My Sexy Saturday ~ My Sexy Secret from Only Marriage Will Do

mysexySat

I’m trying a new blog hop this week, My Sexy Saturday. I can post 7 paragraphs, 7 sentences, or 7 words from a WIP or a published work so I thought this might be a lot of fun!

The theme this week is My Sexy Secret, so I thought I’d start with a snippet from my Georgian historical romance Only Marriage Will Do.

Marriage new fullCaptain Amiable Dawson barged past the stunned maid and strode down the hall toward the commotion. He burst through the doorway, expecting to defend the woman he loved, only to stop dead at the sight of a man lunging across a sofa and grasping a woman by the wrist. Amiable had half drawn his sword before he realized the woman was not Katarina, but a complete stranger. He dropped it back into its scabbard. This was none of his affair.

The young man, foppishly dressed in a robin’s egg blue satin coat dripping too many layers of frothy lace at throat and wrists looked at Amiable, a snarl on his lips.

Taking advantage of the distraction, the woman wrenched her arm from the man’s grip. “Praise God. Here he is.” She staggered as she righted herself. “Now you will have to believe me, Philippe.”

The fop scrambled back off the sofa and groped for a black lacquer walking stick that lay on the floor. Lips pressed together, he glowered at the woman. “That remains to be seen, ma chere. In any case, I have shown you the papers. They speak for themselves.”

The woman ran from behind the sofa to Amiable’s side, grazed a kiss over his cheek and whispered, “For God’s sake, help me. I am alone here and he is trying to take me away. Please, agree with whatever I say.”

Smiling into her pleading face, he grasped her hands and gave them a gentle squeeze to signal his acquiescence. “Whatever is the matter, my dear?” Hell if he knew. But he could play his part, even with little information. Let the lady lead and he’d follow as well as he could.

The woman smiled then took a deep breath. “My dear, may I present Viscount St. Cyr?” She nodded toward the fop. “Philippe, this is my husband, the Earl of Manning.”

I hope you enjoyed Juliet’s “sexy secret.” For more fabulous My Sexy Saturday snippets click here.  And have a great Saturday!

This entry was posted in Blog Hops, My Sexy Saturday, Only Marriage Will Do and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Sexy Saturday ~ My Sexy Secret from Only Marriage Will Do

  1. Surprise! Secrets revealed are so complicated.

    Like

Leave a Reply

