Sunday Social : To Be Read…

If you are looking for Weekend Writing Warrior, click here.

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

I realized sometime last week, while reading a Facebook post, that I have no clue what the last book was that I read (not as a beta read).  That’s rather frightening because I always used to know what book I was reading and what book I had just read.  No more.  I think some of it might have to do with the fact I read from my Kindle or my phone.  so I don’t constantly see the book–with its title prominently displayed–as a reminder of what I’m reading now.

I also have no clear concept what’s on my TBR (To Be Read) list either.  I add books all the time, but as I’m adding them to a non-tangible list, it’s very easy to forget what I’m supposed to be reading right now.

I think, and these are in no particular order, I’m supposed to be reading:

A Taylor-Made Life by Kary Rader

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Prophecy’s Child by Brenda Dyer

The Long Road to Love series, Ghost Lover and Saving Casey by Liza O’Connor

Seduction in Silk by Jo Beverley

The Temptation of Lady Serena by Ella Quinn

Journey’s Valentine by Patricia Green

Drums of Autumn by Diana Gabaldon

And of course the list goes on, and on, and on.  Each of these wonderful books is sitting right there on my Kindle or Kindle App on my phone waiting for me to find the time to pick them up and read.  Maybe I’ll start reading right before bed again.  That might work–until I drop my Kindle. 🙂

What’s tops on your TBR list?

This entry was posted in Social Sunday, What I'm Reading and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Social : To Be Read…

  1. Harliqueen says:

    I am always in awe of people who can read tons whilst also just, well, living 😀 I have so much to do it seems I barely get a book a month read! My to-read list is so long, thank god for the kindle, otherwise my whole room would be piled with books. Great post 🙂

    Like

  2. melissakeir says:

    I can’t remember my list. The kindle is the hardest for me because I have my print books sitting by my bed so I can read them, so I can see what I’m reading and what is waiting. The kindle gets new books daily and then they aren’t even in order! Oh well, a full kindle is a happy kindle!

    Like

  3. It seems like all of my colleagues have one or two books out at any given time, and, of course, I snap them up on their release days. I just finished Betrayal, and am now moving on to Humbled by Renee Rose. In between, I read the short novella Snatched by Rachel deVine, but I read that as part of a work project, rather than for pleasure. Which is not to say I got nothing out of it. Well, you know what I mean. I have found that if you want to do anything but write and read, you have to get good at managing your free time. It might take me longer to get through a book because I only read one hour at a time, but I also get to knit sweaters, too. It’s a balancing act. You’ll find a way, Jenna. 🙂

    Like

  4. sue says:

    I’m still trying to figure out how to use Goodreads
    I read books still no ereader so they get piled up on a shelf I’m reading the second book in a friend’s series and it’s wonderful. I just wish a publisher would discover him.

    Like

  5. Cara Bristol says:

    I think you’re right. Not seeing the cover and not having the title reinforced in my mind makes it hard to remember.

    Like

  6. PaperbackDiva says:

    Like Stacy, I love Goodreads to keep track of what I read. The creation of ‘bookshelves’ aids in sorting the books too. Can’t remember what books you read with a virgin hero? Look on your bookshelf. Werewolves? Make a bookshelf. Couldn’t bring yourself to finish it? That would be the DNF shelf. 🙂

    Like

  7. I find myself going for books under 250 pages because I can read them quickly. But I am disillusioned with these. Just last night I was reading one way past bedtime, I mean stayed up till 5:30 am because I wanted to finish it. Then it was a cliffhanger book. I was a little upset. I really don’t like this, I like a complete book with ending. I went so far as to go to Amazon and re-read the blup, because I do this before I order the book. And it was no where posted. Oh well, I’ll live. Now it’s the week end and time for a longer book. And I have plenty on my TBR list that isn’t really in no order. Pot Luck reading, just pick one. lol I love my reading!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      For a while I was trying to read shorter books, thinking it would allow me to read more. But the books I really want to read are longer. And I’m so sorry, but unfortunately I’m currently one of those “cliffhanger” authors. My medieval series is a serial novel–it was really too long to publish as one book, although once I finish the final installment, I will publish it complete in print. It will probably be between 450 and 500 pages. I guess listing it as a serial novel may not have been enough, because I’ve gotten comments about the cliffhangers. So I hope the one you were reading last night wasn’t mine! Wait until May and then you can have the whole thing. 🙂

      Like

  8. D'Ann says:

    I didn’t make your list. 😦 Sob! I have so many books on my TBR list I couldn’t name them all.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Actually, D’Ann you just came off the list because Ride A Falling Star is the last book I finished! 🙂 Loved it, of course, as I do all your books. And the rest are on there as well (I do love westerns, you know, historical or contemporary). Your list sounds like mine!

      Like

  9. Stacy McKitrick says:

    I find that I tend to forget what book I’m reading on my Nook, basically because of what you said–I don’t see the cover (or the blurb) when I’m not reading it! That’s why I like keeping track of what I read on Goodreads.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I never think of Goodreads as a place to keep track of what I’m reading. I think they currently have me reading books I finished long ago because I forget to say I finished them! LOL But that is a great way to keep track, Stacy!

      Like

  10. I don’t know. I read so fast, and gobble up a new author’s series, that I can’t keep track. Tweeted and shared.

    Like

Leave a Reply

