Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 2/23/14 Betrayal

I’m Back!

It’s been almost a year since I was a part of WWW, and I really missed you guys!  So I decided to join back up and take a peek at what everyone’s been doing.

What I’ve been doing is writing and publishing my medieval serial novel, Time Enough to Love.  Betrothal, Book 1 came out last April and Book 2, Betrayal came out almost a month ago.  As that one is the most recent release, I thought I’d give you a snippet of it.  I hope you enjoy.

Alyse’s betrothed, Sir Geoffrey Longford, has been called away to his father’s home because his brother is ill.  Geoffrey’s friend and Alyse’s champion, Thomas has just arrived with news.

19439610_m“Geoffrey bade me place this in your hand and no other, my lady,” Thomas said, thrusting the missive toward her.

Alyse compelled herself to hold her hand out.

“He also bade me be at your service, lady, had you need of anything.” He gave the parchment into her hand. As he did so, she looked into his eyes and recognized the same pity she had seen in Princess Joanna’s.

Panic made her arms weak and her fingers numb. She forced her shaking hands to break the seal. Alyse unfolded the letter and slowly read the scratched and blurry words.

I hate to leave you and Lady Alyse hanging here, but that’s my 8 sentences. 🙂  I hope I’ll be back and you’ll come to see me next week.  If you want more before next week, Betrayal is available at Amazon, B & N, and Smashwords.

In the mean time, check out the rest of the Warriors here.  There’s some fantastic snippets to be read.

Betrayal1Betrayal3Betrayal2

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Weekend Writing Warriors ~ 2/23/14 Betrayal

  1. symes4u says:

    Nothing good has ever come of scratched and blurry missives. Now I have to know what it said…

    Like

  2. Yeah, makes me wonder what’s gone wrong, I can think of much more than 2 possibilities. Reminds me of the unlikely message and messenger that starts off “In the Halls of the Dragon King.” 🙂 Welcome back!

    Like

  3. Two possibilities for bad news. Which is it?

    Like

  4. melissakeir says:

    I’m with Liza on this one. I loved the book and left my review. I could imagine this scene in my head vividly!

    Like

  5. So tantalizing. I’m glad I read this book already or I’d be tearing my hair out! Wonderful writing.

    Like

  6. sue says:

    I see the book is doing really well. I wonder if i can promote the bench on here. We’ll have to talk it’s still in for revisions

    Like

  7. Cara Bristol says:

    Nice tension. Pretty photo. And welcome back!

    Like

  8. Welcome back! I remember the snippets you used to share – so happy to have more…I’m with everyone else, hoping this isn’t going to be very bad news for Alyse! Excellent excerpt, puts me right into the moment.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Veronica! I remember last year you were finishing up the Nebula and just starting to share some of your Nile story when I took my sabbatical. It was wonderful reading more this morning. Unfortunately, this news is pretty bad.

      Like

  9. burnsmillie says:

    Oh boy, my heart’s pounding and my hands are all clammy…for her. Poor thing.

    Like

  10. Frank Fisher says:

    Good to see you back on WWW. That doesn’t sound like good news, no wonder she’s freaked.

    Like

  11. lizaoconnor says:

    I’ve already burned my eyes with tears for this book. It was 5 star fabulous. I now impatiently await the conclusion in book 3.

    Like

  12. I love the “feel” of this snippet! This made me think of Henry VIII’s older brother, Arthur, when he was promised to Catherine of Aragon. He went away and fell sick, and the message that reached Catherine as she waited in London for his return was that he’d died. I hope the news isn’t so grim for Alyse.

    I just bought book 1 in the series.

    An interesting side note. The power of a book cover–when I saw your book cover from book 1, I remembered the story snippets. 🙂

    Welcome back to Wewriwa!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      That is so wonderful, Teresa! You are right, a book cover is powerful if it’s done well. So glad you remembered it! And yes, this does have overtones of Arthur and Catherine’s plight, but not exactly. LOL You’ll see in book two. I hope you enjoy Betrothal! Glad to be back at WWW!

      Like

  13. Gem Sivad says:

    I’m feeling a little panicky myself. What’s in the message? Great snippet to MAKE ME WANT MORE!!

    Like

  14. Pingback: To Be Read… | Jenna Jaxon Romance–because passion is timeless.

  15. Carrie-Anne says:

    That can only be very, very bad news!

    Like

Leave a Reply

