Accident or Injury? Saving Molly with Liza O’Connor

Saving Molly banner w puppy large

When we are children, we basically believe what our parents tell us. Thus, Molly believed she would die if she ever went to a doctor or a hospital. Her parents warned her that would happen whenever their beatings caused serious damage. Even as an adult, the innate fear of doctors remained within Molly.

Clearly the parents knew they’d be arrested for child abuse if a doctor ever saw any of the constant injuries she acquired.

I was a great acquirer of injuries myself. However, other than the injuries my older brother inflicted—He wished to an only child—mine were often of my own doing. I got my nose broken and almost blinded by a sickle in my face. (Note to self: Don’t follow close behind an older child swinging a sickle.) I dropped a heavy pair of garden shears on my left ankle. (Doctors still have no clue why I can walk on it, but I can. Anyone reading the x-rays assumes I am crippled.) While riding in the bucket of a small tractor, I could hear my dad saying something to me, so I popped my head up over the bucket edge so I could actually hear him. Evidently, he had warned me to stay in the bucket, because just as I got my head over the bucket, he raised the bucket, splitting my chin wide open.

There must have be far more events than what I can remember. When I would go to the doctor, the old fellow would laugh and declare, yet again, his doubt I would survive my childhood. Now-a-days, Child Care would be all over my parents. But back then, it was thought to be the normal wear and tear children go through.

Honestly, my scars and bruises verses the signs of real abuse would have probably looked very similar to a doctor. But I was not physically abused (except by my brother who truly believed my existence had ruined his life). I was just fearless and possibly too sure of myself.

dp Saving Molly 400x600

Saving Molly

 

By

Liza O’Connor

Book 2 of the

Requires Rescue Series

Contemporary Suspense

Sometimes even the strong

requires a helping hand.

Blurb

 

Molly Brown always faces life with a smile, even when a frightening thug is intent upon killing her. At first, Detective Sean Cushing finds Molly’s cheery disposition unnatural, especially when he discovers the seriousness of her injuries. When she asks for police protection, he instead offers her a job and home being a nanny to his five-year-old daughter, hoping her cheery disposition can pull his child from her dark hole of misery. Never did he expect he’d be proposing marriage within a day, but life has a way of going in odd directions when Molly Brown is involved.

EXCERPT

Sean set his daughter in a chair and placed his hands on Molly’s cheeks. “Talk to me. Tell me why you’re so frightened.”

She shook her head, but when he pulled away, hurt by her refusal, she gripped his hand. “I can’t explain the panic I feel. The Browns convinced me I’d die if I ever went to a hospital or saw a doctor. I think my body is in flight mode.”

He kissed her forehead. “We can deal with that.”

Just then, the doctor she’d met at the precinct entered and frowned at her. Her fear tripled and her heart pounded so hard in her chest it felt like it might burst out and attempt to run off by itself since she couldn’t.

“David, you need to put her under now. She’s having a panic attack.”

The doctor stared at the monitors. “Looks more like a heart attack.”

“It’s a severe panic attack. Trust me.”

David looked down at her. “Are you feeling panicked, Molly?”

“No, I’d like to go home now,” she whispered.

“David, it’s a panic attack. She’s just been taught to lie to doctors.”

“Great!” he sighed and stared at the monitor. “Molly, if I treat the wrong symptoms, you may die. Now is this panic or do you feel a sharp pain in your chest?”

“I’m fine. I want to go home. Sean, please take me home.”

“That’s not an option, Molly. I am going to treat you for a heart attack unless you can convince me you’re having a panic attack. Now, what are your symptoms?”

Molly opened her mouth to speak, but no sound came out. She looked to Sean to save her, but he was glaring at the doctor. She should have never agreed to this. She knew better than to come to a hospital. Suddenly, a new voice cried out. “Mommy, tell him what’s wrong. You can’t die, you can’t. Please tell him—for me. I need you. Mommy, please.”

Eliza’s sweet voice broke through Molly’s paralysis and panic. Eliza had managed to say her first words in over a year! She looked to Sean. He was staring at his daughter in shock. “I want my mommy!” Eliza cried.

 

 

BUY IT NOW!

SAVING MOLLY

AMAZON

 

DON’T FORGET—-

Saving Casey is 99 cent to celebrate

99 CENT PROMO

7/1-7/7

SAVING CASEY

AMAZON

 

NOTE: EACH BOOK STANDS ALONE

AND CAN BE READ IN ANY ORDER

Jess in green for blog

 ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Liza O’Connor lives in Denville, NJ with her dog Jess. They hike in fabulous woods every day, rain or shine, sleet or snow. Having an adventurous nature, she learned to fly small Cessnas in NJ, hang-glide in New Zealand, kayak in Pennsylvania, ski in New York, scuba dive with great white sharks in Australia, dig up dinosaur bones in Montana, sky dive in Indiana, and raft a class four river in Tasmania. She’s an avid gardener, amateur photographer, and dabbler in watercolors and graphic arts. Yet through her entire life, her first love has and always will be writing novels.

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT

LIZA O’CONNOR

Investigate these sites:

Liza’s Blog and Website   Facebook   Twitter

 

This entry was posted in Guest Posts, Promotion and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

