Sunday Social: Coffee or Tea?

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

I’m sitting down here, just having made a huge mug of tea to warm me on a cold night.  Yum!  Tea with milk and Splenda.  I drink it night and day when I’m at home.  My younger daughter and I bond over tea.  It’s one of “our” things.

At work, however, I drink coffee.  I have a petite coffeepot in my office and as soon as I get there in the mornings, I make a pot and have a cup before class.  Often around 10:00 my ex-office mate comes by and asks if I want a cup.  Almost always I say “Yes!” and go downstairs to sit and sip and chat until our next class.  And when we’re in production, before rehearsals start–usually 7pm–he’ll stick his head in the door and say “Mud’s on!”  I really cannot do theatre without coffee.

So I have a very rigid divide in my life–tea at home and coffee at work.  The only time

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons

recently that I drank coffee at home was this past summer.  My daughter was at college for the summer and subconsciously I guess I couldn’t drink tea without her, so I drank coffee instead until she came back.  I’m going to have to get over this as she’s off to college in the fall!

So what about you?  Coffee or tea?  Or sometimes one and not the other?  Am I the only one who lets location dictate her beverage?

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Sunday Social: Coffee or Tea?

  1. Sheri Fredricks says:

    I like both coffee and tea, depending upon my mood. Usually coffee in the AM, but it has to be hafl-caff. I used to drink the full-leaded variety, but quit for year when I trained for a fitness competition. When I went back for a cup, I got the jitters so bad and my scalp crawled. I was raised on loose green tea (Japanese Ocha) and that’s still what I prefer to this day. Thankfully, my hubs drinks whatever I’m drinking and doesn’t do regular coffee either. Great questions, Jenna!! I always have fun at your blog.

    Like

  2. Harliqueen says:

    Always tea for me 😀 No matter where I am.

    Like

  3. Carrie-Anne says:

    I’ve only had coffee five times in my life—on my 13th birthday; twice when I pushed the wrong button on a hot water machine and didn’t want it to go to waste; when I was hosted by Bedouins on my first Israel trip in 2005; and when I was hosted by Druze on my third trip to Israel in 2010. I’d been so excited about getting to drink coffee when I was 13, but it was so strong and bitter, I didn’t bother to stick with it to develop a taste for it. I felt I had no choice but to drink the strong coffee offered by my foreign hosts, since it would be pretty rude to insult their hospitality and refuse something they made for their guests.

    I love tea, particularly green, white, and red tea. I think I really got into tea drinking because of my ex. I still need to go over and get the rest of my stuff from his parents’ house, including the Japanese green cast-iron teapot and cups I got from Teavana.

    Like

  4. Ray G says:

    I am a coffee drinker. At home I use a Keurig at home for coffee, hot cereal, Ramen and on rare occasions green tea. I go to Starbucks often to get away from home to read, visit and people watch while I drink two cups of coffee.

    You can’t spend 27 years in the Navy and another 16 as a civilian mariner working on civilian crewed Naval vessels and not drink coffee. On Military Sealift ships if you skip “Coffee” in the officers lounge you will be the topic of gossip. I tried to be the last one to leave unless the topic was gossip about wives or girlfriends. Some of those irritated the hell out of me. If those women ever heard what was being said about them the men wouldn’t be safe sleeping at night. Fortunately if there was at least one female officer on break those conversations did not take place.

    There is one tea I liked that you can only get outside the US, Lipton’s Yellow Tea. It is a delicious yellow tea.

    Like

  5. gemmabrocato says:

    I’m with you – I split the difference. I love coffee in the morning. I doctor it with 1 teaspoon of cocoa (baking chocolate works), a splash of liquid stevia and a smidge of sugar free french vainilla cream – Take that expensive coffee house mocha. I win with only spending pennies and under 30 calories. Then in the afternoon and evening I switch to green tea. But I like that white and sweet too.

    Like

  6. I’m a coffee person. My son, now 46, and I also bond over coffee when it is just the two of us. I rarely drink tea but I hear it’s good for you.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Some teas, like green tea, is very good for you. Unfortunately, that’s not the kind of tea I like. 🙂 The black tea is actually hard on your body. But like anything that’s bad for you, it’s sooooooo good!

      Like

  7. melissakeir says:

    I’m not a big coffee person and I don’t like tea at all, so I drink soda. I bring a glass of lemonade which I drink all day and when I need a pick me up, I’ll grab a soda out of the vending machine. I used to drink 2-3 soda’s a day but now I’m down to one a week.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Wow, you have a whole different routine, Melissa. I try to drink more water than soda, but my older daughter always tempts me with Diet Dr. Pepper. 🙂 I give in more often than I should. But lemonade is good–lemon juice is good for you.

      Like

  8. DebraG says:

    Tea for me and it must be black tea. I tried coffee and cannot stand the taste.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I agree 100% on the black tea, Debra. Nothing else tastes right. Except for ice tea, “the house wine of the South,” LOL. That needs to be Lipton’s. Sorry you don’t enjoy coffee though. Tea is my #1 choice, but I do enjoy my coffee as well.

      Like

  9. I didn’t like coffee until I vacationed in Costa Rica. Now, I need my coffee to get through my morning teaching 5th graders. After recess I switch to hot tea, but I like plain ol’ Lipton’s black tea. Drinking tea reminds me of my grandmother and my mom.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Coffee reminds me of my mother because I started drinking “coffee” when I was in the 1st grade. I wouldn’t eat breakfast before school, but since coffee was a grown-up drink, I’d drink that. My mother wanted me to have something to keep me going until lunch, so she gave me hot milk and sugar with a flavoring of coffee. I’ve been hooked ever since. 🙂

      Like

  10. margeryscott says:

    Tea! English Breakfast tea, to be exact. All day, all night. When I worked, I drank coffee at first until the coffeemaker broke. No one replaced it and soon after, someone brought a tea kettle. Problem solved.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I love English Breakfast–Irish Breakfast, Earl Grey, Lady Grey too. Currently, however, I drink Tetley’s British Blend. It’s more economical and it’s a black tea blend that’s like English Breakfast. I start to panic when the canister gets low because they don’t carry it at the local store. Last week I bought two boxes, just in case it snowed again. LOL Good to see you, Margery!

      Like

  11. Tea for me, especially Chai. However, I’m one of those super-tasters. You know, when you were in Biology and the teacher gives everyone a strip of paper and some people taste the chemical, but most don’t? Anyway, coffee tastes too bitter to me. I’ve tried tons of sugar, milk, cream. Once I got a caramel frap without knowing it had coffee in it and couldn’t drink more than a few sips because of the coffee after-taste. I wish it wasn’t so, because I’d like to experience coffee that everyone raves about. Oh, but I can deal with espresso as long as it’s in Tiramisu 🙂

    Like

  12. Rhissanna says:

    Tea! Almost all day, tea, except for one large mug of coffee at about 10.30 am. And it had been that way for decades until I introduced Hubby to the very European idea of coffee after an evening meal. Now it’s coffee twice a day. What decadence!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I love coffee after a meal! Had a wonderful Cafe Mocha at Olive Garden yesterday during a critique session with a friend and it was heaven! Espresso, chocolate, and steamed milk with a ton of whipped cream. That will be my dessert every time i go there from now on. LOL Thanks for coming by, Rhissanna!

      Like

Leave a Reply

