Spotlight: The Secret Life of Miss Anna Marsh by Ella Quinn

The Secret Life of Miss Anna Marsh

“Let yourself be seduced by this sexy mix of spies, smugglers, and happily ever afters.” —USA Today Bestselling author Sally MacKenzie

Since she was a young girl, Anna Marsh has dreamed of Sebastian, Baron Rutherford asking for her hand in marriage. But that was in another life when her brother Harry was alive, before she vowed to secretly continue the work he valiantly died for. Now as Sebastian finally courts Anna, she must thwart his advances. Were he to discover her secret, he would never deem her a suitable wife…

Sebastian has always known Anna would become his wife someday. He expects few obstacles, but when she dissuades him at every turn he soon realizes there is much more to this intriguing woman. Somehow he must prove to her that they are meant to be together. But first he must unravel the seductive mystery that is Miss Anna Marsh…

Excerpt for The Secret Life of Miss Anna Marsh:

“I hope you have a wonderful time at the wedding, my dear,” Lady Marsh said. “I was so pleased to hear that Lady Phoebe is finally marrying. She certainly has taken her time settling on someone.”

“Yes, Mama. We are all delighted for Phoebe.” Mama had in no way approved of the license Phoebe had been given and could not fathom any lady’s waiting for a love match. Mama’s match had been arranged, and she and Papa had got along very well until Harry died. Then it all seemed to fall apart.

Lady Marsh frowned. “I don’t understand why Lady Phoebe had to pick the most eligible gentleman available this Season. Really, Anna, I think you could have done something more to interest him.”

Anna valiantly forbore sighing. Lord Marcus Finley, Phoebe’s intended, had been the topic of conversation since early September. “Mama, I’ve told you. He formed an attachment for Phoebe years ago,” Anna said. “The only reason he danced with me, that one time, was to aid her. I never had a chance, and I would have looked ridiculous trying to set my cap at him.”

“Please do not use that vulgar term,” her mother replied. “There is Rutherford, my love. He is very eligible, and his mother told me that since he didn’t do a good job attaching Lady Phoebe . . . ”

“Mama,” Anna interrupted. “Phoebe had no interest in Rutherford. They are friends. That is all.”

“As I was saying, my dear, Lord Rutherford is free and in need of a wife. I am sure, if you would only make yourself agreeable to him, he’d be happy to make you an offer.”

Anna resisted the urge to cast her eyes upward. She missed the intimacy she’d had with her mother before Harry’s death. Everything was so different now. Anna certainly wasn’t going to tell her mother Sebastian had proposed. Trying to turn the conversation away from marriage, Anna said. “Mama, why do you call him Lord Rutherford, when you’ve known him all his life?”

“That is what we do, my dear. You would be well advised to remember he is no longer a schoolboy, but rather a very eligible gentleman.”

Ella will be giving away a copy of The Secret Life of Miss Anna Marsh to one commenter on the blog today.

Ella QuinnAbout the Author:

Ella Quinn lived all over the United States, the Pacific, Canada, England and Europe before finally discovering the Caribbean. She lives in St. Thomas, Virgin Islands with her wonderful husband, three bossy cats and a loveable great dane. Ella loves when friends connect with her:

Website: www.ellaquinnauthor.com

Facebook: www.facebook.com/EllaQuinnAuthor

Twitter www.twitter.com/ellaquinnauthor

Blog http://ellaquinnauthor.wordpresscom

This entry was posted in Book Spotlights, Guest Bloggers, Promotion and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

41 Responses to Spotlight: The Secret Life of Miss Anna Marsh by Ella Quinn

  1. Linda Gilman says:

    It sounds like an intriguing story. One I will surely be reading as soon as I finish the edits on my current manuscript. Lovely cover. You seem like a lovely lady. Loved visiting your blog.

    Like

  2. lizaoconnor says:

    This is a fabulous book. I gave it five stars.

    Like

  3. Gorgeous cover! Great excerpt. Sounds like a wonderful book.

    No need to enter me into the contest. I believe I already won a copy.
    Can’t wait to get it and start reading.

    Wishing you the best luck in sales!

    Like

  4. Lovely excerpt, Ella. Delightful book 🙂 Good going!!

    Like

  5. Julie says:

    You make him work for it, Anna Marsh!

    Thanks for sharing the excerpt with us. 🙂

    Like

  6. texasdruids says:

    As always, a very tantalizing excerpt, Ella. Miss Anna is waiting for me. Sigh. Must finish a couple projects for friends first. Then I’ll relax with a cup of herbal mint tea and read, read , read!

    Like

  7. Ella – That’s such a beautiful cover! Lovely.

    Like

  8. Lani says:

    Oh, great excerpt, Ella!!! Just loved it!

    Like

  9. Daryl Devore says:

    Fantastic excerpt.
    Tweeted.

    Like

  10. terashanley says:

    eeeek! I can’t wait for this 😀 I loved this excerpt…why? because i just got done reading The Seduction of Lady Phoebe and this was such a cool throw back to it! I can’t wait to read what happens next!

    thumbalina2323(at)yahoo(dot)com

    Like

  11. I love Anna…she is such an unconventional heroine in ways…and I like when my heroines aren’t cookie cutter figures! Great excerpt… (as usual!)

    Like

  12. karenlopp says:

    Great excerpt, Ella. I’m so looking forward to my life slowing down a bit so I can read more. Your at the top of my list.

    Like

  13. It sounds fabulous! I love when there’s a little intrigue with the romance. Here’s wishing you success!

    Like

  14. Melissa Keir says:

    All the best with your releases!! 🙂

    Like

  15. Great cover! Love the excerpt! And I learned a new word: forbore! Tweeted.

    Like

  16. I can’t wait to read Anna’s story!

    Like

  17. Pingback: Spotlight: The Secret Life of Miss Anna Marsh by Ella Quinn | Collette Cameron Author

  18. D'Ann says:

    Love that cover!

    Like

  19. I would love to win any of your novels! I’ve shared 🙂

    Like

  20. Denene says:

    I loved the first book in the series. I can’t wait to read Anna and Rutherford’s story.

    Like

  21. angieia says:

    Enjoyed this enjoyed this excerpt. This is different from the other excerpts and giving us a glimpse at what Anna is going through.

    Like

  22. Love the cover and really enjoyed the blurb Ella! Congrats on a wonderful book!

    Like

  23. Jean Patton says:

    Enjoyed the excerpt, this sounds like an exciting book. The character Anna is an intriguing, no nonsense type of lady.

    Like

Leave a Reply

