Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 3/23/14 Betrothal

Welcome to Weekend Writing Warriors! I’m back this week with a snippet from Betrothal, the first book in my medieval serial novel, Time Enough to Love.  

Betrothal_1600x2400_96dpi

In these eight, Alyse de Courcy finds out who her father has betrothed her to.

Mere seconds before she learned her fate and she could scarce affect an indifferent pose before the court when inside every inch of her quivered with anticipation of the name on the king’s lips.

The king straightened, glanced at her then at the man by her side and asked, “What say you then, Sir Geoffrey? Does the lady not speak fair? I vow she will make you a proper wife and a dutiful one as well.”

Alyse turned, until that moment unaware that Geoffrey Longford stood beside her. Chills coursed down her body as the king’s words echoed in her mind. The sensation of falling backward assailed her, as though she rushed away from the tall man at her side even as his figure loomed larger and larger in her sight.

God have mercy on me, for by the look of him, this man will not

Betrothal has been nominated for a 2014 RONE award!  Voting for my category of Historical:  Medieval begins tomorrow at http://indtale.com/2014-rone-awards-week-three.  Hope you’re able to give Betrothal your vote for best medieval. 🙂

In the mean time, check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

This entry was posted in Betrothal, On Time Enough to Love, On Weekend Writing Warriors, Promotion, Weekend Writing Warriors and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 3/23/14 Betrothal

  1. I feel so sorry for her! Arranged marriages most have been horrible, though a small portion of them might have worked out. Terrific writing, by the way. 🙂

    Like

  2. Harliqueen says:

    Congrats on the nomination! 🙂

    Like

  3. I’m so excited for your nomination! You can bet I’ll vote for you. I’d vote twice if possible. 🙂

    Like

  4. Congratulations on the RONE nomination, very exciting! Loved the excerpt, I totally know the feeling she’s got at the moment, such a vivid description!

    Like

  5. alexissduran says:

    Congratulations on the nomination! You did a great job creating a really dramatic moment in this snippet.

    Like

  6. lizaoconnor says:

    Be sure to remind us tomorrow, because I am brain dead, but wish very much to vote for you.

    Like

  7. Congrats, Jenna, on the RONE nomination–Betrothal certainly deserves it! I love these books, so you have my vote. I’m making a note now to remember to vote.

    This snippet is so full of tension… When I read the book, I felt so sorry for her. I still do. Such torment it was, being born to a father of means and title. You write it so well. 🙂

    Like

  8. Susan says:

    Well I still like him lol and congrats – awards are nice 😀

    Like

  9. Powerful snippet. Best wishes on the Rone and in everything you do and write.

    Like

  10. Carrie-Anne says:

    That has to be an even scarier moment because it’s in public.

    Congratulations on your nomination!

    Like

  11. Loved the excerpt, Jenna!! Good luck with the book.

    Like

  12. Melissa Keir says:

    Congrats on the RONE…I loved books one and two in this series and can’t wait for three!

    Like

  13. Millie Burns says:

    What a scary moment…how stressful. I look forward to future snippets.

    Like

  14. Cara Bristol says:

    Zinger of a last line! Congrats on your RONE nomination!

    Like

  15. gemmabrocato says:

    Goodness – sounds like Alyse is in for it. Thanks for the snippet, Jenna. I enjoyed it.

    Like

  16. Daryl Devore says:

    I didn’t know you were up for a RONE too. Congrats. I’ll be there tomorrow – voting for you.
    Love the snippet.
    Tweeted.

    Like

Leave a Reply

