‘Tis the Season: Christmas in the Regency

Nights of Passion

I just returned home after a whirlwind trip to Memphis to see my daughter in her first University of Memphis production. Very exciting—I hadn’t seen her except thru Skype since August. We had a great, if short, visit and now I’m looking forward to her return home for Christmas.

Christmas is literally just around the corner. And I am pushing myself to finish and release a Christmas novella that I’ve been working on for two years now. It’s called Beneath the Mistletoe, and is a sweet Regency full of Christmas traditions from two hundred years ago. And therein lies the rub with the book: Christmas during the Regency period was not at all like the Christmas celebrations we have today.

VICTORIAN CHRISTMAS DINNERWhile doing my research, I found out that most of our current ideas about how to celebrate Christmas originated in the Victorian era, or were simply not fashionable during…

View original post 293 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to ‘Tis the Season: Christmas in the Regency

  1. Melissa Keir says:

    It is interesting how much time has changed our holidays. I’m glad we have the many traditions today… it allows for everyone to be included in the holidays.

    Like

Leave a Reply

