Jenna’s 411 ~ 12/03/14

Welcome! I’m back with this week’s installment of Jenna’s 411.

Book Chat

120px-Paperback-stackFinally, some big news in my book world!  I have gotten the rights back to my erotic romantic comedy Almost Perfect! 🙂  So I’m working diligently with my fantastic editor Danielle Fine to revise it and get it ready for re=release in December.  I’m adding two short stories with the same characters, just to keep the work fresh, and I’ll have a brand new cover–a bit more sexy than before. Look for that cover reveal next week!  Pam and Roger have never been so hot!

 

On the Home Front:  Black Friday Madness

DCUSA_Gallery10_TargetBlackFriday_WikipediaFor the first time since my children were small, I braved the masses to shop on Black Friday.  For the past 8 or 9 years Black Friday has been given over to addressing Christmas cards, however, my eldest daughter wanted me to go shopping with her this year, so I did.  We started at 7AM (not a terrible hour) but we didn’t get home until 7 PM!  Talk about shop ’til you drop!  I spent all day Saturday in recovery. LOL  But I did get over half of my Christmas Shopping done and my daughter was very happy with our mother-daughter day out.  ‘Tis the season for wishes to come true.

 

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

FreakshowI once did costumes for a music video.  I was in grad school, working in the  costume shop, and a call came in that some film company needed a costumer for a music video.  I said, “Sure, sounds like fun.”  Wrong.  That experience convinced me that I wanted nothing to do with film.  Hurry up and wait was an understatement.  I have never had any desire to do that again, but it was a unique experience.  BTW–the song was “Freak Show on the Dance Floor” by the Barkays. 🙂

 

Well, that’s it for this week.  Happy holidays, and I’ll see you next week!

This entry was posted in Jenna's 411 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Jenna’s 411 ~ 12/03/14

  1. Yay on getting the rights back! Your mother -daughter day sounds wonderful. I hope it becomes a tradition for you and her. 🙂

    Like

  2. melissakeir says:

    I didn’t do the Black Friday shopping too bad. Hubby and I did run out and do a little shopping on Friday afternoon, but it was a chance to get out of the house after having no heat for over 24 hours!

    Like

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I actually went out on Black Friday this year, after never really doing it. I had to buy a last-minute bat mitzvah gift for my rabbi and rebbetzin’s third daughter and fourth child, and picked up some open stock colored pencils and an 11 by 14 sketchpad at the independently owned art store.

    Looking forward to the updated version of Almost Perfect!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I rarely do Balck Friday any more and wouldn’t have done it this year except for my daughter specifically asking me to go. I’m more into shopping at little boutique stores and finding unique gifts. Of course, my younger daughter works at a local retail clothing store, so I do shop there often.

      Like

  4. Sounds very busy and crowded. I’m glad you had fun!

    Like

  5. lizaoconnor says:

    I was forced into working on costumes to pass a course that had nothing to do with costumes. (I was taking interpretation of literary works.) They just needed slave labor for the drama department’s historical play. Since I declared no knowledge of sewing (total lie) they set me to hemming, but somehow I hemmed all my dresses too short. However, since they didn’t know who hemmed what dress, they didn’t know who to yell at. This is what happens when you have slaves rather than volunteers. Or is does when I’m enslaved. I rebel. I had a really busy schedule and didn’t appreciate have 3 hours taken from each of my days for three weeks. The mis-hemming started in week two when I also caught strep throat from one of the other slaves.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I must admit, we do approve slave labor in the theatre. We bribe our classes with extra credit and sometimes just take the whole class int the theatre to work. The show must go on: the ends justify the means in this case. 🙂 Sorry it was a bad experience for you, though. Theatre is supposed to be fun.

      Like

  6. D'Ann says:

    After spending years in retail, I swore I’d never shop on BF, but this year, I did. It wasn’t that bad, and I got a few deals. A music video? Sweet!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      We didn’t run into crowds either, thank goodness. 🙂 My daughter got more deals than I did, although we both made out greath at the Bath & Body: buy 3 get 3 free! My house now smells like gingerbread. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

