Life and Love Under Fire: An Interview with Gavin and Taylor of A Taylor-Made Life by Kary Rader

KR

Today I am pleased, no, honored to have the opportunity to interview the hero and heroine from Kary Rader’s incredibly moving and magnificent New Adult novel, A Taylor Made Life.

A Taylor-Made Life Blog Tour & Giveaway

 

They lived the life they were given; they loved the life they made.

Cheerleader Taylor Smith doesn’t want to die a virgin. Unfortunately, if the terminally-ill leukemia patient doesn’t find a lover or a stem-cell match within months, her fear will become reality. When her cancer mentor is revealed to be a hottie entrepreneur from California, it seems fate might finally be on her side.

Tech-geek Gavin Taylor has everything he ever wanted, except someone to grieve for him when he’s gone. With his melanoma cancer beyond the help of his riches, he agrees to participate in a cancer patient mentoring program where he’s matched with a dying teen from Texas. Despite his immediate attraction, the Silicon Valley whiz intends only to provide friendship and happy memories to the beautiful, young woman who is determined to win his love.

When it’s discovered that his frozen sperm and her harvested eggs could lead to a cure, Taylor’s mother offers to be a surrogate. And Gavin must decide if he can risk the heart he has never given and a child he’ll never know to a girl he just met.

Gavin and Taylor, I have nothing but the utmost respect and love for you two.  Your story is so inspiring and it is my sincere hope that it will touch the lives and hearts of everyone who reads it.

Now, on to the interview.  What was your first impression of your writer?

Taylor: My first thought was She ROCKS!!! Then I continued on in the story and realized she’s pretty evil.

Gavin: Kary is exactly as she should be.

Gavin and Taylor, How did you two meet?

Gavin: We met through a Cancer Patient Mentoring Program (CanSM) which pairs mentors with younger patients. Although the mentor is generally the primary teacher, I think Taylor has taught me more than I could’ve ever taught her.

Taylor: Aww, honey. You are so sweet. But don’t listen to him, I’ve learned so much from Gavin physically, mentally and emotionally.

Gavin What is your greatest strength? Greatest weakness? How have they shaped your life?

Gavin: My greatest strength is my ability to learn, develop and adapt, but my weakness is the flipside—I generally prefer to work alone…that is until I met Taylor. I’m not proud of how emotionally I’ve been closed off, but I’m proud of the things I’ve accomplished in my life. My company is a successful enterprise employing hundreds of people and my games are played in every major market in the world.

But that isolation brought me to a point of realization when I met Taylor.

Taylor, what first drew you to Gavin? What qualities does he possess that are attractive to you?

Taylor: OMG – he’s a fairytale prince in every way and he is my ultimate hero. He saved me when I most needed saving. But I was first drawn to his games, then to his looks(because Holy Crap-o-doodle, he’s H-O-T) and finally to his personality.

But it’s his character that continues to blow me away—his integrity and loyalty. He is genuine in every way and I trust him with my life and my death…if it comes to that.

Gavin: **grabs her hand** it won’t…come to that. EVER if I have any say.

Guys, what does he/she do that drives you absolutely crazy?

Taylor: He gloats when he beats me at CROG.

Gavin: It’s my game, Taylor. I invented it. I should beat you…and I do not gloat.

Taylor: Do too.

Gavin: Not

Taylor: Too

Gavin: Well, it’s not like you don’t gloat when you win, too.

Taylor: **mouth drops open** I do not.

Gavin: Do too.

Okay…well, I can see where this is going so let’s move on. In your story, what was the most memorable moment for you?

Gavin: The first time Taylor gave me a bite of her dessert.

Taylor: **blushes** The second time I gave him a bite of my dessert. And if you haven’t read that part you really should. It’s EPIC!

Guys, what is your idea of a romantic evening?

Both: **they look at each other and smile** playing online computer games…and other stuff.

Would you like for your writer to create a sequel for you? Why or why not?

Taylor: **tears well in her eyes and a sob escapes her lips**

Gavin: **takes her hand and whispers in her ear, soothing her** Come on, Sweetness. You can answer this.

Taylor: **tears roll down her face** I know there’ll be a sequel, but I’m not ready for it.

Gavin: But when you are ready, Taylor, I want you to embrace it.

Now you’re going to get me to crying again. *sniffs*  Thank you so much, Gavin and Taylor, for sharing part of your lives with us.

If you’d like to read more about Gavin and Taylor’s road to love, A Taylor-Made Life is available at

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00DU52U5K

Smashwords: https://www.smashwords.com/books/view/334257

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/18012643-a-taylor-made-life

Giveaway: $25 Gift Card to Amazon, a Charm Bracelet, a Crochet Hat, and SWAG for A Taylor-Made Life, and Queen of Jastain. 

Giveaway Rules:

Giveaway begins August 1st and will end August 30th 11:59 EST. The winner will be announced by email.

Open to U.S. residents only

We are not responsible for items lost in the mail & have the right to disqualify anyone, at any time.

Personal information given by the applicant in the giveaway will never be shared. All information is deleted once the giveaway ends. 

To enter, click the Rafflecopter link here.

 

Kary Profile PicAuthor’s Bio:

Kary Rader is a part-time Twitter sage, stay-at-home mother of three, and slave to the characters and worlds inside her head. Always creative, she’s drawn to stories with fantastical worlds and creatures. With a little bit of magic and divine guidance, there isn’t anything that can’t be accomplished with words. It’s the power of words that creates and destroys. Vanquishing evil and injustice while finding eternal love in the process is all in a day’s work. With the help of her critique partners and master cartographer imaginary places come to life.

Author Links:
Website/Blog:  www.karyrader.com

Twitter: https://twitter.com/KaryRader

FB Author Page: https://www.facebook.com/KaryRaderauthor

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6998567.Kary_Rader

BlogTourKR

christine_banner2-01

This blog tour was hosted by Christine Marie Book Publicity & Promotion. If you’d like to become a tour host follow this link: http://publicistchristinemarie.wordpress.com/become-a-tour-host/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Life and Love Under Fire: An Interview with Gavin and Taylor of A Taylor-Made Life by Kary Rader

  1. Brenda D says:

    I knew it–I knew my eyes would fill with tears again. *Sigh*
    Excellent interview–and I have to say, it was nice to see these characters again.
    Excellent–heart-wrenching–book.

    Like

  2. Sheri Fredricks says:

    Good job, ladies!!

    Like

  3. Nikki Lynn Barrett says:

    Oh, good grief! You had to go and make me cry this morning! BEAUTIFUL interview and i can not say enough praise about this book!, loved it, loved it!!

    Like

  4. I tweeted and shared on FB.

    Like

  5. Great interview! I love the characters and their book.

    Like

  6. Great character interview, Kary! Can’t wait to read this! 😀

    Like

  7. Fun interview with fab characters, Kary! Good luck with the book!

    Like

  8. ginadanna says:

    Great interview! Love these two!!!

    Like

  9. ldsmith1818 says:

    This sounds like an unbelievable book! *shuffles off to amazon to get my copy.
    I can’t wait to read it. Awesome and inspiring interview!!

    Like

  10. maw25 says:

    *cries* Gavin and Taylor are an inspiration for anyone. Keep gloating or fighting like 5 year olds. 🙂

    Marika/Harlie

    Like

  11. lizaoconnor says:

    Fabulous interview of these to regressing to five year olds fighting over who gloats. Given their lives it’s a gift from God rather than disturbing. You make them 100% real Kary.

    Like

  12. DebraG says:

    I love character interviews. Great job!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

