Reviews: To Write or Not to Write

Last week on Nights of Passion I asked the question of readers and writers, Do you write reviews? If you didn’t weigh in then, please let your voice be heard now!

Nights of Passion

Book reviews

Do you write book reviews?

I ask this of both authors and readers and wonder how different the responses will be.

As a rule, I don’t write reviews unless I am simply blown away by a book and want to share my experience with others. These have, unfortunately, been few and far between.

Oh, I’ve written reviews because I’ve been asked to do it, and I have no problem with that, as long as the person asking understands that it will be my opinion, good or bad. But reviews that come spontaneously from me are usually few and far between.

Usually, if I write a review, it’s 3 stars or above. Mostly because I know reading is such a subjective business. Just because I didn’t like it won’t mean that you won’t. (Of course, just because I did like it won’t mean you will either, but I don’t mind putting the positive…

View original post 184 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Reviews: To Write or Not to Write

  1. I never wrote reviews before I started writing romances, but in the last year, I have greatly reduced the few that I did write. I will not swap reviews, even though I’ve been asked to a number of times. I do worry about Amazon retaliating, though it’s never happened to me.

    I agree with what Liz said too about giving bad reviews. Anymore, if I don’t like a book, I stop reading it. My time is too valuable.

    Like

  2. E. Ayers says:

    Amazon doesn’t like me writing reviews so I’m never certain they will stick. Besides, they seriously frown on reviews written by other authors. But occasionally I will write a review. If I hate a book, I won’t read it, therefore how can I write a review on something I haven’t read? Besides my mother told me if you can’t say something nice, keep your mouth closed.

    Like

  3. I write reviews rarely, and almost always for older books (I mean really older). That’s because I’ve had my reviews removed by Amazon several times, even though they were 4-star or above, with them citing that I’m reviewing my competitors’ work. It’s non-sensical on highly rated books, but it’s happened. One good friend ran into the problem and Amazon not only took down her reviews, but also threatened to take down her BOOKS! That really got me thinking. Also, I feel guilty if I can’t read and review every book by every colleague I know, and picking and choosing could cause hard feelings. Overall, I find it better to steer away from reviews, and I don’t expect them from colleagues. If non-writing readers leave reviews on my books, however, I’m happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. lizaoconnor says:

    I won’t write a review, or even finish a book if it less than a four. I agree with you, reading is subjective and I have no problem bringing to light a book I thought fabulous. However, I don’t have time to waste on books I don’t like. Writing a negative review is bad karma and is often unfair to an author, since while I may not like the book, others do.

    Like

Leave a Reply

