The Joy of Writing Longhand

M__Klein's_hands,_writing__Wellcome_L0018664

Re-blogged from last week’s Nights of Passion post:

In this age of technology, where if you blink we’re in a new number of Windows, I have recently re-discovered the pleasure and benefit of writing my chapters out longhand. Last weekend, ironically on Labor Day, I was on a … Continue reading

This entry was posted in Craft, Jenna Jaxon and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Joy of Writing Longhand

  1. Daryl Devore says:

    I used to write faster with long hand, but my handwriting is atrocious. One of my high school teachers said I should be a doctor because I already wrote like one – unreadable!!! But as I am stuck on my latest novel, maybe I should try this and get it kick started again. I agree with the built in revision – when I wrote long hand I just wrote then fixed it as I typed it.
    FB Shared.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. lizaoconnor says:

    I have 3 novels handwritten during my time in Australia. They are my lost novels because I a) can’t read my writing and b) don’t wish to type words already written. I like to type new stories.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      LOL, Liza. I hope you someday can reclaim these lost novels. 🙂 I do have some problems now and again deciphering my handwriting, but if I can’t make it out, I just make it up based on the context clues. And I treat the handwritten as a rough draft, so I’m editing as I type it the first time. I truly think I write faster this way and I can write anywhere, even without a computer or electricity!

      Like

      • lizaoconnor says:

        I bought an old fashion manual typewriter so while I’m starving to death when the magnetic poles reverse, allowing the solar flares to fry out grids and bring down all the world’s modern societies, I can type my last story.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

