/B01N7R0JKQ

Nook – http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1125465647

EXCERPT:

RJ pressed on the text and read….

Contagion arrived from Ostrander.
Spread through the hospital.
Stay in bunker.
I’m infected.
Zombies

Zombies? He dropped his phone and stared at it on the floor, expecting it to explode. Zombies didn’t exist. He was in some kind of dream. Had to be. Missy actually had come home for the summer. And kissed him. Now, zombies.

“What is it?” Missy bent down to pick up his cell then handed it back to him. “What happened back at the park?”

“Zombies.” The word came out before he had a chance to stop it. He didn’t know whether to laugh or grab Missy again and run.

A crooked smile formed dimples in her cheeks. “You’re joking, right? Trying to help me laugh off what happened.”

“I wish.” He showed her the message from his father. “My dad doesn’t have a sense of humor.”

The phone beeped, and she pushed his hand away. “I think it needs to be charged. We should call him just to be sure. Or contact somebody. Maybe he meant something else. You know how stupid autocorrect can be.”

RJ rushed to the kitchen, found his charger, and plugged in the cell. But, by then, he’d lost signal. Reception was spotty in West Vitula, but he couldn’t get anything. He peeked through the doorway, out to the living room. “Missy, can you get a signal?”

After digging into her purse, she pulled out her phone with a pink, sparkly case. Not at all what he expected from her. Had he missed that girly side, or had someone given it to her, and she didn’t want to hurt their feelings? That he could understand.

She held the cell up and moved around the room. “I got nothing. What’s going on?”

“I don’t know. Maybe we should try outside?” Though he doubted it would make a difference.

Missy stepped over to window and shoved the curtains aside. “Um, there are people coming. And they don’t…look right.”

RJ glanced outside. Neighbors walked down the middle of the street, their bodies twitching. And no one stopped to talk to one another. They just kept marching along to some unknown destination. As they came closer, he noticed their tattered clothing, their disheveled hair, and limbs connected at odd angles to the rest of their body, as if they’d been trampled. And now they were up and walking.

 

metamorphoses_ovid_1567_-_book_1_footer

 

Next Wednesday my very special guest will be  long time friend and CP Patricia Green, an incredibly talented author of romance books in many sub-genres, from sci-fi romance to historical westerns to contemporary spanking tales that are richly detailed, sexy, and fun . I certainly hope you’ll be back next week to meet Trish!

This entry was posted in Author/Character Interviews, Be My Guest, Interviews, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Be My Guest! ~ Author Interview with Jessica E. Subject

  1. lizaoconnor says:

    Jessica is a fabulous writer, mom, dog master, and fitness guru. I adore her zombie story.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. barbarabettis1 says:

    Terrific interview, ladies. Jessica, I enjoyed the opening reaction from RJ–a summer dream–Missy kissed him–and now Zombies? 🙂 Sounds like you have some neat humor in the story. Best of luck with book.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Author Jessica E. Subject says:

      Thanks, Barbara! Yes, there are some humorous parts in this story. It was a lot of fun to write. 🙂

      Like

  3. Melissa Keir says:

    What a fun cover and book excerpt! I enjoyed the interview. Always fascinating to read more about the wonderful Jessica E. Subject!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Thank you so much for having me over, Jenna! It was a fun interview. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

