Words That Make You Go Ewww! by Jenna Jaxon

I published this post on Nights of Passion on Sunday and since I’m on a writer’s retreat this week, I thought you might enjoy thinking about words–you know I will be.🙂

Nights of Passion

scrabble board

I love words. We as authors are wordsmiths. Words are our livelihood. I love language and even though its rules sometimes makes me crazy, I really do enjoy putting words together in the best way to create stories from my heart.

However, all words are not created equal.

Everyone has favorite words. Some of mine are unique, onomatopoeia, wicked, and integral. I have dozens more, and my editor will tell you they also include that, nodded, turned, smiled, and just.🙂

And just as we all have favorite words, we all have words we simply hate with a passion. This is called word aversion. Nico Lang’s article, “Moist And 28 Other Gross-Sounding English Words That Everyone Hates” states that our aversion to words is linked both to phonetics and to meaning. “The linguistic formula for a disgusting word is to make sure it contains phonetically abrasive letters like “b,” “g,”…

View original post 247 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Words That Make You Go Ewww! by Jenna Jaxon

  1. Melissa Keir says:

    I agree with some of those words that they don’t like…my overused ones are just, walked, and the character’s names.

    Like

Leave a Reply

