Dream Come True: I Have an Agent!

Publishing contract

Publishing contract

I’ve been working toward getting an agent to represent my books for seven years, almost since I started writing. And in April, my dream actually came true—just when I wasn’t expecting it!

I’d finally finished a major revision of my Regency novel To Woo A Wicked Widow and on April 1 I sent it out to several agents and an editor who had expressed interest in seeing the book if I revised it. I got several emails back saying they had received the book and would get back to me. Business as usual. I went back to work finishing the third book in my House of Pleasure series, Only a Mistress Will Do. Waiting is second nature to me now.

Tuesday morning I got an email back from one of the agents, Kathy Green of Kathryn Green Literary Agency. I’ve been sending my stuff to Kathy from the beginning and she always had encouraging, personal rejection letters with feedback on the book of mine she’d read (I once told her she sent the best rejection letters I’d ever gotten.:) ) This email, however, wasn’t a rejection. She loved the new treatment of the book and wanted to talk to me about it.

I was about to get THE CALL! I ran crying into the living room to tell my husband, then had to explain the significance of it all to him. I may not have made a lot of sense, actually. I was stunned to say the least.

And, yes, a day later I did get the call. I think I babbled a lot, but I’d warned Kathy of that in my return email. And long story short, I’m now represented by her. It took me a month to write this post about it because there was a week when I was waiting for responses from the other agents, then the paperwork, and then the end of the semester and exams hit at my school.

One other thing, odd as it may seem, is that I kept forgetting I had an agent. I think it still hasn’t sunk in yet, even though we’ve done some fine-tuning to the project and it should be going out to editors shortly. I’d be going about my everyday life, and suddenly it would hit me: I have an agent! Surprise!

Anyway, I wanted to finally tell everyone, now that it’s truly official. And to let you all know that believe it or not, dreams do come true. Never stop reaching for your goal. Never stop believing in yourself.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Dream Come True: I Have an Agent!

  1. Reblogged this on silvatrend8553 and commented:
    CONGRATULATIONS!!! I know you put in a lot of hard work.
    Way to go Jenna!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. CONGRATULATIONS!!! I know you put in a lot of hard work.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. brownac101 says:

    Awesome news Jenna!!! I love your books!!! Congrats!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Gina@GermanDeli.com says:

    CONGRATULATIONS!!! How wonderful……this can only mean wonderful things for all your fans. You’re the best!

    Gina Green
    Southlake, Texas

    Liked by 1 person

  5. The sky’s the limit now! I knew you when. Congratulations! No one deserves it more than you do.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Congrats to the roof and beyond Jenna. You so deserve it.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

