Sunday Social: Super Bowl Sunday

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

I am not a sports fan.

But the one team sport that I will watch is football.  Reluctantly.  And nowadays, only the Superbowl.

Many years ago I used to watch Redskins football with my Dad on Sundays.  It was a great bonding experience and it was when the Redskins were in their heyday.  Went to at least 2 Superbowls.  They were truly Superbowl Sundays for me.

These days I don’t watch football during the regular season.  (I’m too busy writing.)  But every Superbowl Sunday I’m in there watching.  Except now I’m usually watching for the commercials. LOL  Yeah, I’m one of those.

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy Wikimedia Commons

My husband isn’t a sports fan at all, but he watches the Superbowl.  He loves the commercials and the food.  So tonight we’ll have chicken wings and pigs in a blanket, chips and guacamole and queso dip and watch the Superbowl.

What I think is funny is that in our household, I’m the football expert. After a play my husband will look at me and say, “Okay, what just happened?” LOL  And usually I can tell him, because I listened

Courtesy of Wikimedia COmmons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

all those years ago when my Dad explained things to me.  You never know when something’s going to come in handy. 🙂

How about you?  Are you watching the Superbowl?  Are you rooting for a team or just there for the commercials?

 

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Sunday Social: Super Bowl Sunday

  1. Carrie-Anne says:

    I generally only watch the Super Bowl if my beloved Steelers are playing, though I do like some of the commercials. I miss hearing my grandpap cursing at the players on TV or coaching them from his armchair, particularly when he’d curse them out in his native Slovakian. It was a really nice touch when the young priest who gave his eulogy said that now my grandpap is coaching the Steelers and his other sports teams from the sky.

    Like

  2. To me, it’s a minor event, but no matter which teams play, I watch it. I am, by far, not a football expert, but I muddle through. I don’t do food prep for it, though, or a special shop for goodies. I might order a pizza. 🙂 However, I love the commercials and would tune in for those no matter what.

    One thing we discovered when we last lived in Canada, was that although you can get the game up here, you don’t get the US commercials (all the good ones!). You get Canadian commercials, and generally, because Canada has such a small market, it’s the same commercials you see with any sports event. Nothing new or perky. It was disappointing the first year, but we learned to deal with it. Now all the commercials are online after the game, so we don’t have to miss much after all.

    Enjoy your family time, Jenna!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      If you’re not into the game, the commercials are the only thing to tune in for. So glad they have the commercials waiting for you after the game now. 🙂 Enjoy your peaceful Sunday evening, Trish. 🙂

      Like

  3. I’ll have the game on, and I’ll watch some of it. If my 49ers were in the game I’d be a nervous wreck. Instead, I’m looking forward to baseball season almost as much as I’m looking forward to my first book releasing in April.

    I went to the San Francisco Giants fan fest yesterday at the ballpark and I’m so totally pumped for baseball to start. I got to meet one of the players who inspired my second book. I combined a couple of guys to flesh out my hero, but yeah, the guy I got an autograph from sparked the premise of the book. And he totally made my day.

    But I got to wondering about why certain talents are more celebrated than others. But then I started thinking about my own career and wondering if the real talent lies in perseverance.

    How many of those guys could have given up on their journey to stardom? My favorite stories are the ones about the guys who were picked in the 28th round and no one expected them to make it, let alone win the World Series twice. Or the kid from the small town who was turned down by every college but Nevada and he went on take his team to the Super Bowl after his tenth NFL start and he brought them to the NFC Championship game in his first full season. Both of those guys could have given up along the way. As a sports fan, I’m glad they didn’t.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Kristin, you sound like a big sports fan! I hope you enjoy the baseball season and the Superbowl. I love how you’ve taken the real-life drama of sports and woven them into your writing. Great story ideas!

      Like

  4. I like it all. I do enjoy football and the goofy color stories the announcers occasionally tell. I love the commercials too. I wish someone had created a stat sheet for the commercials, so I could remember all of them at the end of the game and easily determine my favorite. I have a recipe to add to your menu- Buffalo Chicken Dip – 1 bottle of Frank’s Hot Sauce, 1 package of cream cheese (8 oz) and on 15 0z can of diced chicken. Mix it all in a crock pot and serve hot with chips or veggies. Yum! enjoy your snacks, Jenna, and Go Team!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Wow–that sounds great Gemma! If they have any hot sauce left in the store (not sure if they have Frank’s) I’ll get that, if not I guess I’ll use Texas Pete. And I’ll let you know how it goes. 🙂 Thanks for the recipe!

      Like

  5. melissakeir says:

    I like to watch the commercials. The game is immaterial to me. I don’t keep up with the teams anymore, esp. since the Lions and Browns haven’t had a decent team in years. 🙂 It’s a wonderful chance to eat yummy snacks and veg!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      It’s usually immaterial to me as well, Melissa. If it’s not the Redskins (not for 20 or so years now) or the Cowboys (my favorite team is the Skins and anybody playing against Dallas LOL) I usually sit and read between the commercials. My second favorite team is the Seahawks, so I’ll actually watch this game. But my favorite thing will also be the snacks! 🙂

      Like

  6. danijace says:

    I love the game so even though my team isn’t in it, I’ll be watching. Have you seen the preview of the Budweiser commercial with the puppy? Adorable! I thought one of the funnest was the Doritos commercial a couple of years ago where the dog buried the cat. Enjoy the game!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I did see part of the puppy commercial and it looks so sweet! Can’t wait to see the whole thing tonight. 🙂 I don’t remember the dog burying the cat, but I know there have been some great commercials over the years. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Dani! Enjoy your game as well!

      Like

  7. Tina B says:

    That’s great that you can explain it to him. 🙂
    We are actually going to a Super Bowl party tonight. My hubby is a HUGE football fan. Neither team is ours, so we won’t be for a specific team,
    Enjoy your snacks!!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Since we’re not big sports fans we’ve never been to a Superbowl party, so I hope yours is awesome. My team’s not playing either, obviously, but my secondary team is the Seahowks, so I will be rooting for them. 🙂 Thanks for coming by, Tina!

      Like

Leave a Reply

