Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 11/6/16 Seduction at the Christmas Court: A Summons from the King

weekend_writing_warriors_header3

This month I’ll be posting snippets from my new medieval Christmas story, Seduction at the Christmas Court. This book continues the story begun in Time Enough to Love and its hero Lord Geoffrey Longford and heroine Lady Alyse de Courcy, now Lady Longford. The cover is temporary–I’m hoping to have a cover reveal in a couple of weeks!

seduction-mock-cover

This story begins in December 1349, about seven months after the end of  Time Enough to Love ended. As Alyse is decorating Longford Manor for Christmas, a messenger arrives with a message for them.

 

“Has the king demanded your service to him once more?” Her heart beat furiously as she prayed to God there was no war.

Her husband’s mouth pursed in displeasure and he waved the servant to stand. “Aye, he bids me give my service and you as well, my lady.”

“My service?” she asked, her own brows knit in concern as she plucked the cream colored paper from his fingers and perused it. “What service would His Majesty command from me–to bid me be your squire?”

A deep laugh rolled up from Geoffrey’s broad chest as he shook his head. “I’d trust you to attend me and my troops anywhere, my love, however, you would scarce be able to lift my sword much less my armor.”

Pursing her lips, she returned her attention to the parchment, but Geoffrey spoke before she could begin to read. “We are called to attend King Edward and Queen Philippa at the Christmas court at Havering.”

 

Blurb:

Lord and Lady Longford journey to the Christmas Court of King Edward III in the year 1349 to wait upon the king and take part in some Yuletide merriment. However, when Geoffrey is suddenly called into the king’s service again, Alyse must remain at the court, attending the queen and persuading her rebellious sister to accept an unwanted betrothal. When rumors of Geoffrey’s death arise,  Alyse fends off an old suitor who wants to renew an old friendship. But how long will he take “No” for an answer?

Other Books in the Time Enough to Love series:

tetl-set-200x300

Betrothal with Logo

betrayal_logobeleaguered3

 

 

 

 

 

And don’t forget to check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Historical Romance, Medieval Romance, On Time Enough to Love, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Seduction at the Christmas Court, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

31 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 11/6/16 Seduction at the Christmas Court: A Summons from the King

  1. I love discovering new authors… Love this period

    Like

  2. Great excerpt! I love medieval stories.

    Like

  3. Wonder what will happen at the court… great writing!

    Like

  4. Carrie-Anne says:

    It sounds like a great story! I’m looking forward to reading more.

    Like

  5. Oh, I’m adding this to my TBR! I love anything Medieval and I love CHristmas! The best of both worlds! I just hope there’s a happy ending as well!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. nancygideon says:

    Will they be serving intrigue? Nice clip, Jenna!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Well, Christmas Court sounds like fun, but I have a feeling there’ll be more going on than roast boar and caroling.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. angelicadawson says:

    I wonder if she won’t be happy with the service required.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Sounds like it will be a great Christmas read. Looking forward to attending the Christmas court.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Love the idea of a medieval Christmas story, can’t wait for more. And I enjoyed the snippet!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Diane Burton says:

    Nice snippet. What else will the king demand from her???

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Author Jessica E. Subject says:

    Well, attending a Christmas Court is far better than going off to war. Great snippet!🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  13. Daryl Devore says:

    Fabulous scene. Tweeted.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. You nailed this period so beautifully, Jenna. You bring the reader right into the scene. Thank you.

    Liked by 1 person

  15. Kim Magennis says:

    Love your storyline, Jenna. This promises to be another excellent read.

    Liked by 1 person

  16. I didn’t know you were continuing this series!!!! I can hardly wait to read it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Yes, I definitely have several more books in the series. I want it to be a family saga, with books for Alyse’s sister and for her and Geoffrey’s children.🙂 Hope you enjoy this one, Teresa!

      Like

Leave a Reply

