Exposed to Passion: Interview With Gemma Brocato

 

 

 

 

 

ETP Cover

Hi, Jenna. Thanks so much for inviting me to visit today. I’m very excited to introduce myself and my new release, Exposed To Passion, to your readers.

So happy to have you on the blog, Gemma, even if you are in the hot seat now. 🙂

1. I am a fanatic about my character names. Are the character names special in any way? Typically my characters aren’t named any special way. It sounds a little crazy to say that as I’m building a character, they’ll whisper a name in my ear, but that’s generally what happens. There are a couple of special characters in Exposed To Passion that I had a specific reason for their name. For example, the villainess, Sherry, is named for a woman who did a friend wrong and a major secondary character was named for a friend’s daughter

2. What was your process for writing this book? Is this different or the same as other books you’ve written? This is the first book I wrote using Michael Hague Story Mastery process. I completed a six stage plot structure, then filled out forms detailing the story arcs for the main characters. I can’t believe how easy it was to complete the book once I was armed with that information. Even writing the synopsis was easy for Exposed.

3.   Do you have plans for a sequel to this book? This series is based on the five sense, and this is book #3. I’m done with book #4 and will be sending it to my editor any day, and I’m working on the Story Mastery process for book #5. Plus, I have a short story based on the characters from boo #2, Hearts In Harmony that will release shortly.

4. Who was the first romance author and book you read? I discovered Georgette Heyer in the high school library and she became like a magnet for me from then on. It was so long ago I can’t remember the title, but each week when I went to the library for quiet study hall I hit that section of the shelves first.

5. Who has been the greatest influence on your writing? My Midwest Romance Writers chapter mates and my critique partners. I have learned so much from these talented women and they have helped me refine and hone my writing style. I’d be lost without them.

6. If you could have one wish granted just for you (not world peace, LOL), what would you wish for? I’d wish that every human being could experience the kind of love my characters have. Everyone deserves a happily ever after.

Now, Lightning Round:

Tea or coffee? Both. Coffee in the morning then I switch to tea in the afternoon.

Boxers, briefs or commando? I like a hybrid of the boxer-brief. All that tight cotton hugging a man’s butt and upper thigh.

Would you rather skydive or scuba dive? Scuba dive. I took a training session in a pool on vacation once and discovered I really loved that floating sensation.

Would you rather vacation in Hawaii, Vegas or London? London (used to live there and miss it horribly)

And at last, Exposed to Passion!

They walked through the shadows individually. Will they emerge into the light together?

Leading a vagabond life as a curator for a traveling photography exhibit translates to a lot of bad days for Rikki Salerno. But her trouble doubles when a careless high school student shoves her into a marsh. Being rescued by teacher Sam Kerrigan should have made things better, but Rikki’s inability to confess her true identity casts a shadow over their budding affair.

When Sam refuses an overly aggressive parent’s marriage proposal, she’s determined to ruin him. Not only does she doctor photos to make it look like Sam’s behaved inappropriately in front of students, she hacks the foundation website to reveal Rikki’s true identity. Faster than the blink of a shutter, Rikki’s focus changes from pursuing her full-color future to the black and white necessity of clearing Sam’s name.

Excerpt:

“Holy cow! Consider me seduced.” She didn’t recognize her own voice. Desire rasped through it, whispery and thick at the same time. Allowing her finger to slip from the steamy confines of his mouth, he pressed a kiss to her palm, then released his hold. She curled her hand into a fist around the kiss he’d left, hoping to hold onto the heat and lingering sensation.

“Oh, Jesus. I’m sorry. I shouldn’t have kissed you like that. It was too fast, wasn’t it? I mean, we only just met…but I thought, I mean, you seemed to want…and you didn’t say no. Christ, I’m so sorry.” Sam’s tone rattled with a misplaced apology. “I have no excuse. I’m a horndog.”

He eased her away from his chest and helped her to sit up, then pushed himself upright and scooted a respectful distance from her.

The apology in his tone and the loss of his body heat hit her like a cold slap. His words stung. He regretted kissing her. The tingly pulses zipping from her fingertip to her heart did nothing to tamp down the hurt. She hadn’t wanted him to stop. Normally the queen of snarky retorts, words failed her now.

Buy Links

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Exposed-Passion-Senses-Gemma-Brocato-ebook/dp/B00MMMGY18

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/exposed-to-passion-gemma-brocato/1120138660?ean=9781616506162

iTunes:  https://itunes.apple.com/us/book/exposed-to-passion/id908402553?mt=11&uo=4

Kobo: http://store.kobobooks.com/en-US/ebook/exposed-to-passion

Kensington: http://www.kensingtonbooks.com/book.aspx/30951?category=313085

 

Rafflecopter Giveaway for one US Winner Only.

Prize Pic

One Digital Copy of Exposed To Passion, One Leather Brighton London Flat Pouch, Assorted Picture Frames, $25 Amazon Gift Card, $15 Starbucks Gift Card. For one US Winner only. Prize package valued at $185.00

Runs 10/20/2014 – 11/20/2104   To enter click here.

 

_DSC5150_SmallAbout the Author:

Gemma’s favorite desk accessories for many years were a circular wooden token, better known as a ’round tuit,’ and a slip of paper from a fortune cookie proclaiming her a lover of words; some day she’d write a book. All it took was a transfer to the United Kingdom, the lovely English springtime, and a huge dose of homesickness to write her first novel. Once it was completed and sent off with a kiss, even the rejections addressed to ‘Dear Author’ were gratifying.

After returning to America, she spent a number of years as a copywriter, dedicating her skills to making insurance and the agents who sell them sound sexy. Eventually, her full-time job as a writer interfered with her desire to be a writer full-time and she left the world of financial products behind to pursue an avocation as a romance author.

Social Media Links:

Gemmabrocato.com

https://www.facebook.com/gemma.brocato

https://twitter.com/GemmaBrocato

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/7229886.Gemma_Brocato

http://www.wattpad.com/user/GemmaBrocato

https://plus.google.com/+GemmaBrocato/posts

Also By Gemma Brocato:

Cooking Up Love

Hearts In Harmony

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Exposed to Passion: Interview With Gemma Brocato

  1. melissakeir says:

    Wonderful interview. It sounds like a vindictive parent is trying to get in the way of true love…

    Like

  2. lizaoconnor says:

    Interesting interview

    Like

  3. D'Ann says:

    Nice interview!

    Like

  4. Two of my favorite ladies in one place! I tweeted.

    Like

  5. Great post, I tweeted.

    Like

  6. gemmabrocato says:

    Good morning, Jenna. Thanks so much for inviting me over today. I really appreciate the spotlight you’ve shine on me and Exposed To Passion. I loved the interview questions and really enjoyed answering them.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Gemma, for allowing me to be part of your fabulous Exposed to Passion tour! So happy to help get the word out about your wonderful book! Hope to see you back here soon. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

