Sweet Nothings–10/12/13 As Long As You’re Mine

If you are looking for the Scandal and Betrothal Giveaways, click HERE
 

Couple by  Michel Garnier

“Let me whisper sweet nothings in your ear.”

Welcome back to Sweet Nothings, a little shadow of Sweet Saturday Samples, until that sweet treat starts back up.  Until that happens, I’m doing a little weekly blog where you can post a “sweet” excerpt  (PG 13 or milder) from one of your works.  Remember: please  hold the excerpt to 350 words or less. But if your cutting needs just a few more words, that’s okay too.  I won’t be counting. LOL

rnc_iojx1047a-300

Today’s “Sweet Nothing” is another excerpt from my (hopefully) soon-to-be released Victorian historical novel, As Long As You’re Mine.  This excerpt is the spirited continuation of last week’s “nothing.”  Rafe gets a bit more than he bargained for.

“Stop! Stop right there, Mr. Beauregard.” No panic in her, just imperious command. “And stop looking at me like that.”

“Like what?”

“Like you’re thinking about…about what happened…” She trailed off then raised her chin to meet his smoldering gaze.

“But I am thinking about it, Samantha.” He reached out and seized her shoulders. “I’m thinking about it this very second.” His mouth descended without warning, insistent against her soft, perfect lips. Encouraged to find no resistance, he angled his head, slipped one arm around her waist and the other behind her head, tangling his fingers in her silky hair.

He ran his tongue lightly over her closed lips and felt her shudder. His heart began to hammer as he teased further, seeking some chink in her tight defenses. When he found none, he concentrated on seducing her lips with gentle tugs, nibbling here and there. She relaxed in his arms and slid her hands up onto his shoulders, pulled him toward her. He lifted his head in surprise to find her eyes, ice picks of gray steel, staring at him from less than an inch away. He caught movement in his peripheral vision and jerked back, but—

Whap!

Pain exploded along his left cheek. He cupped his face, too stunned to do more than watch as Samantha stepped back, shaking her hand. He moved his jaw gingerly, making sure it had not been dislodged, and rubbed the cheek to assuage the sting. She frowned and fired heated glances at him, though she seemed more surprised and confused than angry. Was she upset because he had kissed her, or because she had liked the kiss? Only one way to find out.

 As Long As You’re Mine–Coming November 2013

Okay, now it’s your turn to share a “Sweet Nothing.” 🙂

This entry was posted in On As Long As You're Mine, Promotion, Sweet Nothings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Sweet Nothings–10/12/13 As Long As You’re Mine

  1. I love this weekly event! Thank you, Jenna, for hosting us. Poor Rafe. He hardly knew what hit him. LOL

    Here’s my segment for this week. It’s from The Winner: Romantek Book One. Herein, Audrey has decided to bring a little 22nd century feminism to 1850s Nebraska. She enters the saloon.

    The place was silent, save the indrawn breaths of some of the patrons. Audrey didn’t quite know what to do. It looked like she’d made an error in judgment and nothing bad was happening inside. But there she was. Should she turn around and run away? In the twenty-second century Audrey surely would. But what about the 1850s Audrey? How much adventure was she willing to experience? She’d always wanted to be more assertive. This was her chance, in a safe way.

    Clearing her throat and tightening her shoulders, Audrey barged her way through the crowd and bellied up to the bar.

    “I’ll have whisky on the rocks,” she said bravely. She’d never had a drop of whisky in her life, but now was as good a time as any to try it.

    The bartender eyed her as though she’d sprouted another set of arms, putting down the bottle he had in his hand. “Rocks?”

    “Ice?”

    “Ain’t got no ice, lady, and you shouldn’t ought to be here. Skeedaddle.”

    “I-I have every right to be here,” she told him, hating the quaver in her own voice.

    “No ma’am, you ain’t. So lessin’ you’re plannin’ on hirin’ yourself to the saloon, I suggest you hike your foolish tail out o’ here.”

    …. She stuck out her chin, stubbornly determined. “I demand that you serve me that whisky.”

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Talk about a fish out of water! Poor Audrey! I know something of the mores of 1850s America and she’s in for a peck of trouble if she doesn’t back down. Hope her hero comes to the rescue! Great snippet, Trish.

      Like

  2. Great excerpts. Thank you for letting us post here, Jenna. Here’s mine from Viking Fire:
    “The bedchambers are upstairs.” She pointed.
    “Lead the way, then, my lady.” He grinned. His smile did not falter her resolve to be rid of him; instead, she stomped each foot on the stone steps.
    She showed him the larger one first. “Our room.” She waved her hand as she stood at the threshold.
    He moved passed her and into the room. Surveying the goose-feathered mattress he turned back to her. “Tis the first you admit we marry.”
    “No. I said no such—”
    He crossed the distance to her. He pulled her in his embrace and she went rigid. She opened her mouth to scream, but as she drew a breath his lips crushed hers. Tingles of warmth crept from inside her to the tips of her toes. Her mind raced, demanding she be free, while her traitorous body melted in his arms. His kiss became gentle and sparked a craving inside her for more. His mouth opened, offering her to taste secrets. She slackened against him as his tongue played across her lips, stroking, and numbing her thoughts. He did not force his way further, but ended the kiss with her lips yearning for his. Then he stepped back.
    She gasped, horrified. Her hands were clutching his hair and she jerked them away as if he scalded her.
    “Your lips and eyes speak of your love.” He beamed at her frown. “Now I am sure of your passion for me.”
    “No.” That was enough! He had overstepped his bounds with his prideful arrogant assumptions. “You are mistaken; I wish to never marry you.” She would not fall in love with him. No matter his handsome face. She must not allow herself to acknowledge that she liked it when he kissed her. How she wished to be rid of him and all the turmoil he caused. She would never be free if he became the laird over her.
    “Aye, your kiss spoke more than you know.” He chuckled and held her hand kissing her palm. “In time the rest of you will agree as well.”

    Amazon: http://goo.gl/71VAsf
    B & N: http://goo.gl/EvBxwf

    Like

  3. lindabanche says:

    Here’s my latest Regency comedy novella, A MUTUAL INTEREST IN NUMBERS, Book 2 of Love and the Library

    BLURB:
    Love and the Library–A celebration of the beginnings of love wherein four Regency gentlemen meet their matches over a copy of Pride and Prejudice at the library.

    Love and the Library Book 2: Ellen and Laurence

    Lightning doesn’t strike in the same place twice. Does it?

    Regency gentleman Mr. Laurence Coffey doesn’t care for libraries and novels. His interests run to steam engines and mathematics. But his friend found the lady of his dreams at the library over a copy of Pride and Prejudice. Laurence yearns for a lady of his own, one of wit and cleverness as well as beauty. And while he doesn’t expect his friend’s luck, visiting the library can’t hurt.

    Miss Ellen Palmer uses her mathematics to help her inventor father and brother build steam engines, but, unfortunately, many men frown on bluestockings. She loves the library and its mathematics books as well as its novels, especially her favorite, Pride and Prejudice. How she would like to find her own Mr. Darcy. Perhaps someday, somewhere, she can discover a man who wants an intelligent woman.

    At the library, they both reach for a copy of Pride and Prejudice at the same time. Can their mutual interest in numbers–and this particular novel–make their dreams come true?

    A sweet, traditional Regency romance, but not a retelling of Pride and Prejudice. And there’s a duck. Quack.

    EXCERPT:
    Laurence pushed aside a copy of Byron’s The Corsair and then curled his lip at a volume of sermons. Gads, sermons on Sunday were enough for anyone.

    He set the sermons aside to reveal the book beneath. Pride and Prejudice. The novel that had brought his friend his lady.

    Could this book somehow help a man find his love? He extended his hand toward the tome…

    A gloved feminine hand, also reaching for the novel, bumped into his. “Oh, I beg your pardon.” The voice was soft and musical.

    He jerked upright. “No, I beg your pardon.” The same extraordinary blue eyes that had almost knocked him flat a moment ago threatened to do so again. And he wouldn’t even care.

    As if he were under the effect of Mr. Mesmer’s animal magnetism, he waved in the general direction of the book. “Please, be my guest.” Take the book. Take me.

    Like

  4. Love the excerpts. I’d post, but Hubby is dragging me off to a farmer’s market. Tweeted and shared on FB.

    Like

  5. Carrie-Anne says:

    I bet he wasn’t expecting that reaction!

    Here’s one from Chapter 46 of my WIP, Journey Through a Dark Forest. It’s Valentine’s Day 1939, and young couple Tatyana and Nikolay have gone out to a fancy French restaurant in uptown Manhattan. They’ve been best friends since they were babies, and it’s always been assumed they’d grow up to marry. They’re now university students, and living in the same house while maintaining separate bedrooms, as Tatyana is terrified of ending up an unwed mother like both of their mothers were. The wait to properly live together is about to get much shorter!

    For dessert, the waiter brings out a coeur à la crème in a dish of candied strawberries and raspberries, then sets down two cups of hot chocolate. Nikoláy smiles at Tatyana after the waiter has departed.

    “All for you, if you’d like. I don’t need to order two desserts or stuff myself.”

    “It’s so pretty. I almost don’t want to eat it.”

    “You have to eat it. I ordered it just for you, ahead of time. It made me think of you, since you’re such a sweetheart. You know, my mother told me I liked you from the first time I saw you when I was fourteen months old and you were a few days old. She said I wouldn’t stop screaming for the baby, and wouldn’t shut up till your mother had let me hold you with support.”

    “I’m glad you think I’m a sweetheart. Most of my family thinks I’m a heartless witch these days.”

    “All that matters is what I think. We’ll be our own family soon, and I won’t let anyone badmouth you.”

    Tatyana reaches for the cup in front of her, and Nikoláy quickly pushes his cup over.

    “I think you should have this one. There’s more hot chocolate in it. And the saucer is prettier. I thought I told the waiter to put this one in front of you.”

    “It’s not important to me. It’s only hot chocolate.”

    “I want you to have a fancy dining experience. Please, just take this cup. I want you to have it.”

    Tatyana shrugs and picks up the other cup. As she’s drinking, Nikoláy subtly slides the saucer away, trying not to make any noise or look at her. He folds his hands and looks at the wall while waiting for her to put the cup back down.

    Tatyana frowns slightly when she sees her saucer missing. Wondering if her mind is playing tricks on her, she reaches out to pull it back. As she’s so doing, her eyes fall upon the silver garnet ring.

    “Will you marry me?” Nikoláy blurts out.

    “Yes, of course! I’ve known I wanted to marry you since I was a child!”

    Nikoláy picks up the ring and slips it onto her right hand. “I hope you don’t mind it’s so simple. I can’t afford some lavish diamond or sapphire ring right now.”

    “I don’t care! It’s the prettiest, sweetest ring I could’ve asked for!” She leans across the table and kisses him.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      So sweet! I’ve always thought these types of proposals the most romantic! (My engagement ring came in my Christmas stocking–not a bad surprise. LOL) Thanks for sharing, Carrie-Anne.

      Like

Leave a Reply

