Jenna’s 411

Welcome to this week’s installment of Jenna’s 411.

Sorry I’m late again, but I’m in another production which means more late rehearsals! So on with a brief 411.

 

tetl-frontBook Chat

My most exciting news this week is that I have entered Time Enough to Love into Romance Writers of America’s RITA Award competition. This is the Oscars of the romance world, so I’m pretty psyched, even though I’m realistic about my chances. Still, to be in the competition alone is a big deal to me–I usually don’t do contests, but I thought Time Enough to Love deserved a chance, despite the extremely long odds.  I’ll keep you informed about my little book’s progress along the way.  Wish me luck!

 

eyeballsOn the Home Front:  Halloween

Time for Halloween treats at my house.  We used to have big parties for Halloween when my girls were young and I loved making all these scary treats.  I get to do  that again this week because my theatre group at school is having a party on Wednesday, and I’m taking some good and scary treats, like these ghoulish eyeballs.  I LOVE Halloween!

 

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

The_boy-friend_1954bwayEven though I hate being on stage (I’m a director, not an actor), I did play Maisie, the second lead, in a community theatre production of The Boyfriend one summer when I was home from college.  I decided I wanted the role and auditioned my heart out to get it.  And I actually had fun!  Got to dance the Charleston with one of my old flames from high school and even better, didn’t suffer from stage fright at all. 🙂  I’m really glad I got to have that experience, although I’ll take the director’s any time over the limelight.

That’s all  for this week.  Short and sweet.  Come back next Wednesday for more (hopefully lots more) news from Jenna. 🙂

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Jenna's 411 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Jenna’s 411

  1. D'Ann says:

    Sorry so late! Good, good luck in the RITAs! Rooting for you!

    Like

  2. melissakeir says:

    Good Luck with the Rita’s! We have a big party coming up at school on Friday. Still don’t have a costume yet, but then again… I have another parent conference after school and then a dr appointment, can’t go too crazy!!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      You have to let us know what your costume is! If I have time I want to be a zombie, but as usually my default costume is “harried director.” LOL I have gone as a witch before, but who know where that costume is. 🙂 Have fun on your busy day, Melissa!

      Like

  3. You final, and I WILL be there! Heck, I may be there anyway. 😉

    Like

  4. I love these little 411 segments. I was an actor in college, not a director. Then I got involved with the Renaissance Faires in California and after acting for a few years there, became the assistant director for 300 actors. I ran around like a crazy person for 8 weeks, twice a year. I don’t think I was as good an AD as I was an actress, but it paid better. 🙂 I’ll bet you’re a great director. I’d love to see you in action sometime.

    Good luck with the RITAs. Somebody’s got to win; why not you?

    Happy Halloween!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks Trish! 🙂 My life is super crazy right now so I don’t have time to enjoy anything really, but I’ll end up doing something for Halloween.. Thanks also for the luck for the RITAs. I’ll certainly need a lot of it!

      Like

  5. lizaoconnor says:

    Opps, forgot the most important comment: Best of luck with the contest. This series does deserve its moment of fame.

    Like

  6. Daryl Devore says:

    Good luck at RITAs – Time Enough to Love should kick everyone else’s butt!
    Tweeted.

    Like

  7. lizaoconnor says:

    I prefer acting over directing. But I’ve stopped doing both. All I do now is publish and promote. and hike with Jess.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I wish I could just write, publish and promote, but I have two kids in college, so that may not happen for a while. 🙂 If i only have to do one production per semester, that’s not too bad, but two back to back is just a killer! I love it that so many romance writers have a theatrical background of some sort. 🙂

      Like

  8. Good luck in the RITA’s!! So hope you win! And I love Halloween too 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      It’s worse than a snowball’s chance in hell, but I thought “how cool to even be in the running.” 🙂 Halloween is my favorite holiday! Thanks for stopping by, Jennifer!

      Like

Leave a Reply

