Jenna’s 411 ~ 11/26/14

Welcome! I’m back with this week’s installment of Jenna’s 411.

Book Chat

120px-Paperback-stackEven less news on the book front for me this week.  I’ve been working on edits to the book I should be getting the rights back to next week.  I’m hoping to re-release it by the end of December.  Next week, if I’ve received the rights, there should be a cover reveal right here. 🙂

 

On the Home Front:  Sad News

Sebastian in St. Thomas

Sebastian in St. Thomas

I am so saddened to report that our sick kitty, Sebastian, passed away on Sunday night.  We had taken him to the vet Saturday morning because he was still not eating and so  very weak. The vet said he had gone into kidney failure and he tried to give him fluids to maybe reverse it, but didn’t hold out much hope.  We got the call Monday morning.

Although we are heartbroken at his passing, we are so grateful that he came into our lives even for a little while.  As I said in my first 411 he was a charmer and very debonair–I thought of him as the Cary Grant of cats.  He loved water, would jump into the bath tub after one of us had taken a shower and lick the water from the spigot. Same thing in the bathroom sink.  We called him the “Water Boy” when we petted his wet little head.

Sleep well, good boy.  Rest in Peace.

 

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

Meet Precious

Meet Precious

I suppose it’s no surprise that I am a cat person.  Growing up I had only three dogs but hundreds of cats.  After I got married, one morning my husband and found a young cat, a gray tabby, lounging on my husband’s motorcycle.  We adopted him and Henry became our first pet together. Then we decided Henry needed a companion and adopted Ellie, a brown tabby. At the end of that summer I happened to be in an animal shelter and saw a sweet black and white kitty that I just had to rescue, and Kodi (short for Kodak) came to live with us.  Our menagerie was complete we thought until a litter of five kittens whose mother had died insisted that we adopt them. So we ended up with eight cats in one very small house. That was a very   long time ago and all of those cat have passed on except one.  One of the litter is still with us:  Precious.  She was 21 years old in April–even older than my children.  And still going strong.

Well, that’s it for this week.  I hope to have better and brighter news for you next time.

 

This entry was posted in Jenna's 411 and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Jenna’s 411 ~ 11/26/14

  1. sjmn60 says:

    Awww, Jenna, I’m so very sorry about Sebastian. We’ve lost a number of furry babies and the hurt never gets easier to bear. We just went through several weeks of worry over one of our present kitties (same problem as Sebastian – his kidneys), but for now, he seems to be out of the woods, though he’s still dealing with related issues. There for a while, we thought sure we’d lose him and tried to prepare ourselves.
    They do wrap themselves around our hearts.
    Sending thoughts and prayers and a big hug – Màiri Norris.

    Like

  2. danijace says:

    Jenna, so sorry to hear about Sebastian. He was lucky to have a wonderful home with you and your family.

    Like

  3. lizaoconnor says:

    It’s always sad with a great cat dies. My grand Main coon died of kidney troubles as did it’s mother. It was kind of you to take the cat in. You are a great pet mom. If I reincarnate into a cat, I hope you’ll adopt me too.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I would adopt you in the blink of an eye, Liza. I think I’d recognize your personality, even in a cat. And thank you! That is such a sweet compliment. Kidney disease seems to be a big issue with cats.

      Like

  4. I’m so sorry that your family lost a kitty. I’m more a dog person myself, but I love watching cat videos on FB. If Ken wasn’t allergic, we’d have a pet, I’m sure.

    Wishing you better days ahead.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Maybe you could have fish? 🙂 We had them for a while and they’re pretty to look at and do have personalities. We had hoped that Sebastian would get to experience snow for the first time. Being from St. Thomas that was one form of water he hadn’t seen. Thanks so much for the well wishes. I’m hoping for better days too.

      Like

  5. Lola Karns says:

    Sorry for your loss. Our pets become so much a part of our lives. Even my fluffy ex-stray hopped up to say goodbye.

    Like

  6. Daryl Devore says:

    I’m a cat person too. We just adopted a feral stray.

    Deepest condolences. Losing a loved one (fur covered or human) is very hard.

    Like

  7. melissakeir says:

    I’m sorry about the loss of your furbaby. My cat loved to do that too. I’ve got photos of him in the sink. I think that pet people deserve a special place in heaven. We have two dogs and one cat now, but growing up, I had one dog and 9 cats. My sisters are all cat people too so our families have many!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      My family have always been cat people. My husband’s family were dog people because his mom was afraid of cats. But we’ve had cats from the beginning and after his mom passed, his sister adopted like 8 cats. LOL I love their independence–and they are so dang funny sometimes. 🙂

      Like

  8. Sending mega hugs your way. I’m glad he had you in his life.

    Like

  9. D'Ann says:

    {{{hugs}}} I am a cat (all animal) lover and it hurts to say goodbye. I rescued a kitten from the road the other day and she already owns my heart.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks, D’Ann. I know you are a wonderful animal advocate. It does hurt to say goodbye, but we must and carry on. I bet the new kitten is a sweetie and the luckiest kitten to be found by you.

      Like

Leave a Reply

