Interview with Medieval Romance Author Ruth A. Casie

I’m here today with fellow Medieval Monday author Ruth A. Casie! Ruth has allowed me to ask some questions about her and her new release, The Highlander’s English Woman.

ruth-a-casie

So we’ll get right to your romance novel. Tell us a little bit about your new release.

The Highlander’s English Woman is a friends to lovers’ story complicated by the prejudices of their divergent backgrounds.

What was your inspiration for this story?

The new release, The Highlander’s English Woman is part of The Stelton Legacy series. I had so many requests for a story about the hero’s brother-in-law, Jamie that his story had to be written next.

I am a fanatic about my character names. Are the character names special in any way?

I have a hard time naming my characters. I give them a name when I start writing however, there are times when I get halfway through the story and their name just doesn’t fit. I have to search for a new one.

What was your process for writing this book? Is this different or the same as other books you’ve written?

The process for this book was much the same as my other stories. I write a rough synopsis of the story then go back and fill in more details. I try to get to know the characters better and even write backstory or even family histories.

Do you have plans for a sequel to this book?

The Stelton Legacy is a series about seven sons of a seventh son and their quest to overcome an ancient family curse. The Guardian’s Witch, the first book in the series was about the seventh son, Alex. I have six more brothers and possibly more secondary characters to go!

That’s a lot of brothers! LOL Who is your favorite romance hero or heroine and why? What qualities do they possess that make them memorable?

My favorite romance heroine is Clare Randall Frasier. I read Outlander in 1991. Many of the romance stories I had read had heroines who were victims. Clare impressed me as a woman with a mind of her own and stood up for herself.

I love Outlander, but I must admit I didn’t like Clare until I watched the television series. But I loved Jamie from day one! 🙂

Who was the first romance author and book you read?

Knight in Shining Armor by Jude Deveraux. I traveled overseas extensively for business and picked up the book for my flight to England. By the end of the flight I was hooked on romance. Since my trips were usually two weeks, I traveled with 8 to 10 books.

Who has been the greatest influence on your writing?

My writing partners, Emma Kaye, Lita Harris, and Nicole S. Patrick as well as my editor, DC Comfort.

 

Now, the Dreaded Lightning Round: (Bwahaha!)

What is your favorite amusement park ride?

The Merry-Go-Round

Tea or coffee?

Coffee with Bailey’s Irish Crème and Whipped Cream

French manicure or color (and if color, what color)?

Ballet Slippers

What a cool name for a nail polish color! I can see it now!

Beach or mountains?

Beach

Chocolate or vanilla?

Chocolate except ice cream, I prefer vanilla

Boxers, briefs or commando?

Commando

Blond, brunette or redhead? (preferred men’s hair color)

Brunette

Would you rather skydive or scuba dive?

Scuba dive

Me too! I just haven’t done it for years.

Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London?

London

Definitely!

And last but not lease: What’s the one thing you would never do?

Sky dive

And I am with you there as well, Ruth!

Now we go to the romantic portion of the post: 

The Highlander’s English Woman

thehighlandersenglishwoman300-1

Traitors, deception, murders and ghosts run rampant at Lord Herbert Maxwell’s, Caerlaverock Castle. Jamie Maxwell Collins serves Lord Herbert in exchange for a farm of his own. Laura Reynolds, Lord Herbert’s distant cousin and Jamie’s longtime friend comes to the castle determined to solve the murders and put the ghost to rest. When Laura becomes the murderer’s next target and Lord Herbert is forced to sacrifice her in a political marriage, Jamie finds their friendship has turned to love and he’s more a warrior then he thought. He’ll use anything to save Laura–ghosts, swords or fists.

The Highlander’s English Woman is available at Amazon.

And Ruth is giving away a copy of her Christmas story I’ll Be Home for Christmas in the anthology Timeless Moments,to one lucky conmmenter.

61ij4xcraql-_sy346_

This entry was posted in Interviews, Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Interview with Medieval Romance Author Ruth A. Casie

  1. bethtrissel says:

    Fascinating interview, Ruth. Your new book sounds fascinating. Great time period.

    Like

Leave a Reply

