Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 3/08/15 Beloveds

 

 

weekend_writing_warriors_header3

Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors!

I’m finally back with my current WIP, a medieval short novella, called Beloveds. It has the same characters as my Time Enough to Love trilogy, so if you’ve been wanting more about Alyse, here you go. There has been some very creative punctuation demonstrated in this snippet.

Please forgive the still very rough first draft. I was out of town last week and playing catch-up all this week, but I  sear I’m finishing this and sending it off to my beta readers this week!  Meanwhile, this snippet continues where we left off last time, with Alyse discovering Thomas in her bed chamber.

7992408_m

“Is it really you?” Strength welled within Alyse and she struggled to sit up.

“As ever I was.” His gaze swept down her body and his eyes darkened with the desire she remembered well.

“Oh, Thomas.” She threw her arms around him, sighing when they embraced the hard-muscled chest she had lain upon so often. “I thought you dead, my love. Did I but dream?”

That’s all for this week. Hope you enjoyed it!

If you want to read my medieval  series, Betrothal, Betrayal, and Beleaguered before Beloveds releases (if not, Beloveds will have spoilers)  they are all available on AmazonSmashwords, and ARe .

And don’t forget to check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

betrothal_1600x2400_96dpibetrayal_logobeleaguered3

 

This entry was posted in Beloveds, Medieval Romance, On Time Enough to Love, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 3/08/15 Beloveds

  1. Gem says:

    Sweet and poignant interlude. I’m guessing it’s the calm before the storm. 😀

    Like

  2. Kate Warren says:

    Just a thought here: what if you changed that last part to “Do I but dream?” It seems to me that she’d be more afraid that she’s dreaming he’s there, than wondering if she only dreamed he was dead.

    Welcome back, Jenna! 🙂

    Like

  3. What’s the dream and what’s the reality here? Very intriguing and I too love the language! Great snippet.

    Like

  4. lizaoconnor says:

    I’m intrigued!

    Like

  5. elainecsc2013 says:

    No one can say that you don’t know how to do a cliffhanger. We’re all biting our fingernails to know if it’s only a dream.

    Like

  6. That was perfect. Lovely 8.

    Like

  7. Lovely. “If you were but a dream. . .” a song from years ago.” To find your loved one alive must be a joy.

    Like

  8. Aaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh! No. No. No. You can’t leave me hanging there! lol I can hardly wait to read this one!

    Like

  9. “As ever I was” touched me. The language in historical books is so freaking romantic. great snippet

    Like

  10. melissakeir says:

    I do hope it’s not a dream….

    Like

  11. This is a very gentle passage, full of promise. Nicely done.

    Like

  12. Carrie-Anne says:

    That’s a fantastic dream come true!

    Like

Leave a Reply

