Sunday Social: Let it Snow!

Outside my house at 3:30am on Wednesday morning

Outside my house at 3:30 am on Wednesday morning

Those of you who live with lots of snow for a good portion of the winter please forgive my exuberance this week as I revel in the snow we received during the middle of the week.  Here in the Eastern part of Virginia snow is a rarity, more so than in Central Virginia where I grew up.  Then we would get snow every year; Wednesday’s snow was the first one here in about 2 years I think.

So I will wax rhapsodic about the snowfall this week.

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

My favorite thing to do whenever it snowed was to go sledding.  We’d wax the runners of our sleds, set out for the neighborhood street that had the best hill, and fly down it all day, usually for several days as I remember.

I’m really astonished that we didn’t get killed.

True, we lived in a cul-de-sac sort of neighborhood, but the street we rode down had a T-intersection and cars could have come along and wiped us out very easily.  We, of course, never thought about that.

Ahh, the invincibility of youth!

I do remember the rush of wind, the bite of the cold, the pure enjoyment of the ride.  Given the opportunity, I think I would indulge even today, although I’m sure I’d ride sitting up, not laying down. LOL

My favorite thing to do when it snows now is cook.  A pot of chili and some cornbread

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

Courtesy of Wikimedia Commons

muffins enjoyed while watching the bird feeders in the backyard is the ticket on a snowy day nowadays.

How do you enjoy a snowy day at your house?

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Sunday Social: Let it Snow!

  1. It snows quite a bit here in Calgary, but nothing like the eastern side of Canada this year. Plus, the snow gets a chance to melt before we get another dumping. Keeps those blackened humps of ice from getting too deep. I generally stay indoors and enjoy the view from our windows when it’s snowing. It’s still a wonder to me, a Los Angeles kid who could only dream of snow while growing up.

    Cooking chili sounds perfect, Jenna. And I’ll bet yours is fantastic. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I wondered how different the winters in Canada are from one side to the other. You seem to have gotten the milder side this year, Trish. You sound like me, awed by the snow when safely inside behind the window. 🙂 I’d love to share some chili with you, Trish!

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    We had our first snow in Nov – very early. Luckily we missed the ice storm. For those of us who no longer play in snow nor ski etc, snow is a nuisance. And dangerous. Cold too. Coldest winter in years. Then one just feels I gotta get out and as long as it’s under my terms it’s great. A friend didn’t come over yesterday due to the snow and wind. In his part of town. Not so much in our part. Friday was very very cold however I had my class so I layered up and went. So did all the other old people in the class. But the room was so hot by the time we left the cold sharp wind with the sun peeking out felt so good.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Wow. I’ve never had to deal with that much cold and snow. Well, maybe some in college up in the mountains. but probably not as intense for so long. Do you get used to it after living with it each winter for so long? Or is it always a pain that you dread each year? Thanks for coming by, Sue! Stay warm!

      Like

  3. Daryl Devore says:

    Since this has been a particularly cold, snowy winter – it has to be a full out blizzard before we get a snow day. Our temp this morning was -25F and the snow is about 3 feet deep at the moment. It’s been settling since the last storm. I was complaining to my friend this morning at yoga class – it’s been so cold for so long – we aren’t even doing up our coats to go in and out of the buildings. We’ve adjusted to the temp.
    Tweeted.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      -25F? OMG!! I was complaining yesterday when it was 16F where my daughter was auditioning. I do remember my fencing coach telling me when he lived in Minnesota that it got so cold that when the temperature rose to 20F people would come out in their shirtsleeves and work on their cars like it was spring. And it’s -25, you have 3 feet of snow and can still get out to yoga class? You’re my hero, Daryl!

      Like

  4. melissakeir says:

    Since I live in Michigan, we have snow all the. It’s currently the snowiest winter on record and the snow is still falling. It looks like we might not be getting out to Target today, so I’ll just hunker down here and format books. Can I come stay with you? The snow is making me a little crabby??

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I have relatives in Michigan, so I know how you get snow. And yes, you can come stay here until it warms up up there. Can you bring the snow with you? LOL I haven’t gotten my fill yet. 🙂

      Like

  5. danijace says:

    I’m so not a cook, but I got caught up on editing and close to finishing a WIP! Snow is pretty just don’t make me drive in it. Spent too many years sweating bridges and overpasses getting to and from downtown in the stuff!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I do love to watch it come down–from safe inside the house! I’m with you there, Dani. Good for you getting caught up. I got much needed edits done. The best reason to wish for snow. 🙂

      Like

  6. Stay inside, write and cook, of course. The children go outside then over to the neighbor’s house to try to build a snowman with the tiny bit of snow we get.

    Like

  7. I love snow!! One of the places I lived as a child was on Lake Erie in Ontario, Canada. We had a hill that led down to a low seawall to the beach and lake beyond. After waxing the sled runners, we’d pile as many kids as could fit on the sled, and get up sped sliding down the hill, jump the seawall and go onto the frozen lake. I’ll see snow again next week when I go skiing!! Yey!!!

    Tweeted and shared.

    Like

Leave a Reply

