Looking Forward to the New Year with Resolutions

613px-Happy_new_year_01.svg

Happy New Year’s Eve, everyone!

As 2013 winds to a close, I look back over the past 12 months to see that the year has been an odd mixture of productivity and sloth.  My biggest regret is slacking off on my blogging and social media commitments.  And while I did a lot of writing in its place, I ended up publishing only one novella during the year.  I did complete four other major projects, but they have either been sent to editors awaiting judgement or have been sidelined for needing more work.

That being said, I have come up with a list of New Year’s resolutions that I sincerely hope I will keep.  I need to mend my ways both professionally and personally in order to get the life I truly desire.

1.  Write more.  I need to write more books, more blog posts, more critiques, more Facebook posts, more Twitterings, more thank you cards.  I will never be able to write enough, so it’s a safe bet that I will always need to write more.

2.  Manage my time better.  This is the key, in my opinion, to making #1 happen.  I’m getting an egg timer and putting it beside my computer and working out a schedule of what I’m writing and when.  When I can be on social media and when I need to close that tab and work on other things.  I actually think this will allow me to be on social media more than I am currently.

3.  Be a bigger presence on social media.  This includes updating profiles and learning how to use social media successfully.  I need to work smarter, not harder in this arena.

4.  Learn how to promote my work better.  Again, I tend to always want to re-invent the wheel.  Now I’m going to find out how to just roll with it and streamline those efforts.

5.  Join a gym.  Yes, sloth that I am, I am joining a gym.  I found a Planet Fitness close to my work that’s very inexpensive and is open 24/7, which suits my pocketbook and my eclectic theatre schedule.  I’ll keep you posted on how this works out (no pun intended) as I absolutely HATE exercise.

6.  Lose 20 pounds.  This is not all I need to lose according to my health professional, but I think it’s a reachable goal that I can hopefully multiply throughout the year.

7.  Blog more.  This is actually tied to #1, but I was so remiss about posting this past year I’m making it a separate resolution.  My plan (see resolution #2) is to pre-schedule most of the blog posts each week so all the work gets done on one or two days.  I’m also hoping to maintain several regular features:  a book review post, a writing craft post, and re-instate the historical Alphabet Posts from this year.

So these are my Lucky Seven Resolutions for 2014.  I’m hoping they do not fall by the wayside too soon because if I can maintain them, 2014 will be a totally awesome year!

What are your resolutions or hopes for the new year?  Anyone want to share?

AND

(time for shameless promotion)

Please come by tomorrow for the

COVER REVEAL

for

BETRAYAL

BOOK 2 OF MY MEDIEVAL SERIAL NOVEL

TIME ENOUGH TO LOVE

I’ll be posting chapter 1 of Betrayal and giving away copies of Book 1, Betrothal.  betrothal-with-logoSo please come by, check out the book and maybe win a copy!

This entry was posted in Betrayal, Betrothal, Holiday Posts, On Time Enough to Love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Looking Forward to the New Year with Resolutions

  1. Sheri Fredricks says:

    As I read your resolutions, I found myself thinking “yup, yup” as I went down the list because most of yours are mine as well. I’m finding great Youtube exercise videos that I can access anytime, although nothing beats the motivation of going to a gym. Hugs to you for 2014 and ticking your way down the list!! I wish you all the best.

    Like

  2. lizaoconnor says:

    I also wrote a blog about writing more . Mine will show up on Jan 2 on my sci blog. Why? because I needed to fill a blog. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      And that is usually why we write more–there are holes to fill. And romance writers are so good at filling holes, you know? LOL Thanks for coming by, Liza. I’ll look for that blog tomorrow. 🙂

      Like

  3. Calisa Rhose says:

    Good luck, Jenna! With all if not just some of your resolutions. I don’t make new year’s lists anymore because I rarely kept resolutions when I did. So, you can drop by my blog later this week (Thursday?) to see what I’m trying in 2014 instead. 🙂

    Happy New Year!

    Like

  4. margeryscott says:

    Happy 2014, Jenna! I’ve decided to call them goals rather than resolutions. My main goal for next year is to be more productive, both professionally and personally. It’s far too easy to let one overtake the other. Balance is what I’m striving for!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      And that is a worthy goal, Margery. It’s one I struggle with constantly between writing, job, and family. It is very easy to lose your balance and come to grief in one or more of the areas you’re juggling. Good luck achieving and maintaining your balance in the new year!

      Like

  5. angieia says:

    I never stick to my resolutions, but I am going to try to exercise more. I am looking forward to reading Betrayal.

    Like

  6. Melissa Keir says:

    I’m horrible with resolutions because I don’t keep them. I like to plan and write goals but time and life keeps getting in the way. Many of your resolutions are ones I should follow too!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      They do seem to be hard to keep up, don’t they? That’s why they’re a good lesson in discipline, I suppose. We can try to keep them together this year, Melissa! Thanks for stopping by!

      Like

  7. Daryl Devore says:

    I’m another who doesn’t make goal or resolutions – I have a mental to do list – things get bumped higher or lower on it – according to my whims or life’s necessities.
    But I hear you on the exercise thing – if only exercising was fun and involved chocolate- then I’d be Olympic athlete fit!

    Like

  8. I don’t make resolutions, however, I do make a list of goals. Maybe the two are synonymous and I’m playing with semantics. Nonetheless, I have my usual goal of 7 books, but this year, I’ve planned a re-write of a book for which I recently got my rights back. That will be different. I also want to take a real vacation this year. Ken gets 5 weeks of vacation, but we squeak by on 3. Next year, his employer’s policy is “use it or lose it” so we need a get-outta-town vacation plan. We hope to go to one or two of the Provinces to which we’ve never been. First is Northwest Territories where I hope to experience a little piece of the Arctic circle. We may roll Yukon in there, too. But wherever we go, it’ll be for 2 whole weeks.

    Your resolutions are ambitious, Jenna. If there’s anything I can do to help you make them a reality, you’ve only to let me know. But, do try to remember that you need to sleep. Maybe you need an egg-timer for that, too. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I love that you’re going to get a whole two weeks out of town experience, Trish! That’s fantastic news. And I’m now wondering which of your books you’re re-writing. That will be an interesting project.

      And of course, I’ll be taking you up on your generous offer of help–which I’m positive I’ll need. Sleep is an issue I struggle with, I grant you, but I’ll try to include a sufficient amount via my resolution #2. There should be time enough for all things–theoretically. LOL

      Happy New Year to you and Ken!

      Like

  9. My writing goals are similar to yours. Writing more, blogging more consistently (once a week, maybe even twice a week), and figuring out the balance between writing, promoting and oh having a family life. Does running myself ragged count as exercise?

    I also hope to give back more to the writing community that has been so supportive. No, I’m not running for a board position, but I would like to take more time to not only stop by fellow author blogs but leave a comment, too. And not wait to offer my congratulations when someone shares good news. I don’t know why I feel like I need to come up with something clever or unique when a simple “congratulations on your new release/great review/book contract” will do. I’m the same way when it comes to group birthday cards, I can’t think of anything to say and I imagine the person thinking “she’s a writer and all she came up with was ‘Happy Birthday?”

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Giving back to the writing community is a great resolution and one I hope to do as well as part of media presence. It always makes an author feel good to see that people have come by their blog, even if just a congratulations. But I know what you mean. I always want to say a little more as well. Good luck on your resolutions!

      Like

  10. Tina Becker says:

    Good luck to you, Jenna! I don’t really have any resolutions other than try to lost weight and eat better. 🙂
    I can’t wait to read Betrayal!!!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Tina! Those are two of the most important and hardest things to do. I’m with you all the way there! And I do hope you enjoy Betrayal. It’s set to release on Jan. 31. I can’t wait either! 🙂

      Like

  11. 1. To improve my new blog and make it more user friendly with the kind of info my readers are looking for. 2. To finish my draft novel started with NaNoWriMo. 3.To read and review minimum of 100 books in 2014. 3. To acquaint myself with 25 new-to-me authors. If I do these things, I’ll be very satisfied. Happy New Year to you and yours Jenna.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      These sound like very ambitious resolutions, Eileen! Especially to read and review 100 books this year. WOW! I’ll be lucky to read and review 12 (I hope to have a monthly review post). But those are all fantastic. Good luck to you! And Happy New Year!

      Like

  12. I’d say blog smarter. A lot of people blog every day, and that’s just too much, unless you’re a reviewer.
    My one huge goal this year is a print contract. Other than that, I do need to lose some more weight, and get to the gym on a more regular basis.

    Happy New Year to you and yours!!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Ella! I’m playing with weekly posts, bi-weekly, and monthly. I want a variety of posts to help bring in a variety of readers. But no, I won’t do every day. 🙂 Happy New Year to you as well!

      Like

  13. I’ve been thinking about this and I’ve decided on one of my resolutions. This year I will not download any FREE kindle books (if someone gifts it to me or I win the book I guess that is different). Instead I will read the blurb, decided if it is something I want to read, wait for the price to go back to normal, and then PURCHASE the book. Authors need the support. Besides, I’ve paid $20 for a hardback book before, three dollars or less is a drop in the bucket.
    Thanks for sharing your own goals. Good luck!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thank you, Felicia! What a wonderful way to support authors! Free books help get the name out there, but sales are definitely a must in order for an author to survive. Great resolution!

      Like

  14. Great resolutions Jenna. I say ditto on all of yours. As far as the exercising, find what you enjoy (or at least don’t cringe at 😉 Zumba twice a week, swimming, and weights three times a week helped me loose 40lbs before I got pregnant with my daughter. And I was tone – even a girl that doesn’t like me commented on it. Now to get back into shape again 🙂
    Tweeted.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks, Andrea. Yes, the last time I lost weight was before my daughter was born and that was long ago, in a galaxy far far away! LOL My problem is I find exercise boring. The only one I find exciting is stage combat and I’m too out of shape to do that any more. 😦 So I’ll start slow–probably a treadmill-and work up to more strenuous stuff. Maybe I’ll bring my Kindle and listen to books as I walk. I could get into that! Have a great New Year!

      Like

  15. Sue says:

    I never make resolutions. I hope to have more contact with you in the new year.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I’ve found that actually making the resolutions and setting them down in writing helps me to focus on keeping them. 🙂 We’ll see. And yes, I’ve been missing you this past year! We need to find a time to connect each week at least. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

