Social Sunday: Season Premieres

Last week I got completely away from promotion to post about my current favorite commercial. (Love those hamsters!)  I got a great response and so I’m going to try to make Social Sunday a new weekend post.

This week, for the first time in years, I succumbed to Season Premiere Fever.  I’m sure we’ve all had one or two (or several) television programs that we’ve waited for with bated breath over the summer, anticipating the Fall Premiere after their Season Finale in the spring.  When I was very young I remember getting physically ill when I realized two premieres were coming on at one time and I would have to choose which one to watch (before the days of DVR of course).

downloadAs I’ve said before I’m not watching much TV these days because it takes time away from writing.  However, over the summer at my cousin’s house, I happened to see a recording of the Season Finale of Law & Order SVU where Detective Olivia Benson is grabbed by a sadistic psycho bent on torturing and murdering her.  Let us say it caught my attention.

So I was primed and ready on Wednesday night to watch the two-hour season premiere. My daughters are also avid fans so we all piled up in the master bedroom (my husband download (1)isn’t into that show and had the living room TV tuned into something else) waiting for the show to come on.

I once again felt that thrill of anticipation, so long denied.  And then the opening scenes and that famous “DUH DUH.”  I’m not sure which sensation I enjoyed most–the excitement of watching or simply feeling a part of a wider group experience.

My daughters were, of course, tweeting about the show and one yelled out “OMG!  There’s a #SaveBenson!”

images

Awesome!  So I got a blow by blow commentary from her during commercials of what other fans were saying.  And it was interesting that the actor who played the psychopath was tweeting along with everyone else.

Of course, we also called my cousin during commercials to talk about the episode.  And we all cheered loudly when Benson managed to turn the tables.

I have to say the premiere of SVU was one of the most enjoyable evenings I’ve spent recently.  Writing, while extremely satisfying, is a lonely occupation.  The premiere gave me the seldom gleaned chance to be part of a larger group of like-minded people, all enjoying the drama unfolding on the small (or large) screen.  I think I really need to pay more attention to season premieres from now on.  This one was a great time!

Have you had Season Premieres (past or present) that have stood out in your mind as memorable?

This entry was posted in Social Sunday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Social Sunday: Season Premieres

  1. Calisa Rhose says:

    I recently got hung up on Castle so that one was a must, as well as NCIS, CSI and Bones. What a fun idea to post about, Daisy. But the hamsters? Really? 😉 I just don’t get the thrill of rodents. LOL

    Like

  2. We don’t get the same shows here in Canada, but there’s still Season Premier Madness. I don’t watch regular television (except “Borgia” on Netflix — waiting for the 3rd season there). I do, very clearly, remember how key the season premiers were when I was a kid. I waited all summer for some of them, and they marked the beginning of the school year, like a reward for making it through the first few weeks of a new semester. These days, I eagerly await the opening of hockey season instead, which starts around the same time and is shown on TV. That’s the season premier I anticipate with joy.

    Like

  3. Sue says:

    been watching new shows – I never remember what happened last year on the recurring ones
    Blacklist is wonderful hope can stand up
    Mad men is feeling of excitement for each episode
    Looking forward to Dracula
    Castle did look forward to and didn’t disappont
    and of course NCIS

    We watch about 2 hours of tv a night and tape a lot of shows. This year with so much going on we will prob drop Grey’s and CSI

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I hadn’t heard about Dracula or Ripper Street that Louisa mentioned. I’m really interested in both, however. I love scary TV shows. And next month I’m going to run amok with Halloween. I’m actually watching one of my fave Halloween movies as I write–Hocus Pocus!

      Like

  4. I’m not a big TV watcher. I’ll watch shows on Netflix but I don’t do the Premier Week thing. However, I do remember waiting with baited breath to find out who shot JR. LOL

    Like

  5. Melissa Keir says:

    I used to sit and wait for the fall shows to start, but since I’ve hidden myself from TV, I haven’t. Although I still love to hear about shows like Law and Order SVU and the new Dallas, I don’t usually wait for them to air unless it’s like the show they filmed after Larry Hagman died. I had to see JR’s funeral since Dallas had been a big hit before.

    Like

  6. I live so far out in the boonies I don’t get television. I have put off getting satellite or having my brothers attach a behemoth television antenna to the top of my trailer in order to even receive local channels. The local cable companies can’t get to us because the guy who lives at the top of the dirt road on which I live won’t grant them easement access. Those of us who live here are waiting for the old )(*&^%% to stick his spoon in the wall!

    I do have eight seasons of Criminal Minds on DVD, four seasons of True Blood and eleven seasons of CSI. I watched the first season of Ripper Street and I cannot WAIT for the second season to come out on DVD, but it will be a while as the second season is just starting on television.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I guess you adapt to what you need to. My friends up at the cabin don’t have TV either at the cabin or at their home on town. They’ve never watched it. And are probably more productive because of it! Do you find you get more done because you don’t have TV?

      Like

      • Sue says:

        TV is how we relax at night and frankly I get several ideas for writing from TV, could be a word a scene or a set design but I do . I am writing now but feel comelled to talk about TV – my god

        Like

  7. angieia says:

    This year’s NCIS: LA was good. It was better than I thought it would be. I am looking forward to watching it this season and see what happens to Deeks.

    Like

  8. Not that I can remember. It’s been so long since I’ve been interested in TV.

    Like

  9. lynncahoon says:

    Yes, I remember Who Shot JR…. But I actually watched Grey’s Anatomy yesterday. The only problem with DVR? Too many good shows on Thursday. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Oooh, another good one. I used to drop everything and refuse to talk to my children when Grey’s was on. Obsessed with it. But I gave it up when I started writing. I heard this premiere was going to be good. I hope it didn’t disappoint!

      Like

  10. Daisy Banks says:

    The one I remember over here was the for Sherlock Holmes. I wish they’d bring that back.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      I bet that is a great series. I always loved Sherlock. Books and movies. I’m actually waiting for, of course, Downton Abbey and Call the Midwife on Masterpiece Theatre. I understand they premiere earlier over on your side of the pond. Lucky! We have to wait for January.

      Like

  11. Daryl Devore says:

    My season premier night was Thursday – Big Bang Theory. It’s the main TV show I watch all week. I watch a couple others – but I’ll DVR them and get to them when I have time. But for Big Bang – my husband and I are side by side on the couch watching and laughing our heads off.
    Tweeted

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Crap! I’m sorry I missed that, but I was held late at work. Story of my life. I hope it was great! I’ll have to catch it on the next go-round. I sit and watch it (as I’m supposed to be writing) with my younger daughter, who loves it too. I love Leonard. 🙂

      Like

  12. There wasn’t much I’d necessarily been waiting on since last season but I’d been eagerly waiting for the blacklist to start and it did not disappoint in my opinion

    Like

  13. Jenna, I think the most anticipated season premiere EVER was the “Who shot J.R.” frenzy that swept the world for the whole summer. At least it was for me.

    Like

    • Jenna Jaxon says:

      Oh, yes, I do remember that, even though I was rather young. Everywhere, everyone was asking, “Who Shot JR?” There was even merchandising with the slogan on it. Thanks for coming by and sharing, Margery!

      Like

Leave a Reply

