Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 11/20/16 Seduction at the Christmas Court: An Unwanted Suitor

weekend_writing_warriors_header3

This month I’ll be posting snippets from my new medieval Christmas story, Seduction at the Christmas Court. This book continues the story begun in Time Enough to Love and its hero Lord Geoffrey Longford and heroine Lady Alyse de Courcy, now Lady Longford. The cover is temporary–I’m hoping to have a cover reveal this week!

seduction-mock-cover

Weekend Warriors, this weekend I journeyed to Memphis, TN to see my daughter starring in a play at her university. (She was fabulous, by the way. :))Sunday I’ll be flying home to work on another show at my university, so I’ll likely be visiting you all Sunday night or Monday.

This story begins in December 1349, about seven months after the end of  Time Enough to Love ended. As Alyse is decorating Longford Manor for Christmas, a messenger arrives with a message for them.

On the road to the Christmas Court at  Havering Palace, a playful mood strikes Alyse and she wagers Geoffrey she can beat him in a race to a distant tree. She agrees to a kiss as her forfeit if she loses, but asks something unexpected if he should lose the race.

Having arrived at court, Alyse find her sister and while catching up discovers Pippa is betrothed to one of Alyse’s former suitors, Guy de Valere.

*Note: This excerpt is unedited and creatively punctuated to conform to the rules of WWW.

“Pippa, please believe me, even though he pressed his suit before I left home, I never felt ought for him.” Alyse had to make her understand she’d had no desire for Guy whatsoever.

“That made no difference to him, apparently, for he spoke of naught but you from the start,” Pippa said as she looked into the fire intently. “Mother told me how ardently he sought you, then Father told me the fight between Guy and Geoffrey was over you.”

“And I told Guy, unequivocally, that I belonged to Geoffrey. He cannot still think of me in such a way.” Lord have mercy if he did, for Geoffrey would have no qualms fighting him again.

“I would not take that wager.”

Alyse stared back, clutching her skirts to stop her hands from shaking. “Is he here at court?”

 

Blurb:

Lord and Lady Longford journey to the Christmas Court of King Edward III in the year 1349 to wait upon the king and take part in some Yuletide merriment. However, when Geoffrey is suddenly called into the king’s service again, Alyse must remain at the court, attending the queen and persuading her rebellious sister to accept an unwanted betrothal. When rumors of Geoffrey’s death arise,  Alyse fends off an old suitor who wants to renew an old friendship. But how long will he take “No” for an answer?

Other Books in the Time Enough to Love series:

tetl-set-200x300

Betrothal with Logo

betrayal_logobeleaguered3

 

 

 

 

And don’t forget to check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Historical Romance, Medieval Romance, On Time Enough to Love, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Seduction at the Christmas Court, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 11/20/16 Seduction at the Christmas Court: An Unwanted Suitor

  1. Oh dear, that’s a tricky situation to navigate, at Court and at the holidays no less! I’m intrigued…great excerpt.

    Like

  2. Cara Bristol says:

    I can understand why Pippa wouldn’t be interested in a man who wasn’t interested in her.

    Like

  3. Jenna, you take the reader right into the scene, into the century. I so enjoy your writing. Happy Thanksgiving. What a pleasure to watch your daughter perform! I know the feeling.

    Like

  4. Ed Hoornaert says:

    Oh dear, this situation is getting complicated. BTW, in one paragraph you use ‘ought’ and the next ‘naught’, and I think they should be the same word. Or maybe naught.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Carrie-Anne says:

    That’s a tough situation for all of them to be in! I’m looking forward to seeing your new cover.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Oh, I feel for Pippa to be betrothed to someone who is only after her sister. I’m sure that will make for an interesting encounter. Fabulous snippet!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Daryl Devore says:

    Fabulous snippet. You seem to be crazy busy lady – don’t know how you do it.
    Tweeted.

    Oh – and can’t wait to see the new cover🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Daryl! Things have actually started to slow down! LOL I’m editing two books and writing two books and that’s about it. Shows are over until January! Time to relax. LOL I’m hoping to release the cover of Seduction at the Christmas Court this week, to be ready for WWW next week!

      Like

  8. Kim Magennis says:

    Excellent cliff hanger, Jenna. I must confess, I would not want to marry someone who would rather have had my sister.

    Enjoy your university production!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

