Be My Guest! ~ Author Interview with Collette Cameron

 

banner-memeHello, and welcome to a new feature for the new year. I’ve begun a Wednesday weekly post to present interview with authors across all romance genres. Although I’m primarily an historical romance writer, I do read outside my genre and suspect a lot of you do as well. And what’s more fascinating than finding out more about either your favorite authors or new ones? I plan to change up my questions (most of them at least) every three months or so, just to keep the interviews lively. So now gather round the tea table, grab a scone or cookies, and a cup of tea or coffee and discover a new friend in the writing world.

To launch the Be My Guest posts, I have long-time friend and fellow historical romance author, Collette Cameron, a best-selling author and currently #89 on Amazon’s list of the top 100 historical romance authors!

collette-cameronA bestselling, award-winning author, COLLETTE CAMERON pens Scottish and Regency historicals featuring rogues, rapscallions, rakes, and the intelligent, intrepid damsels who reform them.

Blessed with three spectacular children, fantastic fans, and a compulsive, over-active, and witty Muse who won’t stop whispering new romantic romps in her ear, she still lives in Oregon with her mini-dachshunds, though she dreams of living in Scotland part-time.

Admitting to a quirky sense of humor, Collette enjoys inspiring quotes, adores castles and anything cobalt blue, and is a self-confessed Cadbury chocoholic. You’ll always find dogs, birds, occasionally naughty humor, and a dash of inspiration in her sweet-to-spicy timeless romances.

Welcome, Collette! Thank you so much for graciously being my first guest.

Now, let’s start with an easy one. Who is your favorite romance hero or heroine and why? What qualities do they possess that make them memorable?

I have to pick just one?  I have to go with The Count of Monte Cristo. He’s my stand-by for a hero that makes my heart flutter.

He’s strong, determined, but also has a vulnerable side. He loves deeply and irrevocably, and you don’t want to mess with those he loves. Truly a sigh-worthy gent.

Who was the first romance author and book you read?

Ah, I started at the ripe old age of thirteen reading Barbara Cartland Regencies my friend snuck me.

Which of your own books is your favorite and why?

I love To Tame a Scoundrel’s Heart. Not only was the book one of the easiest for me to write, the hero and hero are at the top of  my favorite lists.

Shh, don’t tell. My other characters will  get their knickers in a twist.

What is your favorite holiday and why?

Christmas! We decorate like crazy, inside and out; I bake lots of cookies—most of which don’t get eaten, and it’s the one time of year I have all three of my children at home!

Do you have any hobbies/passions outside of writing?

I do! I love to garden and I’m a certified interior decorator. I also love to hike, and Oregon has lots of gorgeous trials to explore.

Now, tell us a little bit about one of your books.

Brette: Intentions Gone Astray-Conundrums of the Misses Culpepper #3, is my newest novel, set to release January 10, 2016.

It brings together two unusual characters: a rogue turned rector and a country miss new to town who receives quite a shock when she discovers she’s the illegitimate granddaughter of a duke.

What was your inspiration for this story?

Brette and Alex’s story was inspired by their first meeting in Brooke: Wagers Gone Awry.  At first, I wasn’t sure I could bring them together, but as I wrote Brooke I realized they would suit very well.

I just had to convince the two of them!

I am a fanatic about my character names. Are the character names special in any way?

I’m chuckling right now. Yes, all the Culpepper misses have first names that being with the letter B.

I thought the idea quaint when I came up with it, but finding one-syllable period appropriate names was a challenge.

With my other books, I also try to find names that are significant in some way too.

Do you have plans for a sequel to this book?

There are two more books planned in the series. They’ll be about Brette’s cousins, Blaire and Blaike. I already have the covers for their stories.

Now for the Lightning Round (hold onto your hats, ladies!):

Tea or coffee?

Coffee with either pumpkin spice or creme brulee creamer. Yum!

French manicure or color (and if color, what color)?

Usually French manicure except for the holidays and then it’s sparkly red. Oh, and my French tips are sometimes a color rather than white!

Beach or mountains?

Oh, the beach! I grew up along the Oregon Coast!

Chocolate or vanilla?

Hmm, I love vanilla ice-cream but also Cadbury Milk Chocolate. It depends on the food or beverage.

Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London?

London!! I’ve been twice and would love to go again!

You are a woman after my heart with wanting to return to London, Collette! I LOVE London!  Thank you so much for coming by today! I’ve learned quite a lot about you that I never knew!

We will leave everyone’s mouths watering with the blurb and a short excerpt from your up-coming release. Just remember–it releases on January 10th, but is on pre-order now!

brette-final

BLURB:

A rogue turned rector thought his adventures were over…until a precocious, petite debutante bursts headlong into his life.

He thought his adventures were over…

A rogue reluctantly turned rector, Alexander Hawksworth, prefers soirées to sermons and parties to prayers. Though impoverished, he seizes every opportunity to escape parish duties, preferring to hob nob with London’s finest–especially after the precocious and petite Brette Culpepper arrives in Town. Alex secretly fantasizing about claiming the breathtaking beauty as his very own, and when he unexpectedly inherits an earldom, he’s determined to make her his countess… Until he’s accused of murdering the previous earl.

Then she burst headlong into his life…

New to Society, Brette adores the whirlwind social scene, the stream of invitations… the slightly-sensual verbal sparring with the devilishly attractive, much too witty, and oh so unsuitable Mr. Hawksworth. But her fairytale existence crashes to a halt when rumors circulate she’s a peer’s illegitimate granddaughter. Even though he’s left her a tidy inheritance, formerly hospitable doors slam in her face as a newly appointed guardian emerges, intent on stealing her wealth and forcing her to wed an elderly despot.

Time is against them as Alex struggles to clear his name and deliver the woman he loves from an unthinkable fate

EXCERPT:

Brette glanced upward, almost returning his infectious grin. Almost. She mightn’t be terribly miffed, but he wouldn’t be forgiven just like that either.

He boasted the most mesmerizing eyes, a spectacular green, like newly sprouted spring grass. Bright, cheery, and framed by honey-tipped lashes so lush, they appeared coffee-brown from a distance. He smelled wonderful too. Sandalwood, starch, and a woodsy, soapy smell. Clean and fresh. Quite irresistible. If she were the type to be taken with such, which, being a practical sort, she was not.

His gaze, oddly mesmerizing, held hers and for an instant, she quite forgot her purpose for being in the passage.

“Particularly flighty, title-hunting ninnies,” Alex said.

What? Oh, he meant Ophelia.

True, Ophelia was flighty, and she did seek a titled husband, but if she were enamored with the gentleman, surely that made all the difference.

Careful to keep her voice subdued, Brette murmured, “Shows what you know, Al—Mr. Hawksworth.” Blast me twice. Did he notice her blunder?

“I’ve asked you, repeatedly, to call me Alex or Hawk.”

Yes, he had.

Heat crept from her neck to her hairline, and she snapped her fan open, welcoming the faint breeze.

His smile widened, crinkling the corner of his eyes in a merry manner. He sniffed lightly. “I like your perfume. Is it new?”

He bent near her again and boldly smelled her hair.

Such an intimate, improper thing to dare.

Brette’s jaw hung slack momentarily before she collected herself. Hadn’t she just been thinking how pleasant he smelled? It rather disconcerted her to have his mind marching along the same path as hers.

He flashed another disarming smile, and her stomach’s renewed flopping had nothing to do with her matchmaking exploits. She fanned herself faster.

Did Alex’s smile expand the merest iota more? As if he knew caterpillars, and butterflies, and all sort of ill-mannered insects cavorted about in her middle?

“Gentleman do not sniff ladies’ heads, Mr. Hawksworth.” What she’d intended as a sternly whispered reprimand came out as an amused observation. Nevertheless, reminding him of his position should put him in his place nicely.

“They do when they smell as lovely as you, and since you’ve forgotten again, I’ll remind you that I’ve asked you to address me as Hawk or Alex.” His melodic whisper held not a jot of repentance.

Collette’s newest adventure, Brette: Intentions Gone Astray, is available for pre-order at

Amazon: https://www.amazon.com/dp/B01N3OIT9X/
B&N: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/books/1125091558?ean=2940153531427
Kobo: https://store.kobobooks.com/en-us/ebook/brette-intentions-gone-astray
iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/brette-intentions-gone-astray/id1173359871?ls=1&mt=11
Gumroad: https://gum.co/brette

Thank you all so much for stopping by for tea and cookies and some provocative answers from Collette.

Please come back next Wednesday when I’ll be sitting down with Patricia Preston, whose romantic comedies make me laugh out loud. I’m sure you won’t want to miss her interview!

This entry was posted in Author/Character Interviews, Be My Guest, Interviews, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Be My Guest! ~ Author Interview with Collette Cameron

  1. Melissa Keir says:

    Wonderful interview! I loved reading more about Collette!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ooh! I love the premise. This sounds like such a fun story!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you, dear friend,for allowing me the privilege of chatting today!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sounds interesting, Collette! And I lovelovelove the purple flowered background on your cover. 🙂 Putting this one on my Wishlist. 🙂 Good luck with it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Great interview! And Collette…I can’t wait to read this one!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. lizaoconnor says:

    Jenna, did you grow a new clone, because I don’t see how you are managing all you do plus being a fabulous author. Your questions are delightful. And Collen, your latest book looks fun. The cover is beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Vivi says:

    I love this new feature! Great idea, and interview.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

