Social Sunday: My Favorite Halloween Movie

Welcome back to Social Sunday, the day I do no promotion on the blog and just kind of hang out with personal topics.

Since it’s October, my favorite month, and Halloween, my favorite holiday, is just around the corner, this month will probably be devoted to all things autumn and Halloween-y.  Starting with my favorite Halloween movie (non-scary).

hocuspocus-210x300

I loved this movie from the first time I saw it.  My kids loved it all these years and I just got to watch it again (and not for the last time this year I suspect) the other night.  The casting of the witches could not have been better.  Bette Midler is just superb and Sarah Jessica Parker and Kathy Najimy are fabulous as the Sanderson sisters.  The teen actors are also well cast and together they create a wonderful ensemble piece.

My absolute favorite scene is where the witches are lured into a furnace by a French-English language tape saying things like “I would like to get a book” and then the equivalent in French.  After the witches are burned up, they miraculously re-appear and Bette Midler comes out of the oven spouting the same English-French exercises:  “I want my book.”  “Je veux mon livre.”  As though the atoms of the tape have been reassembled in her and that’s all she can do is translate these sentences. LOL  This just tickles me to no end!

Here’s the trailer from this wonderful 1993 classic, though I hope you’ve enjoyed the whole movie.

Now, what’s your favorite Halloween movie?

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

28 Responses to Social Sunday: My Favorite Halloween Movie

  1. Tina B says:

    I love this movie and try to watch it every year! 🙂

    Like

  2. karyrader says:

    Love Hocus Pocus. My kids are just now getting into non-animated movies. I think this year is the year to watch it! They love Halloween!

    Like

  3. Does It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown count? I think that’s my favorite. I know it’s a kiddie movie, but I’m so out of touch with movie-dom, and I remember this from happy, childhood days. My mother got very sick of it over the years. 🙂

    Like

  4. Mae Clair says:

    Hocus Pocus is a great one, Jenna! Excellent choice. On the spooky side, I like a very old movie called “The Other.” I don’t think it was set during Halloween (it’s been a while since I’ve seen it), but it’s great for watching during the goose-bump month of October!

    Like

  5. Brenda D says:

    LOL, love Hocus Pocus.

    Like

  6. It is not officially Halloween in our house until we watch Hocus Pocus! Awesome movie! Great post, Jenna! Love this time of year 🙂

    Like

  7. Carrie-Anne says:

    I love anything with Lon Chaney, Sr., the master of horror and the macabre. The original Phantom of the Opera is one of his best, but other favorites include The Penalty (where he plays a double-amputee on a vendetta), The Unknown (one of his circus movies, also an early role for Joan Crawford), and The Hunchback of Notre Dame.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      And I don’t think I’ve seen one of those classics, Carrie-Anne. I need to put them on my TBV (To Be Viewed) list. I just remember Lon Chaney, Jr. and The Wolfman movies. Loved those! Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  8. ginadanna says:

    I’m like Ella – I don’t watch Halloween movies. Perhaps the closest is Ghost Bride – LOL. May have to try this Hocus Pocus…

    Like

  9. I’ve never seen a Halloween movie, than again, I don’t watch scary movies. Tweeted and shared.

    Like

  10. Melissa Keir says:

    I agree that Hocus Pocus is a fun movie, perfect for the season! I love many of the old scary ones like Poltergeist and the original Friday the 13th. Something about knowing that everyone is killed….

    More funny ones are Van Helsing, just for the campy lines given by Dracula and Love at First Bite.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I’m definitely doing a Sunday post about scary movies later in the month. There are so many great ones! And I do love Love at First Bite as well. Great campy movie. I also remember, though I haven’t seen it in decades, Abbot and Costello Meet Frankenstein as being just hysterically funny. Thanks for sharing!

      Like

  11. I love Hocus Pocus and Practical Magic…anything with witches during this time of the year is my fav. 🙂 I’ve shared.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      How about The Witches of Eastwick? Another great cast and fun movie! Not Halloween, per se, but witches for sure. And Jack Nicholson is such a little devil. 🙂 Thanks for coming by!

      Like

  12. ldsmith1818 says:

    Awesome post Jenna! I LOVE THAT MOVIE. You have no idea! One of my absolute favorites! I do have to add Sleepy Hollow to my favorite halloween movie list!

    Like

  13. LorettaLynn says:

    Oh I love this movie.. I could watch it again and again:)

    Like

  14. lizaoconnor says:

    Your trailer didn’t make it to your HTML. A goblin probably pushed it out.
    I don’t remember this movie at all.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I think you’re right about the goblin, Liza. It came up correct when I previewed it. But I’ve fixed it now! If you haven’t seen this movie, you really must. I think you’ll love it!

      Like

  15. I love that movie, Jenna…I think one of my favorite Halloween movies is Practical Magic with Sandra Bullock and Nicole Kidman. I love the aunts, I love the romance part, the sisterly bond…it’s all good.

    Like

Leave a Reply

