Jenna’s 411

Welcome! I’m back with this week’s installment of Jenna’s 411.

Sorry I’ve been AWOL the past two weeks, working on my production.  But now the play is over and I’m hopefully back on track. So on with a brand new, long delayed 411.

tetl-frontXBook Chat

In the midst of my hectic life, I read a post on one of my loops that the 2015 RITA awards contest was open for entries.  This is  the RWA’s Oscars for published works, except you can self-nominate your own books. So I did!   I nominated Time Enough to Love for the 2015 RITA awards. 🙂 I’ll find out in March if I made it to the finals, and while I’m not holding my breath, it’s really exciting to be part of this contest.  Wish me luck!

 

Podium1On the Home Front:  Madame President

This past Saturday my local RWA chapter held elections for the chapter Board for 2015.  I’d already served on the Board a couple of years ago for two years as VP of Programs.  But this year, as we are a small chapter and RWA rules about who can run for office are rather strict, I ended up being nominated for and elected President for the next year.  It’s going to be a challenge, given my work schedule and my writing, but the alternative was unacceptable (possible disbanding of the chapter) so I stepped up and will make the chapter one of my priorities in 2015.  Again, wish me luck!  I’m pretty excited about it, especially as I dislike speaking in front of  groups, so it will be an education in public speaking which will probably do me good. I will keep you posted.

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

I spent my honeymoon under water. That’s right, my husband and I went to Florida forFlickr_-_JennyHuang_-_I_love_deep_blue two weeks to scuba dive on our honeymoon.  It was absolutely fantastic–we did 14 dives in 14 days, usually 2 dives per day.  We dove on things as diverse as reefs, a Rolls Royce, a sunken ship.  And our last dive was a “shark dive” where we were supposed to go down 140 feet to swim with sharks.  An equipment malfunction caused us to miss that dive, but it was exciting nonetheless.  That was my last dive, and it’s still a fantastic memory.

 

 

That’s all  for this week.  Let’s hope this next week is as productive!  Come back next Wednesday for more  news from Jenna!

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Jenna's 411 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Jenna’s 411

  1. You are one busy lady!!! Hang in there!

    Like

  2. melissakeir says:

    Our RWA chapter is also small and facing similar problems. I wish I had learned how to clone myself!

    Like

  3. lizaoconnor says:

    Oh Jenna, you so need a clone! or Five. I’ve no idea how you do it all. You make me feel like a slug.

    Like

  4. Daryl Devore says:

    Do we now have to address you as Madame President? Hey – maybe you can get some cute secret service protection. Congrats on election and good luck at RITA’s.

    Like

  5. Good luck in the RITAs, Jenna!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

