I is for Island

No, I really didn’t plan it this way, but the letter I just happened to come up during the week I’m on the beautiful island of St. Thomas, visiting fellow author Ella Quinn.  So I thought I’d give you a few facts about this island and share some breathtaking photos of the place.

St. Thomas is part of the U.S. Virgin Islands and lies at latitude 18 down in the Caribbean.

220px-USA_Virgin_Islands_location_map.svg

Pirate lore has it that Blackbeard used the island as a hang out while he was down here.  They have Blackbeard’s Castle, a tower built for defense by Danes in 1679, but reputed to be his base.

250px-Blackbeard's_Castle_in_Charlotte_Amalie

Magen’s Bay is one of the 10 most beautiful beaches in the world. (I can now attest to that!).  We go here every morning and walk two miles, down and back.  But be sure to say “good morning morning” to everyone you meet.  It’s the local custom and to not greet someone marks you as rude.

20140313_074842

 

 

 

 

20140313_074723

 

 

 

And there is a wonderful night life here!  Ella took me to Latitude 18, a small bistro type place, frequented by the locals.  The food is excellent and the music of Flipswitch was fantastic!

20140311_191716

Tomorrow we’re off to St. John’s Island, where I hope to take even more pics.  I’ve got 5 blogs this weekend, including this one, so I’ll be posting lots more of my adventures before I leave on Sunday.

If you like island romance, you should check out mine,ALMOST PERFECT2 Almost Perfect, an erotic Caribbean romp with a man who knows his Kama Sutra!  Available at Amazon!

Hope you enjoyed this little island tour!  Back to the land of ice and snow next week. 😦  But I’ll make the best of the tropical clime while I’m here.

This entry was posted in Alphabet Post and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to I is for Island

  1. melissakeir says:

    Oohhh the tour and the tower… I’m glad to hear that you are walking each day too. I would love to get out and about with some warmer weather!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I’ve walked more here than at any time except when I was training for competition fencing in high school! But with someone to talk to and the weather and scenery beautiful, it really goes by quickly. We really should start a writer’s colony here. It would do us all a world of good.

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    can’t believe you took the time for a holiday 😀

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      It was Spring Break and everything just fell into place. Of course as Daryl pointed out it was a working vacation, but a day of writing in paradise is like not really working at all. 🙂

      Like

  3. What a great vacation! And the perfect topic for Alphabet Day. Wishing you a weekend full of sun and fun before you have to return to the real world. We’re with you there in spirit!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks so much, Trish! It has been fantastic and way too short. Tomorrow’s my last full day–paddle boarding in the morning and St. John in the afternoon (didn’t make it today. The 99 steps wore me out!). I wish you all were here. What a party that would be!

      Like

  4. Adding this to my vacation list. Tweeted 🙂

    Like

  5. Daryl Devore says:

    Question – why are you working while you’re on vacation? Soak up the sun. It’s still cold up here.
    Tweeted.

    Like

  6. Daisy Banks says:

    What a beautiful and fascinating place. You’re a very lucky girl, Jenna. Have a fabulous time.

    Like

  7. We’re also going on the historic house tour and you’ll actually get to see the tower. Tweeted and shared on FB.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Steps! Why did it have to be steps! LOL 33 going up the tower and 99 on the historic house tour (really more but by that time I’d stopped counting!) LOL. Fabulous day!

      Like

Leave a Reply

