Sunday Social ~ Are You A Re-Reader?

Woman Reading A Novel by Vincent Van Gogh

Woman Reading A Novel by Vincent Van Gogh

I guess I never really thought about this until recently, during a conversation with my younger daughter.  I was telling her about one of my favorite books and that I’d read it probably five or six times and she says, “Oh.  I almost never read books more than once.”

This kind of floored me 1) because she reads all the time and 2) it never occurred to me that people would read books only once.  Now of course I don’t re-read every book.  Once is quite enough for some books. But others, man, I’d be a sad puppy if I couldn’t go back and re-visit my favorite characters from time to time.  Some books I need to re-visit almost every year because I love the hero or heroine or story so much. (Jo Beverley’s Devilish and Something Wicked, and Lisa Kleypas’s Devil in Winter if you were wondering.) 🙂

My older daughter, by the way, is just like me. When she discovered the Twilight series

Piles of French Novels by Vincent Van Gogh

Piles of French Novels by Vincent Van Gogh

when she was an early teen, she read them so many times she memorized large passages out of the books.  And the younger daughter who doesn’t re-read, re-watches her favorite musicals instead.  She’s watched her very favorite musical at least 100 times and has memorized the movie–songs, dialogue, and dances–completely.  So the urge to re-visit is there, just in a different medium. LOL

So back to my original question–are you a re-reader?

And if you’d like to visit with me a little more, today is my first day as a regular blogger for the Nights of Passion blog.  I’m now their regular Sunday blogger, so if you’d like to pop by and say Hi, I’d love to see a familiar face over there. 🙂

This entry was posted in On Reading, Social Sunday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Sunday Social ~ Are You A Re-Reader?

  1. angieia says:

    I do re-read sometimes. The first books that I re-read were the Twilight series before I got my Nook.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Before I began writing–and therefore lost most of my reading time–I re-read the Twilight series twice, I believe. I wasn’t looking for technique, just loved the story. I’m afraid to go back and re-read them now. I might not like them so much, might find lots of flaws in the writing that would turn me off. But I do love to re-watch the movies. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by, Angieia.

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    I went to the blog – said Currently under construction

    I used to re-read when I was much younger but now with so many books and authors to choose from and now with my pickiness about the writing itself, I don’t re-read

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I’ll go fix that, Sue. Thanks for the head’s up. I confess re-reading is becoming a harder choice to make as my TBR pile grows longer. Although i know there are books I will always re-read. Thanks so much for coming by!

      Like

  3. I am a re-reader. Usually they are books I’ve had for years.

    Like

  4. Jenna, I’ll reread. And usually it’s a series that I adore. When the next book of the series comes out, I’ll back track and reread some of the series and THEN read the new book. Some books are to savor, retaste and explore jewels of sayings or meanings that you may have missed the first time.

    Like

  5. melissakeir says:

    I have some wonderful books that I do reread. They are the ones on my keeper shelf. In fact, some of them I’ve read over and over again. Most are series books which makes sense to reread them, esp when a new book comes out. 🙂 It’s fun to go back and revisit those early times.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      You’re right, Melissa, the series are fun to revist and catch back up on when a new one comes out. I’m thinking about doing that for Outlander because of the series this summer. But I’d have to forget everything else in my life because those books are so long and suck me in so deep, I couldn’t do anything else BUT read them. LOL

      Like

  6. danijace says:

    I have several that I reread from time to time. For me to read a book more than once, the hero has to intrigue me. Make want to know him better and leave me wanting. 😉

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Yes, the hero is usually the big draw for me in re-reading. beowulf Malloren and Sebastian St. Vincent I have to curl up with every year and always am satisfied. The one exception to the hero rule may be Gone With the Wind, which I confess I have read many times. Scarlett O’Hara is, for me, one of the most fascinating female characters I’ve read. Rhett Butler is no slouch, but that is Scarlett’s book and her journey. Thanks for coming by, Dani!

      Like

  7. gemmabrocato says:

    There are several books I re-read. Chasing Fire by Nora Roberts is one I read every summer. It’s about Hot Shot fire fighters and serves as a reminder for me of how hard those men and women work and the danger they are in when putting out forrest fires. Re-reading makes me feel like I’m reconnecting with old friends.

    Like

  8. I have tried to re-read books, and can’t. The only exception is when I’m editing. I guess, my subconscious is telling me there are too many books I want to read, I don’t have time to re-read 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      That is a dilemma I do deal with as a re-reader, Andrea. Do I read a new one or re-read an old favorite? So many books, so little time. *sigh* Sometimes I skim through parts of the re-reads to get to my favorite bits. 🙂 Thanks for dropping in today!

      Like

  9. Absolutely! I start to miss the characters from my favorite books and have to go reread them, lol. There’s just something comforting about it 🙂

    Like

  10. Yes, I definitely re-read books but, like you, I’m selective. I’ve read TWO OLD WOMEN at least three times; Larry McMurtry’s LEAVING CHEYENNE, four or five; and I’m sure there are others that I’m not remembering right now. Seems like every time I re-read them, I pick up some new nuance.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Hi, Sandra!. That’s true for me too. I find a lot of things I missed the first time through–usually because I’m reading so fast to get through the story. I’ve read Larry McMurtry’s Lonesome Dove three of four times. LOVE IT. The mini-series was stunning.

      Like

  11. Ray G says:

    I not only rarely retread a book, I rarely read it at all if I have read a sample chapter. I get a feeling that I’ve read the book before. Can read the blurb, but try to avoid excerpts unless I don’t intend to read the book. This feeling of dejevu can come about even years later.

    Like

Leave a Reply

