Jenna’s 411 ~ 7/01/2015

26572416_s

Welcome back to another week’s installment of Jenna’s 411! 

Book Chat ~ Pitch to Publication Contest

WIDOWI don’t normally enter writing contests. I’ve not had the best luck with them, with the exception of Finish the Damn Book last year. However, this one sounded too good to pass up.

It’s put on by Samantha Fountain and if I win, I get a month of editing from a freelance editor and the opportunity for the edited book to be sent to agents and (hopefully) to publishing houses. I’d been thinking about revising my Regency romance To Woo a Wicked Widow for pitching at RWA, so I started early, created a new Chapter 1 (new place for the book to begin), switched some of my characters’ motivations around, and came up with I what I hope is a fresh take on this story.  Here’s the new blurb:

Even widows need a little wickedness in their lives.

Although drawn to the vivacious Lady Cavendish, Nash, Earl of Wrotham, deplores her outrageous conduct. The beautiful woman was all but compromised by the ton’s most notorious rakehell, garnering her the nickname “The Wicked Widow.” It’s enough to take her off Nash’s list of possible wives. When her father blackmails him into wooing and wedding her, however, Nash reluctantly relents and vows to keep the lovely widow out of the rake’s bed, off the scandal sheets, and totally unaware of her father’s scheme for their marriage.

Charlotte, Lady Cavendish is overdue for happiness. Forced by her tyrannical father to wed a man she hated, the now widowed Charlotte swears never to marry again. A discrete affair, however, with the Earl of Wrotham would be an excellent compromise. Yet the dashing earl sets off alarm bells in her heart, and her vow of independence slips as she grows closer to Nash. But when she discovers his treachery and her father’s involvement, can she ever trust him enough to risk her heart and marry again?

 UPDATE!!!  I just received notification from Samantha at Pitch to Publication that my entry is in! So at least one (hopefully all five) of the editors I chose will get to read my query. I’ll find out this weekend if I get a request for a partial.  Going into writing cave to polish that book now!

On the Home Front ~  Paradise

ParadiseOceanClubThursday my whole family went to the beach. This was actually quite a production because my two daughters had to take the day off from work, we packed up the car, stopped for snacks, then headed to Fort Monroe, where my husband used to work. They have a pool/beach and restaurant called the Paradise Ocean Club and we hung out there for most of the afternoon–until the thunderstorm rolled through about 3:30. Very relaxing. I got to go in the water (pool not beach) and actually got some reading done (I’m about 3/4 through Echo In the Bone–Outlander #7).  I don’t get to take off and do that often, especially not all of us together. Fun day!

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

Gnarly_GolfI don’t play video games very much any more, but when I was into them, my favorite game was Gnarly Golf. It was made for the Apple IIGS and came out in 1989. I so wish it was still around and playable! I’m  not a golf fan, but this was a blast. The holes were insane: one was a jail cell,  a life raft, a pool table, and the 18th hole (which my husband got to but I never did) was the motherboard of a computer. The music was a funky little tune that sounded like a synthesized banjo that played constantly. LOVED IT!

So, how’s your week been?

My New Releases! Click the picture for buy link.

BelovedsMarriage 2CrashingIntoLove3DBoxSet

This entry was posted in Beloveds, Jenna's 411, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Jenna’s 411 ~ 7/01/2015

  1. D'Ann says:

    Congrats and good luck!

    Like

  2. melissakeir says:

    Best of luck on your contest entry! What a great opportunity! Keep us updated!

    Like

Leave a Reply

