My Writing Process ~ Round Two

Princess_Elizabeth_(1770-1840)

I’m helping out a friend, Lola Karns (who can be found here), by writing about my writing process today.  I’ve done this before, but I’m working on different books and the process does evolve.

1)  What am I working on?

At the moment, I’m finishing up the polishing phase of my current WIP, To Woo A Wicked Widow.  It’s the first book in my Widows’ Club series about five friends who were widowed by the Battle of Waterloo and how they find love again (and sometimes for the first time!). This book is my first Regency and I found the period quite challenging after the medieval and Georgian eras I’m familiar with.  Readers know the period quite well, so you have to be on your toes about your historical accuracy.  Even though it’s fiction, the history has to be right.

2)  How does my work differ from others of its genre?

I think of my works as being a blend of steamy and historical.  There’s nothing new under the sun and people in history were just as sexually active–both with or without marriage–as we are today. They just didn’t flaunt it quite as brazenly as we do. 🙂  So I try to inject my historical romances with a “spicy” side that offsets the strict rules of society at the time.

3)  Why do I write what I write?

I love history and I love doing research.  The logical thing for me to do, then, is to write historical romances where I have all the history and twice the research! The perfect match.

4)  How does my writing process work?

I am a very linear writer.  I start with an idea–sometimes a scene pops into my head or I play “what if?” Then I immediately plot that idea out with a detailed outline.  Once that’s done, I sit down and start with chapter one and write straight through until The End.  Along the way I usually have some input from my characters about what they want to do, how they will react in a particular situation, etc., but always minor stuff.  Until I started writing Widow.  Those characters just took over!  They kept doing things I didn’t want them to do and they wouldn’t take no for an answer!  I almost became a pantzer while writing it!  To the point I had to take the detailed outline and chapter by chapter make it even more detailed to keep these characters in line.  I hope the rest of the series isn’t like that!

Now, because I’ve been at Disney World for the past week, I clean forgot to line up three more writers to reveal their processes for next week.  If any of you would like to play, just let me know and I’ll add your name to this post. 🙂

 

This entry was posted in About the Author, On Writing, On Writing Historical Romance, On Writing Romance and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to My Writing Process ~ Round Two

  1. Loved it!! Tweeted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

