Spotlight on An Earl’s Queen by Lindsay Downs

An Earl's Queen.

Blurb- An Earl’s Queen

A mysterious lady. A secret well-kept. A foiled abduction. These and other events get Anthony, Earl of Wyatt, to start wondering who this Lady Chelsea truly is.

All he does know, she’s not the love from his childhood as that Chelsea had drowned ten years ago.

His mother, Lady Rosalind, invites her and Lady Iris, her mother, to visit their estate to participate in a house party. Once there things slowly start to make sense, or so Lord Anthony believes.

What none of them realize, everything isn’t as it seems.

Bit by bit the secret is revealed. Even before everything is laid out Lord Anthony knows he’s found his long lost, thought dead love, in the form of Lady Chelsea.

By a stroke of fortune for them, misfortune for someone else she is finally able to recall the events of that dreadful day years ago.

The only question which remains, is Lord Anthony able to keep Lady Chelsea safe until they wed or will other events prevent it.

Excerpt- An Earl’s Queen

“My darling Chelsea, earlier you said as long as you’re with me you’d be safe. This is one of those moments. If you don’t wish to continue to the pavilion I completely understand, we don’t have to,” he whispered into her ear.

As much as he desired to tease the swirl of her ear with the tip of his tongue, Tony knew it would destroy his words. That pleasure would have to wait until much later.

“Yes, I know, but sometimes words are easier to say, than do the action,” she said softly.

He could hear fear in her voice but confidence in her words.

“Then, you and I will proceed at your pace. If our mothers wish to go ahead then we’ll let them,” he told her, keeping his voice gentle.

Tony looked around. Between them and the pavilion the land was wide open, thusly no place to hide and steal a kiss not that he would have, considering her worried expression. Turning to look at his mother, he smiled.

He released his hand from Chelsea, earning another sweet smile from her.

“M’ ladies, why don’t you go ahead, and we’ll be along at Lady Chelsea’s pace?”

“Yes, as you both are safe from hidden spots, we will. Take your time,” Iris told him.

With a nod he stepped aside so they could pass easily then offered Chelsea his hand which she took. Now, he had to send her through this simple contact all the assurance and strength he could muster.

He studied her body as it started to relax then take a step forward, which became three then four before she stopped.

“That’s wonderful. Trust me, once you see the view, your fears will be put to rest,” he said, to help give her encouragement.

Slowly, he let her direct him forward until they were standing at the base of the steps leading up to the pavilion’s flooring.

The whole time had been a different and new experience for him. In the past he’d been the one guiding a lady, usually into a darkened corner for a tryst, even a short one, but now he was allowing himself to be directed.

“You’re doing marvelously. Only a few steps more, and you’ll see a view which will take your breath away,” Tony calmly said.

“Yes, I’m sure, but part of me wants to run away while another needs to go forward and face my fears,” she answered.

“Is there anything I can do to assist you, besides being with you?”

“Put your arm around my waist to prevent me from running away if I can’t take the last few steps,” she tried to order.

Never in all his years as a rakehell had a lady all but demanded him to hold her. In the past when it occurred, they usually ended up in bed together or hidden in a dark corner, but now he knew it was wrong.

“My dear, if I did that you’d not overcome your fear. I’ll continue to hold your hand but that’s all. These final steps you need to do on your own.”

Amazon Buy Links

US- http://tinyurl.com/nlmkkwk

UK- http://tinyurl.com/pvxocx2

AU- http://tinyurl.com/ohp2jrc

Author Photo Lindsay DownsBio-

I’ve been an avid reader ever since I was old enough to hold a red leather bound first edition copy of Sir Walter Scott’s The Lady of the Lake in my lap.

So it only seemed natural at some point in my life I take up pen and paper to start writing. Over time my skills slightly improved which I attribute to my English teachers.

My breakthrough came about in the mid 1970’s when I read a historical romance written by Sergeanne Golon, Angelique. This French husband and wife team opened my eyes to the real world of fiction. Stories about romance, beautiful damsels, handsome heroes and plots which kept me hooked. Of course, being a man, I had to keep my reading hidden from others as that wasn’t appropriate reading for men.

With this new found appreciation of the written word I took up other books and devoured them as a starving person would a plate of food. I them attempted to write again. I still wasn’t satisfied so I put it aside for years as other events entered my life.

Finally, in the early years of the new millennium I tried again to write and once again met with limited success. At least now I was able to get past the first page or two. Then, in 2006 a life changing event brought me back to my love, I took a job as a security officer. This allowed me plenty of time to read different genres.

My favourite was regency. As I poured through every one I could get my hands on I knew this could be something I wanted to attempt.

Since 2012 when my debut regency romantic suspense released I was hooked and have, except for a few contemporaries, focused on this genre.

Since 2012 I’ve lived in central Texas. I’m also a member of Romance Writers of America and their local chapter.

Where you can find me-

Facebook- http://tinyurl.com/pgq8vzz

Facebook Pages-         http://tinyurl.com/nresq5j

Twitter- @ldowns2966

LinkedIn- http://tinyurl.com/e8t56

Goodreads-http://tinyurl.com/prcdmml

Lindsay Downs-Romance Author- http://tinyurl.com/kvfz468

Amazon- http://tinyurl.com/ktem76cv

This entry was posted in Book Spotlights, Historical Romance, On Regency Romance, Promotion, Regency Romance, Spotlights and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Spotlight on An Earl’s Queen by Lindsay Downs

  1. melissakeir says:

    What a wonderful excerpt. I love that Chelsea is back!

    Like

  2. Thank you for having me on your blog to spotlight my newest release

    Like

Leave a Reply

