Reviews:To Read or Not to Read?

Re-blogged from Nights of Passion:

reading woman

Last week I asked the question, “Do you write reviews?” And it seemed to me that many authors don’t, in fact, write reviews, although readers seemed to want to share their thoughts on books somewhat more consistently.

This week I’m kind of asking the flip side: Do you read reviews?

To continue reading, click here.

This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reviews:To Read or Not to Read?

  1. I so sometimes. I’ve learned not to read bad reviews.

    Like

  2. E. Ayers says:

    As a reader, I read reviews. Not all all of them. But when you see a ton of lousy reviews, sometimes readers are trying to warn us. If there are 27 glowing reviews and one lousy one, I can almost tell you that review isn’t worth reading. But if there are 36 reviews and and 30% of the reviews are 2 stars or less and another 30% are three stars, I’ll look those reviews over before buying the book. (Especially when dealing with an author that you’ve always loved.) We all know that even the greatest authors who ever lived have horrible reviews. Reading the sample will tell more than anything a reviewer writes.

    As an author, I keep an eye on my reviews. I’ll never please everyone and I know that. But I often find my lousy reviews are from readers who just never understood the story. (Hmm, did you fall asleep and miss that scene on…) But on the flip side, some of my five star reviews are just as crazy. “There was no sex.” (I wonder what the reader thought they were doing when her clothes fell into a puddle on the floor?) Maybe I’m too critical of those writing reviews, but I find most bad reviews are so poorly written and do nothing more than show the reviewer’s stupidity.

    My favorite 1 star review: “I haven’t read the book yet, but I’m sure it will be great because I love this author.” (Gee, thanks!) My most maddening review was I think 2 stars because the reviewer couldn’t figure out how to give it two and a half for being a well-written book, and then proceeds to write a book report, including spoilers, condemning the entire story. Except the reviewer obviously knew nothing about the time period or a woman’s place in a man’s world. UGH!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      That’s why I don’t read them. I’m aware of star ratings, and I confess if its a 4 or 5 star I may take a look to see what they said, but otherwise I don’t read so I won’t brood, since you can’t talk to them and explain things. And everyone’s taste is different.

      Like

Leave a Reply

