Are You Watching the Winter Olympics?

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

My husband has surprised me this past week.  He’s kind of an anti-sports person, at least most team sports.  He loves scuba diving and motocross and boat races, that type of thing. But this past week I noticed he’s had on the Winter Olympics.

In the past I’ve taken time to watch the figure skating, but I’ve got so much on my plate this year I’ve not had a chance to watch anything unless it’s on in the morning while I’m getting ready to go to work.  (I’m not a sports person either as you may have guessed.)

So I was wondering, who’s watching the Winter Olympics this year?  What’s your favorite event to watch?

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Are You Watching the Winter Olympics?

  1. Shirley Ann Speakman says:

    Because of Russia’s stand on Gay rights I wasn’t going to watch any of the Olympics. But I’m from Great Britain and when team GB wins a medal I do watch the repeat of the win. We never win many medals usually only 1!!! This year 1 Gold and 2 Bronze so far.

    Like

  2. I refuse to get up early in the morning to watch sports, or to record it to watch in the afternoon, when I’m perfectly happy to watch the wrap up in prime time. And, I do watch the wrap up, and I use the Sochi 2014 iPad app to fill in the gaps. My favorite sport is hockey (no surprise to you there), but I also am trying to wrap my mind around curling. I read Curling for Dummies, but apparently I need Curling for Abject Morons. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      ROFLMAO! I guess there is more to curling than meets the eye! The timing is one of the problems. It’s never convenient to sit down and watch. Of course, I never want to sit and watch anything but Downton Abbey. 🙂

      Like

  3. danijace says:

    I only caught some of the games. I loved watching the snowboarding! Wish I’d tried it when I was younger. Figure skating and down hill skiing are my next favorites.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I’ve always been wretched at sports, so I’d never have tried any of it. LOL I do admire people who can, however. I do love to watch, especially the figure skating. They make it look so effortless.

      Like

  4. I am hooked on the Olympics! Love it all. But I’ll be glad when it’s over so I can get back to work! Haha! 🙂

    Like

  5. I’m trying to catch the highlights, but I haven’t really been able to watch. Tweeted and shared on FB.

    Like

  6. D'Ann says:

    Yeah…reluctantly. I am trying to boycott this Olympics because of the homeless dogs of Sochi being killed. And also Russia’s stand on gay rights makes my blood boil. But, I still find myself watching some of it. Go, USA!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Yes, I saw your photo on Facebook. Very sad, as is the stand on gay rights. Russia has so much potential, but is bogged down in a medieval mindset. There is so much coverage it’s sometimes hard not to watch.

      Like

  7. Brenda D says:

    I’ve been watching. Curling and Hockey are the events I watch.

    Like

  8. melissakeir says:

    With working all day, I do try to catch up on the news about the big events, but I am not a person who sits and watches TV. I like hearing about the stories behind the people though.

    Like

  9. sue says:

    oh YES we are! as to figure skaking Patrick Chan is the one to watch, unfortunatley he got silver not gold. And Bernie loves the curling and snowboarding. And there’s hockey where we hope to trump your asses again lol However the ice dance is the big thing our couple is from here. Unfortunatley your couple will win gold, so if I don’t talk to you for a while….

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      LOL Sue! Well, I wish your couple the best. As I said, I have no clue who’s doing what. 🙂 i’ve got three manuscripts I’m working on, plus I’m starting a production today at school, so I likely won’t see any of it!

      Like

Leave a Reply

