New Release Spotlight: The Hunt Ends by Lindsay Downs

the hunt endsmed

Blurb:

After three dangerous years chasing down traitors, and murderers there is only one nemesis remaining-Estelle. Attempts to bring her to justice finally succeeded when she tried to kidnap Lord and Lady Markson’s daughter.

With her turned over to the authorities Robert and Kristina now return to London. There they set the ton on its ear when Lord Robert is seen carrying his daughter about Hyde Park.

Tired of the gossips they return to the country but make visits to London on occasion.

Ten years later they are relaxing at the estate when Jolene’s godmother, Duchess of Clarion arrives with a young lady who wishes to meet the viscount and viscountess.

Introductions are made and immediately Kristina knows her daughter and the young lady, Princess Victoria, will be fast friends for life.

Excerpt:

“Halt. You are aware rushing about, except in an emergency, isn’t allowed. Now, explain yourself.” Robert demanded.

“M’ lord, so I am aware. However, wouldn’t Her Ladyship being in labor be considered a crisis.”

Robert’s jaw fell open on hearing this news. After a heartbeat of two he was able to collect himself and his thoughts.

“Yes, now go,” he blurted.

Once the butler started up the stairs Robert was about to follow when he felt a hand on his shoulder. William was behind him. “No, don’t go to her suite, unless she calls for you. I’m sure Cook is already there helping Sylvia.”

“So, what am I to do while I wait to see if Kristina wishes me at her side?” Robert asked.

“What any self-respecting member of the peerage, in your present situation, would do. Go to your office, pour two glasses of whiskey, one for you and one for me. After which start wearing a hole in the carpet while you pace about awaiting word. Trust me when I say the first was always the hardest for us. After that the other births will become routine and you won’t give the event a second thought,” William explained.

Marching into the office, Robert started for the sideboy then stopped. “William, how long can this take?”

“If you’re talking about waiting for the birth of your child, who knows.”

That was what Robert thought and decided remaining sober would be for the best. Pouring a drink for the duke he passed it over, looked at the unfinished report and suspected he’d not get any work done. Taking the second recommendation of William’s he started pacing the office.

Not having any idea how long he’d been walking in a circle, he finally glanced to the mantle clock and noted the time. Robert heard a rumble coming from his stomach. He was hungry.

“Shall we have trays brought up?” he asked.

“Yes and you might wish to consider having them delivered for dinner as well.”

Ringing for Sydney, Robert wondered how long it would take before the man made an appearance. Much to his surprise the butler, almost immediately, stepped in.

“Your Grace, m’ lord. I’m guessing you need trays brought up. I’m sure someone has already started putting them together as Cook is assisting Her Ladyship.”

“Is there any word as to when the baby will join us?” Robert said.

“I’m sorry, m’ lord, but I was shuffled out of the room shortly after bringing the sheets. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I’ll collect the trays.”

With the meal finished Robert forced himself to work on the report he’d started earlier. William selected a book, relaxed on a divan and was reading when Jolene swept in.

“Now, isn’t this the perfect picture of tranquility. One lord working while the other reading,” she declared.

Looking up from the sheet of paper, Robert peered over to the duke who’s set the book aside.

“Jolene, as we’ve nothing to do until the baby arrives your husband and I needed to keep our minds busy,” Robert said.

Buy Links-

US- http://tinyurl.com/jmydnpc

UK- http://tinyurl.com/zu73gbu

 

Lindsay Downs Newest Aug 2016About the Author:

I’ve been an avid reader ever since I was old enough to hold a red leather bound first edition copy of Sir Walter Scott’s The Lady of the Lake in my lap.

So it only seemed natural at some point in my life I take up pen and paper to start writing. Over time my skills slightly improved which I attribute to my English teachers.

My breakthrough came about in the mid 1970’s when I read a historical romance written by Sergeanne Golon, Angelique. This French husband and wife team opened my eyes to the real world of fiction. Stories about romance, beautiful damsels, handsome heroes and plots which kept me hooked. Of course, being a man, I had to keep my reading hidden from others as that wasn’t appropriate reading for men.

With this new found appreciation of the written word I took up other books and devoured them as a starving person would a plate of food. I them attempted to write again. I still wasn’t satisfied so I put it aside for years as other events entered my life.

Finally, in the early years of the new millennium I tried again to write and once again met with limited success. At least now I was able to get past the first page or two. Then, in 2006 a life changing event brought me back to my love, I took a job as a security officer. This allowed me plenty of time to read different genres.

My favourite was regency. As I poured through everyone I could get my hands on I knew this could be something I wanted to attempt.

Since 2012 when my debut regency romantic suspense released I was hooked and have, except for a few contemporaries, focused on this genre.

Since 2012 I’ve lived in central Texas. I’m also a member of Romance Writers of America and the Austin, TX chapter.

 

Where you can find me-

Facebook- http://tinyurl.com/pgq8vzz

Facebook Pages- http://tinyurl.com/nresq5j

Twitter- @ldowns2966

LinkedIn- http://tinyurl.com/e8t56

Goodreads- http://tinyurl.com/prcdmml

Lindsay Downs-Romance Author- http://tinyurl.com/kvfz468

Amazon- http://tinyurl.com/ktem76c

This entry was posted in Book Spotlights, Guest Bloggers, Promotion, Regency Romance and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to New Release Spotlight: The Hunt Ends by Lindsay Downs

  1. Daryl Devore says:

    The paragraph on what any self-respecting peer would do in this sort of a crisis is FABULOUS!!! Tweeted.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barbara Bettis says:

    I haven’t seen this series yet, but I’m definitely looking it up! Sounds intriguing.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Melissa Keir says:

    Lindsay is a wonderful author! Very nice man too!🙂 I wish you all the best!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Thanks for spotlighting this the 6th and final book in the series. Maybe there will be another series featuring Lady Jolene, the oldest daughter to the then Viscount and Viscountess of Hampshire but later Earl and Countess of Hampshire. All will be explained. Someday. Maybe next year.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

