Jenna’s 411

Welcome to this week’s installment of

Jenna’s 411

Book Chat

I’ve begun working in earnest on my Christmas novella again.  I had to stop to work on some other things and of course, work started up a gain full force.  But I’m still hoping for a November release.  It’s called ‘Tis the Season.  And it begins at a celebration dinner.

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

 

On the Home Front:  Salmagundy

As promised on Friday, when my Alphabet Post on Salmagundy went up, I decided to try this 18th century salad and pirate fare.  Here’s how mine turned out:

Jenna's Salmagundy

Jenna’s Salmagundy

It was actually very good.  No turtle meat, but there were a couple of other kinds of meat, greens, boiled eggs, tomatoes, mushrooms, onions, and anchovies.  And believe it or not, the anchovies are what made this dish.  Even my husband loved it.  I dressed it with oil and Balsamic vinegar and it was very yummy.  Not a  dish, however, to be served as a leftover. The lettuce wilts rather quickly.

Jenna Fun Fact of the Week

I am an only child. Which has made having more than one child a very confusing experience.  Do all siblings fight? Mine always have and it is very bewildering! 🙂

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

That’s all  for this week.  Come back next Wednesday for more news from Jenna. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in Jenna's 411 and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Jenna’s 411

  1. melissakeir says:

    Interesting that turtle meat is outlawed in the US. We have tons of turtles getting hit on the road. I’m the oldest of five girls. We fought a lot but we were also best friends. I knew I could always count on them to play with me. We used to gather around in a bed and tell tales. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I think its sea turtles that are protected, not the common box turtles. Not enough meat in them to make it worthwhile I guess. LOL I always thought it would be nice to have built-in playmates, but had to settle for a couple of good friends in the neighborhood. That would have been so cool to tell tales in bed and scare the bejesus out of each other. 🙂

      Like

  2. lizaoconnor says:

    I didn’t fight with my older sister (10 years older) because she was kind and loving. But my brother 4 years older than me wanted to be an only child and the first one he wanted gone was me. When I was about six I climbed a two hundred foot pine tree trying to escape him. The branches at the top were too thin for him to climb, so I thought I’d be safe there. Unfortunately, he tried to dislodge me by shaking the wimpy trunk back and forth. So I’m stuck swinging back and forth clinging to the tree for dear life. Fortunately, a woman driving by our house noticed a swaying tree top, saw me holding on and ran to the house to let my mother know she was damn close to having one less kid.

    Mother came out, furious at being embarrassed, yelled at us to get down from the tree and went back inside.

    The only reason why I am still alive is because that woman cared enough to stop and annoy my mother into intervening and then waited there until George climbed down and then i climbed down. She was very kind to me and I recall wanting to go home with her.

    The older I got, the stronger my brother’s obsession to kill me became.
    My older sister would take me with her whenever she could (even on dates) because she feared for my life. As I got older, I got better at protecting myself from my deranged and angry brother.

    So Jenna, while squabbling is normal, I would lecture them that kindness is more fun than anger and being nice to each other will teach them skills that will help them all through life. And definitely intervene before someone is tossed out of a tree.

    Horrible feral cat stories from Liza’s very sad childhood.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Wow, Liza! It seems most of the men in your life have tried to kill you! So glad your sister and the kind lady intervened. My two have never gotten physical, but they are so opposite in nature that they have yelling matches constantly. Well, almost constantly. Whenever they are in a swimming pool together they get along fine. Go figure. Perhaps I should install a live-in pool at my house. 🙂 I love your feral cat stories!

      Like

      • lizaoconnor says:

        I think only my brother and my ex-husband have purposely tried to kill me. The meanest broker on Wall Street once threw a large book at me, and that would have hurt had I not already closed the door and escaped his office. (I just told him I wouldn’t be working for him anymore. The job was too stressful.) No I have to object to ‘all’ men want to kill me. But seriously, two was enough. My brother tried something about once a week until I went to college. My husband only tried to kill me three times, and that wasn’t personal. He just wanted the half a million insurance policy. However, now that I think about it, the whole reason I married him might be due to my growing up with a psychopath. He probably seemed familiar…

        I still think you should lecture your girls that getting along with those who annoy you is an excellent skill set to learn and will really help them later on dealing with bosses who throw books at you. And no better time than to start now, because it’s a skill that takes time to hone.

        Like

  3. Daryl Devore says:

    I’m, also, an only child. Our neighbours on one side had 3 boys – they fought all the time and I mean don on the floor rolling and punching. One the opposite side there were 8 – 4 girls 4 boys. SO if I ever felt the need for siblings I went to the neighbours – always went happily home to my calm quiet sibling free house.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I had tons of cousins to play with, Daryl, because both my parents came from large families (10-11 children each), which probably is why I’m an only child. 🙂 I always loved being at my friends’ homes with lots of kids, but was also glad to go home where I could have peace and quiet to read.

      Like

  4. D'Ann says:

    Turtle meat? No! I have an only child, and am so glad. I have two sisters and one I get along with so well, the other I don’t speak to. And I love Christmas stories!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I don’t think you have to worry about the turtle meat, D’Ann. I think it’s outlawed in the States. Of course, that wouldn’t stop a pirate. LOL Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  5. Love Christmas stories! And, yep, I have two sisters and we fought growing up-we’re best friends now 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

