Sunday Social ~ O, Christmas Tree

It’s December first, which means Christmas is right around the corner.  So my Sunday Social posts this month will be holiday oriented (big surprise!).  And today I’m starting with a question about one of the biggest Christmas traditions–the Christmas Tree.

444px-Baum_mond_2007

Do you get a live tree or an artificial tree?

I have never had an artificial tree as my main Christmas tree.  I’ve had small desk-top artificial tree at work, but at home it’s always been a live tree.  Even a couple of years ago when we spent Christmas in Cape Cod, we took about an 8″ tall live tree that sat on a stool with the presents grouped around it. LOL

Nothing beats the smell of a live tree.

Going out in the cold to buy the tree is a great family tradition and we always get the same shape tree:  tall and full.  I always decorated my parent’s tree and our girls have decorated our tree (except for the lights) since they were about 4 and 5.

So how do you weigh in?  Artificial or real?  If you don’t put up a tree, which one do you think has more merit?  There are pros and cons to consider for both.

Thanks for stopping by!  I hope you have a wonderful holiday season!

 

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Sunday Social ~ O, Christmas Tree

  1. I’d prefer to have an artificial tree. They make them look so real. I know, no smell. But the idea of taking a life, yes a tree, and so many are cut, that it breaks my heart.

    Like

  2. Carrie-Anne says:

    When I still celebrated Christmas, I had a small artificial tree. For a long time now, my parents have had an artificial tree too. Though I’ve been Jewish for 15 years now, I still have my favorite old Christmas ornament, a little porcelain teddybear with an also-porcelain cornflower blue bow around his neck. Since I was only three when I got him, I innocently named him Whitey. He’s on display as a knick-knack on a bookshelf now, and has been on display on various shelves and mantles before.

    My late paternal grandpap was Eastern Catholic in origin, and claimed his family put their tree up after the Western Christmas because that’s the Eastern custom. My grandma told me it was really more because his family were poor, and they salvaged these trees from the dump.

    Like

  3. ki pha says:

    I will have to go with artificial. Less time for cleaning and much cheaper. Plus I can use it every year.

    Though I would love a live tree to experience the joy of shopping for one and the smell when it’s up and decorated.

    Like

  4. I love real Christmas trees and never had one until last year. I tried a real one down here, but they just don’t work well, so I went to a pre-lit artificial tree. It’s nice, but the feeling isn’t the same. Tweeted and shared.

    Like

  5. Rhissanna says:

    Live tree. There are a lot of scrubby bunched-up pines on my land and I thin them out, one tree per year. I know it’s a real privilege to be able to choose and cut my own Christmas tree. When it’s done, I throw the tree back onto the land to decay naturally

    Like

  6. When I was a little girl, we always had a lovely Christmas tree. While I was very young, it was a real tree that my Grandpa secured for us. After he died, we got an artificial tree, and in those days, they really looked artificial. Nonetheless, it became the family tree and with lights and our heirloom glass balls, it was as special as could be. We don’t have a tree anymore, though I’m told we could have in order to celebrate the winter solstice. For just Ken and I it would seem like a waste. We hang the few ornaments we have off of a houseplant, and put up lots of colored lights to dispel the early darkness. Wishing you and yours a lovely pre-Christmas!

    Like

  7. cara marsi says:

    I, too, love the smell of real trees, but for 25 years my husband and I put up the same artificial tree. We’d bought it for $25 the day after Christmas back in the 70’s. When our son was growing up, I wanted to get a real tree so he could have the experience of shopping for one. My son said he didn’t want a real tree, that the artificial one was our family tree. After he went to college and shopped for real trees with his roommates, he wanted us to have a real tree, too, so every year on his Christmas break we’d go out and get a real tree. Now that he’s grown and living halfway across the country, my husband and I put up a small artificial tree (no, not the one from the 70’s)

    Like

  8. I love the smell of real trees, but they are messy. If we had an xmas tree (hubby was raised Jehovah Witness) I’d like to make a family tradition of planting two trees in place of the one we took 🙂
    Great post. Tweeted.

    Like

  9. Melissa Keir says:

    When I was younger, we had two trees- one real and one artificial. When I married, we got my parents’ artificial tree because we travel for the holidays and aren’t home to keep it watered. When the kids were little, we had a real tree. Going out and chopping it down was a part of the fun. Now, we only do the artificial tree. We usually have our tree up for the whole month of December, so it’s nice to have a tree without all the worry, esp. with little dogs and cats running around.

    Like

  10. Layna says:

    Growing up, we always had a real tree. As an adult, we’ve had the same artificial tree for about ten years now. I’d love a real one, but really don’t have a means of transporting it home, or to get it recycled at the end of the season.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      My dad recycled our tree and all the neighbors’ trees by cutting the limbs down to stubs and then using the trunk as tomato plant stakes in his garden the next summer. 🙂 Ours usually goes to the dump sometime after new years. Thanks for stopping by,Layna!

      Like

Leave a Reply

