Jenna’s 411 ~ 7/29/2015

26572416_s

Welcome back to another week’s installment of Jenna’s 411! I know I was MIA last week but I was at RWA of course, giving you all the news from New York . This week life is back to normal. Sort of.

Book Chat ~ To Woo a Wicked Widow

rnc_bhnd2847a-300smThe exciting news, which you have heard if you read my RWA blog posts, is that I got requests for fulls from both the editor and the agent I pitched to in New York. So I’m going back through Widow, polishing, changing things just a bit, based on some feedback from the editor, and hopefully sending it off by the end of the week. Fingers crossed time. And I’ll also begin sending out queries out for the book next week.

Meanwhile, I’m also working  on Only a Mistress Will Do, Book 3 in The House of Pleasure series, which Kensington is very excited to see. 🙂

On the Home Front ~  License to…Drive

license-driversWhile I was  in New York last week, my younger daughter finally got her driver’s license! We’ve been putting it off because, well, she wasn’t really keen on driving, so we sort of let it slide. But with me gone, if she got the permit, she could drive herself to work and have a new measure of freedom. So her sister took her out on practice drives and took her to the test and third time was the charm. 🙂 We’re very proud, and she’s been driving quite a bit and likes that freedom a lot. Unfortunately, when she goes off to college this fall she won’t have a car, so I hope she remembers how to drive when she comes home at Christmas. 🙂

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

new-york-city-street-mapI have no sense of direction. This became something of a problem in New York  last week as I ended up walking probably a mile or two  out of my way, because I couldn’t figure out which way to turn down the very confusing streets. Not that this problem only occurs in NYC. If I’m driving anywhere and I don’t know which way to go, 9 times out of 10, I will choose the wrong way. Even if I think that and consciously go the other way, it’s still wrong. LOL So VZ Navigator on my phone is my best friend these days. 🙂

So, how’s your week been?

My New Releases! Click the picture for buy link.

BelovedsMarriage 2CrashingIntoLove3DBoxSet

This entry was posted in Beloveds, Jenna's 411, Promotion and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jenna’s 411 ~ 7/29/2015

  1. The manuscript requests are so exciting. You have lots of opportunities.

    Sorry about getting lost in NYC. I have a reasonable sense of direction, but a much better memory for maps and geography, so it usually turns out okay for me. Ken, on the other hand, brilliant as he is, can get lost in a paper sack. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      LOL I would never have thought that of Ken! Thank goodness he has you, Trish. 🙂 It sounds like you’ve got it covered. If I ever get to Calgary, I’ll let you show me around. If I can get to Calgary that is. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. lizaoconnor says:

    While NYC is a challenge because just when you settle in with the grid the road you want goes off the grid. However, the subway system is far more confusing, even when staring at a map. And one missed stop and you can be lost forever. But for driving, the true disaster is New Jersey. If you get off the main corridors, there are no grids. Just deer trails turned into roads. I call it the spaghetti grid. I can get lost for hours within two miles of my home. And while the main corridors also weave about, they at least continue forth with signage, although you will often drive by as you realize you needed to turn, and sometimes you must go miles before being able to turn around. But then sometimes your attempt to turn around will get you further lost because while there was an exit, there is no on ramp on the other side. I’m convinced the devil of Chaos paved the streets of New Jersey. If you come upon a square grid section, it is an anomaly and won’t last for long. Everyday the police sends out emails about lost teens. I always wonder if they are driving about NJ trying to find their way home.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I guess I won’t be driving in New Jersey either anytime soon. Unless I want to get lost. LOL How have you managed all this time, Liza? The only large city I can drive in is Philadelphia. It’s so well laid out I’ve never had a problem. I was lost in DC for two hours once, with a 3 month old in the car, going by landmarks I recognized–including the hotel I was trying to get to but couldn’t get to it. Now I park at Springfield Mall and take the metro in.

      Like

  3. D'Ann says:

    Congrats on your pitches!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks, D’Ann. I found I do better when I tell myself it doesn’t matter how I do. And it really doesn’t. I can always submit the book to Kensington or self-publish. With less at stake, I’m more relaxed and hopefully more genuine. I guess the proof is in the writing, though. Wish me luck!

      Like

  4. melissakeir says:

    I’m so excited for you about the requests for your manuscripts! Then goes the waiting game!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I’ve got to get this thing polished first. That’s the biggest hurdle, don’t you know, because each time I read through it, I find something I want to change. LOL I could tinker with it forever, probably, but I’ve got to settle down, do a definitive read, and then send her out. But, yes it is very exciting. Thanks so much, Melissa!

      Like

  5. Daryl Devore says:

    Lol – on sense of direction – I come from a part of Canada that is actually south of the US – Windsor, Ont is south of Detroit, Mich – because of the bend in the river – so my sense of where north is – is rather messed up.

    Like

Leave a Reply

