Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 5/18/14 Beleaguered

Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors!

Sorry to have been away last week, but I was laid low by a very nasty URI.  I’ve been coughing my head off and not getting to write much.  But I’m feeling better this week and wanted to continue a bit more of Beleaguered.  I should be having the cover reveal the end of this week, so I hope you come by for that!

Thomas has insisted Alyse dance with Geoffrey at the princess’s banquet.  Alyse fears this is a bad idea, but has no choice but to comply.   This 8 takes up immediately after the last ones I posted.

Mirth and Gladness Lead a Dance from Roman of the Rose

Mirth and Gladness
Lead a Dance from Roman of the Rose

‘Twas an apt question for, God forgive her, at the touch of Geoffrey’s hand all thought of her husband fled. She was back on the deck of the Phillipa, facing him once more. Loving him once more.

Geoffrey cleared his throat, his face flushed, and said simply, “Follow me.”

Then they were twirling around the circle, hands clasped, arms touching intimately as a firestorm coursed throughout her body, branding wherever he touched her. The figure reversed and her other side was scorched, as if a red-hot blade pressed against torn flesh to sear it back together. Her gaze locked onto Geoffrey’s and the music, the dancers, the Great Hall and all its inhabitants melted away until all that was left was the whisper of his breath in her ear and the heat of his body pressed close against her.

He leaned in closer to whisper, “I must lift you now.”

 

If you want the story from the beginning, both Betrothal and Betrayal, Books 1 & 2, are available at Amazon.

In the mean time, check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read. Betrayal1Betrayal3Betrayal2

This entry was posted in Beleaguered, On Time Enough to Love, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 5/18/14 Beleaguered

  1. Gorgeous cover! I could feel what she was feeling during the dance because your writing is so vivid. Excellent excerpt and I wonder she doesn’t swoon at any moment!

    Like

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    Very emotionally intense moment! I wonder if their sparks will reignite in more than just her imagination.

    Like

  3. danijace says:

    Amazing transference of words to reader! I am her in the moment!

    Like

  4. alexissduran says:

    Very nice. Really makes me wonder what happened on that ship.

    Like

  5. Karysa Faire says:

    Excellent! I don’t know the story but now I want to. 😉 Their chemistry was visceral.

    Like

  6. elainecsc2013 says:

    Super 8. I could feel the air crackling between them.

    Like

  7. lizaoconnor says:

    I want the book! I don’t like being teased. I want the book already. Oh, and on first read, I thought you had acquired a nasty URL. I thought your computer had gotten a virus. Hope you feel better.

    Like

  8. melissakeir says:

    Can’t wait for this book! 🙂

    Like

  9. Chemistry is one word to sum up this little sneak peak. Very nice!

    Like

  10. Nice and sexy! I love the intimacy they experience with the dance moves. 🙂

    Like

  11. Frank Fisher says:

    Good descriptions of her feelings during the dance. The last two sentences were nice finishes too.

    Like

  12. I loved the first book. I can’t wait to read this one – or really anything you write 🙂 Shared via Linkedin

    Like

  13. Jenna-gorgeous description-so blazing hot my socks melted as did my heart. Thank you.

    Like

  14. Your description of what she’s feeling during the dance is excellent, Jenna! Good 8 🙂

    She is such a tortured soul! I can hardly wait to read this one, and I’m looking forward to the cover reveal. That means it’s not too far in the future that it’ll be published. 🙂

    Like

  15. Daisy Banks says:

    Lovely snippet. I can feel her heat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

