Alphabet Post: V is for Vamp

Marilyn_Monroe_in_Some_Like_it_Hot_trailer_cropped

No, not vampire, but something just as sexy.

A vamp is a seductive woman, one who uses her sexual attractiveness for the seduction and manipulation of others, according to the Urban Dictionary.

Think of all those Bond girls like Honey Ryder, Plenty O’Toole, Mary Goodnight, and Alison DoodyPussy Galore (the name says it all!).  They were vamps trying to seduce the #1 sexy agent of all time.

532px-Ona_Munson_in_Gone_with_the_WindIn literature the role has also been called the femme fatale, “a woman who, while not necessarily attractive, has a certain allure (usually this striking, exotic, overtly sexy glamour), and is usually a heartless, man-eating seductress.”

 

I always think of Belle Watling in Gone With the Wind.  Or some of Mae West’s Mae_West_LATroles in film.  The femme fatale is usually the counterpoint to the fresh, wholesome and naïve ingenue role.

 

 

Back in the day, The Sonny & Cher Show had a feature called “Vamp” that had very campy skits about different vamps throughout history.  Below is  a sample I thought you might enjoy. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Alphabet Post and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Alphabet Post: V is for Vamp

  1. melissakeir says:

    My family name is Watling… I loved Belle in Gone with the Wind… Always wanted to be a Vamp or Cher. I couldn’t remember which would be more fun!

    Like

  2. I loved that segment of Sonny & Cher. They really were campy with it. A vamp is also part of a shoe, but that’s not nearly so interesting. I always enjoy your alphabet posts.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      It’s also a part of a song, so I read, but yes, I chose to highlight the more interesting meaning of the word. 🙂 That was one of their more fun segments in the show. I’ve still got that song running through my head. LOL

      Like

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love the silent film Vamps, like Theda Bara, Nita Naldi, Pola Negri, and Greta Garbo. They represent something so much more interesting, dangerous, and alluring than the so-called good girls.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I think you’re right there, Carrie-Anne. The ingenue roles are much harder to play because they are so limited. And let’s confess it–we all prefer the naughty to the nice, boy or girls. They’re always so much more fun!

      Like

  4. Daryl Devore says:

    Ah drat – now I’m gonna have the song in my head all day. As soon as I saw the title for your post my head went – She was a scamp and a tramp….

    Like

  5. lizaoconnor says:

    My Lydia Bennet is a bit of a vamp, although she loves the men she takes advantage of, just not as much as she loves herself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

