Sunday Social: My Favorite Scary Movies

My last pre-Halloween topic for Sunday Social is scary movies, not that I’ve seen a lot.  Despite my love of all things Stephen King, I’m the world’s biggest wimp when it comes to watching scary movies.

watching-horror-movies

I tend to like the ones that are tongue in cheek, like Tremors, or American Werewolf in London, or Theatre of Blood (a psycho actor kills critics according to the ShakespeareanFrankenstein-Poster-classic-movies-19761154-324-500 plays they panned him in.  I LOVE this movie!).  And I’ve seen and love the classics:  Frankenstein, The Mummy, The Wolfman, Dracula, The Creature from the Black Lagoon.

And I’ve seen some straight horror films:  Carrie (original), The Shining, Final Destination 2 (hubby and I went by mistake), The Sixth Sense, and downloadThe Exorcist.  I saw the latter one when I was in undergrad school and slept with the light on for a week! LOL

But my best story surrounding a scary movie was the time I watched The Ring.  I posted about this on Halloween two years ago, but it is my favorite Halloween story, so I’ll tell it to you it again.

My kids were probably 8 and 10 and I had taken them trick or treating in our neighborhood.  My husband decided to take them out in the car and continue the candy fest, so I’m left home alone to watch a scary movie people had been telling me to watch:  The Ring.

ring-2002-poster-0

I put the VHS tape I had rented in and started watching.  If you’ve seen it you know creepy is an understatement.  And I’m alone in the house watching a movie on tape about a tape that people watch, then they get a phone call and seven days later they die.  Maybe not the best movie to watch under these circumstances.

About half-way through the movie my husband and children arrive home.  The kids go off to OD on chocolate and my husband says he wants to watch the movie with me.  I re-wind and start to watch again, still creeped out.  Hubby promptly falls asleep but I keep watching–in a very quiet house.

I am at the point in the movie where the reporter has discovered the little girl and wakes up her son to tell him that the girl had been removed from the well.  The little boy looks at her, terrified, and says “You shouldn’t have done that.”

At that moment my house telephone rang.

I stared at the cordless phone, sitting beside my husband, thinking “Don’t answer it.”  My hubby rouses from his sleep, grabs the phone and answers it.  Still half asleep, he thrust it toward me and said, “It’s for you.”

I looked from the phone to the screen, grabbed for the remote to try to stop the movie, grabbed for the phone all the while  yelling, “Oh, sh*t! Oh, sh*t!” My hand hit the phone, sending it flying into the foyer so I scrambled after it, still cursing.  I picked it up, put it cautiously to my ear and said, “Hello?”

“What the hell is going on over there?!”  It was my cousin calling to see how things were going with the kids’ Trick or Treating.  Relieved that she hadn’t said “Seven days,” I started to laugh, then told her what had happened.  Later I finished watching the movie–even more creeped out–and vowed NEVER to watch a horror movie on Halloween again.  It was scary as hell when it happened, but it makes a great story several years afterwards. LOL

What’s your favorite scary movie?

 

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Sunday Social: My Favorite Scary Movies

  1. LOL Great post, Jenna! I normally don’t do scary movies…but I’m thinkin’ I might need to this year 😉

    Like

  2. Pingback: 5 Scary Movies That Weren’t Meant to Be Scary | screensnacks

  3. I don’t like scary movies. They scare me 🙂 But I have watched the original Carrie and am interested in the remake of it.

    Like

  4. Ah! LOVE scary movies. My niece and nephew are constantly going to the movies or screening movies at home to find something that scares me. Not much does. I am a HUGE Stephen King fan. Love each every one of his books.

    I watched The Conjuring a few days ago as my niece and nephew saw it at the theater and said it scared them witless. It wasn’t bad. Actually one of the better “based on a true story” movies I’ve seen in a while.

    My brother, his best friend and I went to see the Exorcist at the theater when it came out. Now that movie scared the bejeebers out of me. We slept in the den with the lights on that night and I think my brother and I both slept with nightlights for a long time after in spite of the fact we were teenagers!

    My favorite funny scary movies are – Shaun of the Dead, Tremors, and An American Werewolf in London.

    I LOVE The Fog! I just got the original on DVD at Walmart for 5 bucks! And I’m a big fan of Bruce Campbell in Evil Dead and Evil Dead 2.

    Now I need to got out and get Theater of Blood. LOVE Vincent Price. I actually met him in person and got his autograph. He was doing a one-man show of Oscar Wilde and he was amazing in it. We talked after the show about Oscar Wilde, opera, and Edgar Allan Poe. I told him “You have been starring in my nightmares for years!” He laughed that Vincent Price laugh and said “Why thank you, my dear.” Truly one of the highlights of my life.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      OMG! I am so envious! To have met and talked to Vincent Price. How awesome was that? The Exorcist has to be the scariest movie of all time. I say the name and the theme song from Tubular Bells starts in my head. Creepy!

      Like

  5. I don’t like scary movies. Which is a little weird because I grew up glued to “Twilight Zone” and “Night Gallery” on TV. I guess there are a few scary movies I watched that I can remember well: the original “Nosferatu” (1922) and “The Stand” (although Stand was a mini-series; not sure that counts) come to mind first. Talk about creepy. I still get shivers when I think of Nosferatu and that movie is so antiquated, I ought to find it funny rather than scary! I also loved King’s “Needful Things”, but I read the book first so I knew what was going to happen and wasn’t scared. I’ve seen a lot of Stephen King movies after reading the books. “It” gave me nightmares and I still hate clowns.

    The movie you watched that Halloween sounds like a real hair raiser. shudder

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I love Stephen King’s book, but they don’t always translate well into movies. The Stand mini-series was awesome. And It is my favorite of his books. The mini-series was good, loved Tim Curry as Pennywise! But the monster at the end wasn’t done well. It should have been the Queen in Aliens. 🙂 But the book is truly frightening.

      And you’re right, it was a hair raiser!

      Like

  6. Melissa Keir says:

    The one that kept me awake was Salem’s Lot. It’s also a Stephen King movie. David Soul was taking on vampires. These weren’t the cute vampires from The Lost Boys, these stood outside your window and really scared you with their ugly faces! Totally scary!!

    Like

  7. Ok, after reading this I MUST see Theatre of Blood. It sounds like a hoot.

    As you may have predicted, I love the campy horror. cmdrsue mentioned Dead Alive which may be my all time fave. Then there’s Evil Dead, Re-Animator, Killer Klowns from Outer Space – I love it all!

    Like

  8. Goodness, I have to admit I can’t handle scary movies unless they are really logical or I convince myself they are. I remember watching Exorcist as a kid and afterward, none of us even wanted to touch the VHS to take it out of the player, lol.

    Like

  9. I love scary movies. This week I went to see the new Carrie (the old one is much creepier) and last night watched The Conjuring. I think my favorite of all time is The Shining. I used to have nightmares about it and had to calm myself down by thinking about The Muppet Movie.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      The book The Shining scared the hell out of me, much more so than the movie. I mean, Jack Nicholson is weird and creepy on a normal day so it was no long stretch to see him flip out. It was an awesome film–loved the final shots in the snow-covered maze–and the dead girls and the lady in the bathtub are certainly the stuff of nightmares! I always thought it ironic that The Shining is the movie playing at the drive-in in Twister when the tornado hits.

      Like

  10. cmdrsue says:

    Favorite “funny” scary movies include House and Dead Alive. As for “scary” scary movies… Hmmm. We own, and watch, a lot of scary movies. One that I tend to pull out more often than others is Ghost Ship. We also love The Changeling starring George C. Scott. Ok, I’ll stop at two of each. 🙂

    Like

  11. Great post! I love scary movies. My hubby doesn’t care for them (they bore him), so I usually end up watching them myself. I’m not sure I have any favorites. The more true to life, the scarier they are for me. I don’t seem to scare easily. I’ll jump and cover my eyes, but never seem to be scared once the movie is finished.

    I watched too many of them when I was little: Pet Cemetery, IT, Freddy Krueger, Fog (though I thought the book was scarier)
    I remembered they scared me at the time. I think I was around ten or so. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Pet Cemetery creeped me out like nothing else. It’s the only Stephen King book I couldn’t read more than once. I’m amazed I even watched the movie! But I loved It. Never watched a Freddy Krueger *shudder* Talk about nightmares!

      Like

  12. How funny, Jenna!! I don’t have one. I can’t watch scary movies, they give me nightmares.

    Like

  13. LOL! Great post, Jenna! My favorite Halloween movie is Halloween, lol. My favorite scary movie is The Fog-with Jamie Lee Curtis, not the newer version and Salem’s Lot!

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Oooh, Jennifer, I love The Fog (original, like you) and Salem’s Lot. Truly scary! So was Halloween. Didn’t even see it in the movie theatre and it still scared the pants off me. 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

