Jenna’s 411 for November

I hope everyone had a Happy Thanksgiving and/or Hanukkah and are looking forward to more happy holidays in December.

I wanted to give you a little information about what’s going on with me and my writing because November was quite a month for change.  Back in October I had decided to go ahead and self-publish my Victorian romance As Long As You’re Mine.  I’d had several requests from agents and was just waiting for the final agent to contact me before going ahead with publication.

rnc_iojx1047a-300

When the rejection came in, it contained a lot of feedback, some of which I’d heard before, but some new criticisms as well.  There was a lot she like, but some major points that she believed made the book un-sellable.  After my knee-jerk reaction of “Well I’m going to publish it anyway,” died down, I realized that I’d heard this particular comment several times from those who had read the book:  the heroine is not likeable.  I’d heard that comment about 50% of the time, which means 50% of my audience wasn’t going to like the book.  And then what’s the point of publishing it?

So I’ve decided to shelve As Long As You’re Mine until the spring when I can give Lady Samantha Easterling a little attitude correction.  I’ve already figured out how to make her more likeable and sympathetic, I just need the time to do it.

The good news is, Betrayal, the second medieval novella in my serial novel Time Enough to Love, is scheduled for release in late December.  The cover reveal should happen in early December along with Chapter 1.  To whet the appetite of course.  And I’ll be promoting Betrayal during the month on features such as Horny Hump Day (oh, yes, there are some hot love scenes in this one as well), Sweet Nothings, and a couple of posts about medieval practices such as bedding the bride and bathing.  So look for Betrayal a lot during December.

Also in December I’ll be working on revising the final novella in Time Enough to Love, Book 3 Beleaguered, which brings the story of Alyse, Geoffrey, and Thomas to a close during the early days of the Black Plague in England and France.  I’m hoping this book will release in late February/early March.

I’ve also just completed a revision of Only Marriage Will Do, Book 2 in The House of Pleasure series, and sent it off to my editor at Lyrical Press.  I’ll let you know ASAP what the verdict is there.

So that’s my 411 for November.  December is going to be a busy month, and I’ll keep you posted what’s happening with me and my works.

Hope you have a great weekend in store!

This entry was posted in Betrayal, House of Pleasure Series, On As Long As You're Mine, On Publishing, on Victorian Romance, On Works in Progress, Only Marriage Will Do, WIP and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Jenna’s 411 for November

  1. Melissa Keir says:

    Wow, you are busy! I wish you much success with your books and upcoming projects. I’ll be sure to keep my eyes open for the cover reveal and new releases!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks, Melissa! Yes, it’s going to be a very busy Christmas season and I’m very excited to have Betrayal coming out finally. I’ll be sure to keep everyone informed about the cover reveal and the release. 🙂

      Like

  2. Sue says:

    Hey there! An unlikable heroine does not make a book unreadable… just sayin’

    Alyse and Thomas?? But where is Gregory????

    I’m still fiddling with my romance novel but now have to get back to The Bench which is a collection of my shorter works

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Hi, Sue! No, it doesn’t make it unreadable, but it may make for some pretty harsh reviews. I know because I’ve run across a couple I couldn’t stand. So I’ll try to make her a bit more sympathetic.

      And don’t worry, Geoffrey’s still in the mix. The novel’s about all three of them.

      When’s your collection coming out? And how’s the novel coming? You need to do a 411 post on your doings! 🙂

      Like

      • Sue says:

        All three of them???

        The novel is just up to part I a long way to go

        Depending on when my book cover designer and others are available and if I can tear mysellf way from my characters, I hope it’s out in the new year.

        You can bet your bippy I’ll let you know 😀

        Like

  3. You have a lot going on!! Let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. Tweeted and shared on FB.

    Like

  4. You are amazing. I say that with all reverence. I do not know how you manage sleep deprivation, rejections, writing/editing, day job, and family commitments. If you were writing full-time, I’ll bet you’d put out a book a month! And a quality one at that. Keep up the good work, Jenna. We’re rootin’ for ya.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      🙂 Thank you so much, Trish. I also wonder what i could accomplish if I could devote myself to writing full time. Perhaps in a couple of years, when my daughters are through college–or if I get that big break with my next book. 🙂 Meanwhile, I’ll keep doing what I can and making it work as best I can.

      Like

  5. Carrie-Anne says:

    Good luck with revising your heroine’s character. The more time a writer spends with a character, the better s/he gets to know said character, and therefore can write that character much better, including going back and correcting inconsistencies or unsympathetic actions. Even if a character might seem bad on paper, like Amber St. Clare or Scarlett O’Hara, the audience has to have a reason to root for her and understand her motivations. She needs to be a different person by the end of the book than she was at the start.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Thanks, Carrie-Anne. I’ve got my work cut out for me to both make Samantha more sympathetic and yet leave her enough room to grow throughout the book. I can’t wait to see what happens. 🙂

      Like

  6. Daisy Banks says:

    Wow, Jenna, what a month. Good luck with your submissions and your other plans for the new year.

    Like

  7. lizaoconnor says:

    I’m exhausted now and feel like a sluggard in comparison.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      It’s really very easy, Liza–you just have to convince yourself you only need about 4 hours of sleep a night. LOL i’ll catch up once school goes into exams on Dec. 11. Then i only have to be there 2 hours a day.

      Like

Leave a Reply

