Liza O’Connor, Faulty Memories, and The Hardest Love

The Hardest Love Tour Banner

Please help me welcome back guest author Liza O’Connor. Liza has just published the fifth book in her Long Road to Love series, The Hardest Love. I hope you enjoy Liza’s works as  much as I do!

Our memories How reliable are they?

Faulty MemoriesWhen I was in college, I roomed with a very strange woman, and together we made the strangest occupants of our dorm hall. Without even trying, we managed to terrify our dorm ‘mother’ into thinking we were witches. (or so I recall.)

I will state right now, I am not, nor ever have been a witch. However, my roomie later in life did become a good Wiccan. But there was no witchcraft going on during college. We were just two theatrical young women in a very bizarre college where classes would be shut down and all students corralled into giant auditoriums to watch fake healings. During that particular week, I took a puppet ostrich, a pillow, a blanket and the book Elmer Gantry to the never-ending pontification and healing event. There I read aloud the first page of the book over and over for a very long week.

I still remember the words: Elmer Gantry was drunk. Lovingly and pugnaciously, he was drunk.

If you google Elmer, you will discover that quote isn’t correct. However, it is what my brain recalls clearly, and I did read those lines over a hundred times.

So why aren’t they right? How could I read a sentence a hundred times, and still have it wrong? When did I start getting it wrong?

I probably had it correct when reading it directly from the book. But somewhere during the week, I stopped actually reading it. I’d just open the book and burst out in oration. Thus, it probably started to change then. I also remember the cult leader finally seeing me with my pillow blanket and puppet ostrich far back in the balcony and sending his security goons after us, thus requiring us to scatter.

I’ve no idea if that really happened. Before I found out how terrible memories are, I would have sworn it was true. But now, I’m not swearing to anything. The human brain is a terrible recorder of facts. If you want semi-factual memoirs, write it down as they happen. They’ll still be wrong, but that’s as close to factual as you’ll get to the truth. Unless you are willing to walk around with a video cams & mics attached to you. That would get you closer to the facts.

Turns out you will alter a memory every time you recall it. The more you recall it, the more you change it. Thus, the memories you remember the best are very likely your most inaccurate memories. I don’t know about you, but I find that concept highly annoying and unfair.

The Hardest Love (400x640)

The Hardest Love

A Long Road to Love Series

By Liza O’Connor

BLURB

THE HARDEST LOVE IS TO LOVE YOURSELF.

Sam Lancaster is a lost man. Since returning from the war in Iraq, his life has been spiraling out of control. Attempting to escape his troubles, first he moves to a small town of Denton, Iowa, where he becomes the sheriff and beats up the local trouble. When that ceases to work, he seeks peace at a Vermont hunting lodge, where he gets arrested for shooting fish rather than throwing them a line. After spending five months in a work camp to pay for his many crimes, he gets out only to discover Carrie is in danger—again. Convinced he’s the only one who can keep the little Pint Size safe, he rushes back to NYC.

During his absence, Mars has turned the Lancaster estate into a sanctuary for injured vets. Sam agrees to take a test that proves he has Swiss cheese memories that are inaccurate and dangerous. Even knowing this, his PTSD continues to worsen. While he’s deemed to be a poor candidate for a new method of self-correction, his many friends will try anything to save him.

When danger shows up at the Sanctuary, Mars gives him a mission to evaluate the potential threat from certain staff members. On top of his list is Sam’s new girlfriend. Figures!

EXCERPT

Sam Carrie AggieSam dreamt of rescuing Carrie from the bullet ridden car. There were over forty assassins, some on the rooftop, others in windows, and over a dozen on the ground. With a single gun, he took them out. When he opened the door to secure Carrie, she ran past him and into the arms of Dan.

After she ended her ‘Near Death’ kiss with her husband, she turned to him and her eyes rounded in fear. Sam followed her gaze. Damn it! I’ve left one assassin alive. He raised his gun, aimed and click. Out of bullets.

With only one option remaining, he jumped in front of the slow-moving bullet. Pain exploded in his chest.

Sam sat up, his heart pounding. As the pounding continued, he sought another source of the noise. Pissed that he’d just died for unrequited love, he stormed to the door and yanked it open. “What?” he snapped.

A tall, muscular young blonde grinned at him. “Not bad. Not bad at all.”

Her words made no sense. Was he still dreaming? He followed her gaze to his crotch. Shit. He’d gone to bed naked. He chucked her under the chin bringing her eyes back to his face. “Is there some reason you’ve woken me in the wee hours of the morning? I’m a guest, not a patient.”

She laughed. “I’m to take you to see Carlos.”

“Oh, sorry I yelled at you. Come in, I’ll be dressed in a second.”

He grabbed the pants lying on the floor and put them on.

“You prefer commando, eh?”

Sam glanced over at her. While she was a bit plain, he liked her smile…and her ability to appreciate a well-toned body. “Are you Carlos’s physical therapist, by chance?”

“Use to be, but he prefers Colin.” She grabbed his shirt from the floor and tossed it to him.

While in the process of buckling his belt, he still managed to snatch the shirt from the air and drop it to the bed.

“Quick reflexes,” she said with admiration. “How do you keep in such good shape?”

He shrugged. “Just normal stuff. Yank drunks out of their cars and cuff them. Kick the hell out of the local thugs. Carry grown men down two flights of stairs.” Curious to see if he’d terrified her, he glanced up. Nope. She still wore a gorgeous smile.

“So you’re a cop with martial arts training who takes care of his drunken buddies?”

He pulled on his shirt. “Not bad. I was a sheriff with martial arts training who helped my sick buddy to the car so I could get him to a hospital before he died.”

“And did you?”

“Of course. Why would you think otherwise?”

“You seemed a bit grumpy at the door.”

 

BUY LINKS

The Hardest Love

Amazon

Book Five

 

Other books in the A Long Road to Love series

Book One

Worst Week Ever

Amazon

“Love this book and couldn’t stop laughing from beginning to end.” 5 stars – Alves – Amazon

Book Two

Oh Stupid Heart

Amazon

“Be warned though, this book is completely different from The Worst Week Ever. Yes, there is still humor, dry wit, situations that you would think…NOT AGAIN but this one humanizes Trent more.” 5 stars – Brian’s Mom – Amazon

Book Three

Coming to Reason

Amazon

Once again, Ms. O’Connor has written a brilliant book about the complexities of relationships, good and bad. Again, to me, the book is the best break up book EVER and it left my heart singing in the end. Best.Book.Ever…

Book Four

Climbing out of Hell

Amazon

In typical @Liza0Connor fashion, crazy things happen which make you laugh out loud.”

 

ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Liza O’Connor

Liza lives in Denville, NJ with her dog Jess. They hike in fabulous woods every day, rain or shine, sleet or snow. Having an adventurous nature, she learned to fly small Cessnas in NJ, hang-glide in New Zealand, kayak in Pennsylvania, ski in New York, scuba dive with great white sharks in Australia, dig up dinosaur bones in Montana, sky dive in Indiana, and raft a class four river in Tasmania. She’s an avid gardener, amateur photographer, and dabbler in watercolors and graphic arts. Yet through her entire life, her first love has and always will be writing novels. She loves to create interesting characters, set them loose, and scribe what happens.

 

FOR MORE INFORMATION ABOUT

LIZA O’CONNOR & UPCOMING BOOKS:

Liza’s Blog and Website   Facebook   Twitter

This entry was posted in Book Spotlights, Guest Bloggers, Guest Posts, Promotion and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Liza O’Connor, Faulty Memories, and The Hardest Love

  1. Daryl Devore says:

    Sounds like another great by from Liza O’Connor!

    Like

    • lizaoconnor says:

      It covers a serious topic: PTSD, but still manages to have funny one liners and two, no, three love stories. And Sam goes to work camp prison for shooting fish. That’s kind of funny. Fortunately, it didn’t get logged as a violent offense, or he would have lost his right to carry a concealed weapon.

      Like

  2. melissakeir says:

    I can’t believe you were in a school like that. If you had been with me in high school, we’d have been in so much trouble! *wink*. There’s something fun about poking someone else with a sharp stick!

    By the way, I love this book but I’m sad to see it end… Maybe Dan’s daughter needs a book!

    Like

    • lizaoconnor says:

      Yes, that is possible Destiny is a grown woman now. And later there will be little children from Carrie, Sam, and Mars. Who knows, even Joey might get married. And then Coco is getting out jail in a year. I can think of a great deal of reasons I might need to write another book next year.

      Like

  3. D'Ann says:

    Witches? Love it!

    Like

    • lizaoconnor says:

      I was about to scold you there are no witches in my book, but realized you were referring to a misconception that occurred when I was in college. The reason why the dorm mother jumped to that conclusion was because my blow dryer always smelled like burnt hair and my roomie wore dark caftans, eyelined her very strange eyes,(you could see the white around her eyes in all directions) and she preferred black fingernail polish. But at the time, she wasn’t a witch. She was just weird. I liked her a great deal. Made me almost feel normal in comparison.

      Like

  4. Great series! Can’t wait to read this one! Congrats, Liza!

    Like

    • lizaoconnor says:

      For destroying our belief that our memories a real. To be honest, I’m not happy about that.

      Like

      • Jenna Jaxon says:

        I somehow don’t think you’ve destroyed our belief, Liza, but perhaps made us aware that memories are not necessarily the truth, the whole truth and nothing but the truth. Thanks for coming by, Collette!

        Liked by 1 person

      • lizaoconnor says:

        The positive about discovering our memories aren’t totally accurate is by knowing this we can attempt to bridge the differences between our memories of an event and someone else’s, since we no longer have such certainty we are 100 percent right. That alone could save some marriages.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Daisy Banks says:

    Congrtulations on the new book. It looks fabulous. The cover is gorgeous too. Interesting post and wow that was some college you studied at. A very interesting post and yes, I think you are right about the tweaks minds put on memories.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Daisy. That was a fascinating post, but now I look back over my memories and wonder, “Is that really what happened?” 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • lizaoconnor says:

        Probably wasn’t, but it might be generally true. Call up the people you recall in the event and ask them for their version. However, be aware, I lost a friend by doing that. Our memories were irreconcilably different. She recalled me kidnapping a cute guy. I had no memory of such. So I contacted the cute guy and asked him if he remembered me kidnapping him. He didn’t, but said it sounded like fun. I told my friend it never happened and she defriended me, but only after a major scolding. I share that story during this blog tour as well.

        Like

    • lizaoconnor says:

      That’s not just some wacky theory of mine, that’s really the truth. Our memories have been proven to be faulty and easily corruptible. But it’s actually good news for Sam, because he’s got PTSD and needs to change his memories. To my memory, it was a very strange college, more of a cult. I left it and went to a normal college my last two years and always failed to put it on my resume in fear it would be grounds not to hire me. But it gave me lots of fun stories, only now, I wonder if they were true or not.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

