Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 11/13/16 Seduction at the Christmas Court: A Friendly Wager

weekend_writing_warriors_header3

This month I’ll be posting snippets from my new medieval Christmas story, Seduction at the Christmas Court. This book continues the story begun in Time Enough to Love and its hero Lord Geoffrey Longford and heroine Lady Alyse de Courcy, now Lady Longford. The cover is temporary–I’m hoping to have a cover reveal in a couple of weeks!

seduction-mock-cover

This story begins in December 1349, about seven months after the end of  Time Enough to Love ended. As Alyse is decorating Longford Manor for Christmas, a messenger arrives with a message for them.

On the road to the Christmas Court at  Havering Palace, a playful mood strikes Alyse and she wagers Geoffrey she can beat him in a race to a distant tree. She agrees to a kiss as her forfeit if she loses, but asks something unexpected if he should lose the race.

*Note: This excerpt is unedited and creatively punctuated to conform to the rules of WWW.

“And what will you forfeit to me, Lord Longford, when I best you?”

A grin immediately split his face, blue eyes brightening. “What would you ask of me, fair lady–another feat of Hercules?”

Alyse laughed in return and a warmth spread through her heart, for he reminded her of their early days of courtship. “Nay, my lord, I think those days are put to rest.” Still, what could she ask of him? There was nothing he would deny her an she ask for it; at least she thought not. “An I am the winner, I beg…a lock of your hair.”

The startled expression on his face brought on a fit of giggling from Alyse.

“You want me to cut my hair?” he asked, the horror in his voice sending her into fresh peals of laughter.

Blurb:

Lord and Lady Longford journey to the Christmas Court of King Edward III in the year 1349 to wait upon the king and take part in some Yuletide merriment. However, when Geoffrey is suddenly called into the king’s service again, Alyse must remain at the court, attending the queen and persuading her rebellious sister to accept an unwanted betrothal. When rumors of Geoffrey’s death arise,  Alyse fends off an old suitor who wants to renew an old friendship. But how long will he take “No” for an answer?

Other Books in the Time Enough to Love series:

tetl-set-200x300

Betrothal with Logo

betrayal_logobeleaguered3

 

 

 

 

And today is the last day of my .99 sale on Heart of Desire and Heart of Delight. Check it out HERE!

Heart of Desire Final

Heart of Delight

 

And don’t forget to check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Historical Romance, Medieval Romance, On Time Enough to Love, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Seduction at the Christmas Court, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 11/13/16 Seduction at the Christmas Court: A Friendly Wager

  1. Love the playful back and forth banter! Great snippet!

    Like

  2. I don’t know what to say, except that I can hardly wait to read this story! One of my all-time favorite fictional couples.🙂

    Like

  3. Oh no, not the hair!🙂 A very sweet prize for her to claim.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I love their flirting!😀

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ed Hoornaert says:

    I’m aware of the significance of having a lock of hair in Regency times, and you’ve got me wondering if it was the same in the 1300’s. BTW, I recently stayed at a B & B in Bruges that was was from the 1300’s. Neat!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I saw that post, Ed, and I have to tell you I was insanely jealous of you! I need to do that some time. It looked wonderful. As to the lock of hair, well, I may have made up a reason for the hair in the original book from this series, so there may not be a significance to it outside of my medieval world.🙂

      Like

  6. naomi shaw says:

    I love this couple. They interact so well together. There are sparks between them

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Andrea R Huelsenbeck says:

    Cute!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I love that you’re reprising Alyse and Geoffrey. They’re a terrific couple and will have many lovely adventures together. A lock of hair can mean all kinds of things, so I’m excited to find out what it means for them this time.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks so much for coming by, Trish! Yes, I couldn’t stay away from this couple for long. They talk to me a lot.🙂 The lock of hair, however, harkens back to several scenes in Time Enough to Love. I thought this would be a good time to use it again.

      Like

  9. Melissa Keir says:

    Love this! Can’t wait to read it. Alyse and Geoffrey are my favorites!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Interesting that he is taken aback by that request. Fabulous snippet!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  11. An interesting prize she wants to claim. I enjoy this couple…great snippet!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Delightful, so playful and loving. I’m entranced, swept into the era and this charming couple.

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Will she win, long skirts and all? I assume she has a trick to play.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. angelicadawson says:

    An odd request, but one he is likely to fill.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Diane Burton says:

    At first I thought this was cute. Then I read your comment above. My first thought: a voodoo doll. You’ve got me more intrigued

    Liked by 1 person

  16. Cara Bristol says:

    Oh, I think that’s a great prize. I hope she wins.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

